Parent reviews for The Dragonet Prophecy: Wings of Fire, Book 1

The Dragonet Prophecy: Wings of Fire, Book 1 Poster Image

Common Sense says

age 10+

Based on our expert review

Parents say

age 10+

Based on 35 reviews

Kids say

age 10+

Based on 222 reviews

age 12+

Kids love the story, but full of more violent conditioning

Sad to see a series so loved by kids to be full of more desensitizing to violence and normalizing of lack of emotional connection and bonding. So yet another story emotionally imprinting that kids are alone, can't rely on parents and so need to turn away from parents and family. Some character modeling, but so much passivity for so long with no adult models of heart centered discernment and relationships.

This title has:

Too much violence
6 people found this helpful.
age 8+
This series is amazing. The story and characters are so engaging It took my 8 year old son from afraid to read a ‘real’ book to willing to read anything. My daughter who just started reading the series is 8, too. Although some may find the concepts and limited violence too much for a youngster (it really depends on the childs maturity), the writing and presentation make it a fun read for adults and therefore allows parents to have conversations with their kids over a shared media experience.
1 person found this helpful.
age 9+

THE BEST BOOK EVER!!!!!!

When i started reading this when i was nine but it was to violent so when i was ten i started to read them again so it made more sense to and i really got into them and they are so great i read them all up to the 6th that i'm reading right now just an FYI it gets less violent after the first five over all i give it a FIVE star so it's a really good book.
1 person found this helpful.
age 10+

ONE OF THE BEST SERIES I'VE READ

Review written by our 9 year old (because we couldn't figure out how to post it in the kid review section!) : The book The Dragonet Prophecy by Tui T. Sutherland is the 1st book in the series Wings of Fire. The main characters, Clay, Tsunami, Glory, Starflight and Sunny are Dragonets - baby dragons. They are trapped in a cave and being raised by the Talons of Peace (a mixed group of other dragons) to fulfill a prophecy to stop the War of Sandwing Succession. The dragonets were supposed to go out and fulfill the prophecy to stop the war, but they decided they didn’t want to do that. They decided they just wanted to go home to their parents and live a normal dragon life. So they escaped from the cave and the story follows them through a series of adventures that take place in the first five books. Then it goes to the next prophecy – the Jade Mountain Prophecy. The Dragonet Prophecy is a really good adventure story about dragons and violence and fantasy which are all of my favorite book topics. Fans of Harry Potter, The Hobbit and How to Train Your Dragon will probably LOVE THIS BOOK! By the way, THIS IS ONE OF MY FAVORITE SERIES YOU SHOULD DEFINITELY READ IT!!! THE END p.s. You’ll learn more about the war of Sandwing Succession if you read this series

This title has:

Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
1 person found this helpful.
age 7+

One of the best series I’ve ever read!

I read this series a lot, the first book is gory and gruesome, but try to compare that to warrior cats, warrior cats has deaths from rat bites and cats killing other cats, kits being used and etc. the first book to wings of fire contains a egg being smashed by a evil nasty and vicious queen who get what she deserved later on in the book, and bloodthirsty audiences who have nothing better to do but watch a bunch of prisoner of war dragons fight to the death, but the first book was not that bad! The rest of the series is not that gory either. Here it is in a nutshell (SPOILER ALERT!):A group of older age dragonets are in a mountain for their own safety, they grew up together, they plan to escape, they escape, they find the evil queen, evil queen figure captures them and makes them fight in a arena, some mudwing guy (the protagonist) befriends the possibly most deadliest dragon still alive to the 14th book, the mudwing figures out he has fireproof scales, a rainwing with acid spit spits on the eve up queen injuring her and the crowd gets scared and dragons thought the evil queen was dead, the dragonets escape, mudwing dude figures out his mother sold him for two cows, but his siblings loved him, then they head towards the ocean to find the seawing’s family

This title has:

Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
1 person found this helpful.
age 11+

Good series with memorable protagonists and antagonists, great for bookworms!

