All member reviews for The Egypt Game

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Kids say

(out of 16 reviews)
AGE
9
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Kid, 10 years old September 19, 2010
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

High expectations...

The Egypt Game caught my eye when my AIG teacher was doing Literature Circle and I picked this book. Hearing talk of it before, it sounded fabulous. Not quite. The book didn't live up to my expectations because for one, it promised a mystery, yet didn't provide near what I look for in a mystery book. It lead to interesting conversation and discussion with my fellow classmates, and I loved the use of Egyptian culture. It left me thinking after I read it, and altogether, was a quite good book, just not exactly what it was described as being.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Educational value
Teen, 14 years old Written bymkalv February 26, 2009
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

Not much of a mystery.

I must say, after all the hype for this book, it turns out that the mystery is pretty lame, like the book itself.
Teen, 17 years old Written byShooter913 December 10, 2012
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

Game of Egypt

This is a real good book on Egypt and mystery
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Kid, 10 years old February 17, 2011
AGE
9
QUALITY
 
It was a good mystery book, but if you are looking for action this is not the book to go to! If you absolutely love mysteries this would your #1 book!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Educational value
Great messages
Kid, 9 years old February 17, 2011
AGE
8
QUALITY
 
The Egypt Game was a very good book that involved a little bit of violence but it had lots of mystery and adventure
What other families should know
Too much violence
Educational value
Great messages
Kid, 11 years old November 13, 2009
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

Perfect for Kids

I LOVE THIS BOOK!!!!!!! I am only 2/3 done with it and I started it about a week ago. I t is the best book ever and I never want to put it down. I LOVE IT!!!!!!
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 11 years old June 30, 2015
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

No learning, just for fun

This book is not for learning but is for fun. There is violence but is an over all good book. I read it for class and bought it because it was great.
Kid, 11 years old October 29, 2012
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

My Review

I really thought this was boring. I didn't like it at all. I wish I had read another book.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Kid, 9 years old February 18, 2011
AGE
9
QUALITY
 
It was intense and weird. It was also a little boring. Over all it was a good.
What other families should know
Educational value
Kid, 9 years old February 18, 2011
AGE
10
QUALITY
 
I liked the book. I liked the book because I like books that have mysteries in them.
Kid, 10 years old February 17, 2011
AGE
7
QUALITY
 
I thought the book was exiting and adventurous. But it started of slow. It was very interesting.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Educational value
Great messages
Kid, 9 years old February 17, 2011
AGE
8
QUALITY
 
I love it. It is the best book by Zilpha Snyder but a slow start. I learned a lot about Egypt! It is a great mystery.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Educational value
Great messages
Kid, 10 years old February 17, 2011
AGE
10
QUALITY
 
I thought that this book was really interesting. The beginning was a little slow and then it got a little more interesting
What other families should know
Too much violence
Educational value
Great messages
Kid, 10 years old February 17, 2011
AGE
8
QUALITY
 
The Egypt Game was a good mystery and had adventure. It had a little of violence.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Educational value
Great messages
Kid, 9 years old February 17, 2011
AGE
8
QUALITY
 
The Egypt Game was a slow book at first but when it got fast it started to be a really good book.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Educational value
Great messages
Kid, 10 years old October 27, 2010
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

Read this book

It was a very good book. However, I couldn't find the mystery part in it. Oh, well. I never did like mystery anyways.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models