All member reviews for The Devil's Arithmetic

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

Intense Holocaust story makes history real.

Age(i)

2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17

Quality(i)

 

Users say

(out of 75 reviews)
AGE
12
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Teen, 13 years old Written byguin236 July 10, 2012
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

"The Devil's Arithmetic" Is a Must Read Title

This is an engaging story about a young girl who learns the importance of remembering and the past. It is a good introduction to the Holocaust and the concept of why we need to preserve and remember our history. It is also a good rainy day story for older children (think 11-12 +) and adults alike. Readers will enjoy this book.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Teen, 14 years old Written byDrishti June 19, 2012
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

A well written book

When i first found out at school that we had to read a book called "The Devil's Arithmetic", I thought it was probably the weirdest name I had ever heard until I read it :) .. Jane Yolen has given such a description that when you read it it gives a clean picture of what was exactly happening ... Like a movie... Hannah's character and her style of story telling was perfect.. In fact , Jane's way of writing was so good that you could actually picture what the people looked like and what they sounded like :D
What other families should know
Too much consumerism
Teen, 13 years old Written bylilraquan May 18, 2012
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

nazi and jews

i think this a good movie about the nazi and jews
What other families should know
Too much violence
Kid, 12 years old March 6, 2012
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

child aimed(:

It tells a great story- and unlike many other holocaust books, it is aimed at children, and makes it easier to understand from a childs point of view, without all the graphic images of dead Jews. It is very educational- i learned alot from this book. it is easy to read, yet it tells alot. it is a great book!
What other families should know
Educational value
Kid, 12 years old February 12, 2012
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

THE BOOK!!! :)

this book review can really help parents and kids know about it because i am in middle school and i have finnished reading it now it was very interesting and i just couldnt put it down it was very very VERY good i loved it though it can be sad in some parts
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Too much violence
Teen, 15 years old Written bygigglez132 January 3, 2012
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

The Devil's Arithmetic

an excellent book!!
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Parent of a 9 and 10 year old Written byslk9196 December 4, 2011
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Multifaceted learning opportunity for older kids

My 5th grader is reading this book in school, so I decided to read along. I found it to be a riveting, deeply moving story on many levels. At the most obvious level, it allows the reader to identify with the horrors of the holocaust from a relatable individual's perspective, and, as a result, to wrestle with humanity's capacity for such inhumane behavior. However, the book also offers a useful platform for learning about writing and story-telling. Yolen elegantly weaves important cultural themes like the value of story-telling and the responsibility of remembering into many layers of the narrative. She also effectively captures typical adolescent ingratitude and self-centeredness in Hannah's character, just to transform those qualities through her virtual experience as Chaya. Overall, the book serves as a wonderful teaching tool for history, morality, cultural resilience and personal growth.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written byBoyWhoCriedWolf101 October 6, 2011
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

STUPID WORST EVER

i like most books i read but this was the number 1 worst book ever to be sold in the world it sucks .... its so boring and no matter who you are you will hate it so boring
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 13 years old Written bylillykathryn510 September 11, 2011
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

lilly's review :)

this book was soo gooooood!!!! and it made me cry because theres part in it that are just soo sad :'(
What other families should know
Educational value
Teen, 13 years old Written bypinkyfuzz May 1, 2011
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Good for pre-teens and up

This book is really good. We read it in class during our WW2 unit. Very educational
What other families should know
Educational value
Kid, 11 years old November 17, 2010
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

Good for people or kids who can do w/ mild violence and sorrow e.g. (death)

I love this book and am half way through!!! I'm 11 and the book rocks! It may be too sad or violent for some people but I have been through some losses. I highly recommend it! Is a S.C. standard for 7th grade too! But w/ this whole religion thing going on it won't be much longer! What is up w/ these people!!!! So read this book super amazing!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 14 years old Written byEspumaMarina October 16, 2010
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

So Amazingly sad and good, I cried of happiness and of the pure agony I felt for these guys..

This was very good, some chapters made me cry so hard! The movie was excellent as well. It was well written, good story about a horrible time. Very good usege of Jewish religion. My gosh, so many of my tears spilled reading this, and I had to read on about how cruel those Nazis were and I thought 'You B*STARDS!' (Sorry) Cruel, cruel to a very high degree. Excellent book, it doesn't go too deep in the cold details. MUST READ. (I want to find it so I can read it again) Plus, it was cute how Hannah put in those stories from the future.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 12 years old October 1, 2010
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

perfect for 7th grade and up

What other families should know
Too much violence
Great role models
Kid, 12 years old August 4, 2010
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

Ready to read this book??? Depending on who you are, you may want to think again.

Great book!!!! Be careful. Some kids can not handle all this violence!!!! This is definitely a page turner, but it can get pretty scary and creepy if you dont know much about the holocoust. I read it when i was around 10 or 11 but i got scared even though i had learned more than most adults know about the holocoust by that time. Nightmares would not be a surprise!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 14 years old Written byashlee1335 June 12, 2010
AGE
12
QUALITY
 
What other families should know
Too much violence
Educational value
Teen, 13 years old Written bySoftballlover June 9, 2010
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

I love it so far.......

So far it is a great book. I just started reading this book.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 14 years old Written bykeilahall May 31, 2010
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Appropriate for all age groups and is a positive Movie!

i am 14 and i read this book at age twelve and i still remeber it. This book really gives kids and anybody else the insight on the outside world. I reccomend this book to all kids my age and 12 years old, Why limit your children to books that hld back so much that the right message isnt heard. the kids need to be taught.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Parent of a 12 year old Written byYiannis May 28, 2010
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

FIne for ages 10+. This is because they need some backround knowledge on WW2 and some other things.

It was ok. It didn't amaze me but I cant say i didn't like it.
What other families should know
Educational value
Teen, 15 years old Written bychelseaanne May 26, 2010
AGE
13
QUALITY
 
i read this book this year 2010 at my high school for our holocaust unit and it was a really good book and it tells you what they all had to go through and that is why i recommended it for older kids because there is some bad stuff in there but it is stuff that people really had to go through in their lifetime.
What other families should know
Educational value
Kid, 10 years old May 5, 2010
AGE
10
QUALITY
 
personaly i love this book i've also seen the movie me and my friends find this book and movie insparational. :)

Pages