Great series. I have only read up to the 10th book, so I will only review those and Darkstalker and Dragonslayer. Book 1: The Dragonet Prophecy Four stars. Good, not the most entertaining or gripping book to this series, but still a lovable, heart-filled book that makes you want to read more. Clay and Peril become an item, it’s sort of the good boy meets bad girl type of romance, but it is still sweet and innocent. The bad guy’s face gets melted off, (she lives), not described in much detail. Book 2: The Lost Heir Five stars. Still one of my favorites in this series, second to The Hidden Kingdom. Tsunami’s brash, say-whatever-pops-in-my-head-first POV is delightful and spunky, and Ripnami (Riptide x Tsunami) is adorably innocent and sweet. I honestly like it better than Clayril. (Clay x Peril). The typical WoF violence; nothing too much, but still too much for a 8-year-old. Book 3: The Hidden Kingdom Five stars. I LOVE this book. One of the best, no, THE best in this series. Glorybringer, (Glory x Deathbringer), my all-time favorite WoF couple flirts and teases, but that’s it. The violence in this one isn’t too bad if I remember correctly. Book 4: The Dark Secret Three stars. Starflight’s wimpy, “What should I do I’m so freaked out help me!” POV is dull and monotonous, but if you ship Sunnyflight or Starspeaker you might like this book. On the positive side, Fatespeaker is the best. About as much violence as The Lost Heir. Book 5: The Brightest Night Four stars. Sunny is a better protagonist than Starflight, but she’s not as likable as Tsunami or Glory. She’s sweet and cute though. The love triangleish-thing with Fatespeaker, Sunny, and Starflight gets resolved, and other couples in this series get reunited. The violence is comparable to that of The Dragonet Prophecy Book 6: Moon Rising Four stars. Shy, perfect protagonist is fun to read about, as she’s a telepath and reads all the thoughts of the dragons around her. The love triangle between Winter, Moon, and Qibli starts up, and a few dragons die. It is hinted that Umber had a crush on Qibli. Book 7: Winter Turning Five stars. Winter is as cold and brash and icy as Qibli is warm and thoughtful and genius, so the contrast between the two guys fighting over Moon is HUGE. However, I still ship Winterwatcher. Just saying. Nothing to worry about here, violence is about like The Hidden Kingdom. Book 8: Escaping Peril Four stars. Possessive, brash protagonist is honestly slightly annoying, and, while this is one of the best, most gripping installments in the series, I find her constant worrying over whether or not Clay likes her to be dumb and just plain too much. Violence is like The Dragonet Prophecy. Book 9: Talons of Power Five stars. Wonderful addition to the WoF universe, with a bumbling, introverted protagonist named Turtle. The plot is sweeping and engrossing and just plain fun, and as the story progresses, you find Turtle’s sweet crush on Kinkajou darling and fitting to the plot. The violence and trauma Turtle endures are sad, but not overly terrible, and equal somewhat to The Lost Heir. Book 10: Darkness of Dragons Three stars. I don’t really particularly like this book, honestly. I ALWAYS ship the underdogs when it comes to love triangles, but on this particular one I just didn’t really find Qibli and Moon’s chemistry to be that great. Other love triangles with characters like Qibli I ship with the girl, ( Keefe x Sophie from Keeper of the Lost Cities, Peeta x Katniss from The Hunger Games), but on this one I just thought that Winter would have been way better with Moon. Qibli’s character overall was just lost to me in this book. He was supposed to be the brilliant, kind jokester, and instead he came off as the self-depreciating introvert who manipulated and lied to get his way. The violence was minimal, the book was meh, and the love triangle’s end was depressing. A reference to Anemone liking Tamarin, and a joke about Qibli and Winter. Darkstalker: five stars. Violent, but not too bad. Engrossing protagonists, definitely a must-read for WoF fans. Dragonslayer: Four stars. A reference to two dads, that’s it. Good otherwise. I hope this review helped!
age 8+

I LOVE IT!!!

LOVE it LOVE it LOVE it a litle violent, but THE BEST!!!
age 7+

The best book series that I have ever read...

From my 8 year old son: "Wings of Fire is incredible! Definitely recommended for kids. Not too gory or bloody, but there is some mild violence."

This title has:

Great role models
age 9+

Best book series ever

Its definitely one of the best book series ever but I do not reccomend for ages under 9 years old its gets graphic, gory/bloody, and violent it also says "shut up" often but other than that its a great way to get your kids reading my daughter read the books and fell in love with the series

This title has:

Too much violence
age 9+

This book series is amazing

READ IT I LOVE THIS YES YES YES

This title has:

Educational value
Great messages
Great role models