All member reviews for The Egypt Game

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Parent of a 11 year old Written byMomInNJ March 16, 2011
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

Violence a little too realistic

This book has both implied and graphic violence, which doesn't add to the plotline or intrigue. Two children have been murdered in the local neighborhood, with one girl's boy described as having been found in a shallow marsh. Later in the story, a girl is assaulted with a first-person description of the feeling of fingers around her throat and air being crushed out of her lungs. What's worse is the incidental violence... one child's cherished pet parakeet is killed when a neighbor's cat breaks into the house... so the kids decide to mummify it by soaking it in brine. There's discussion of ritual sacrifices and how people used to cut off their own fingers. At the very end, the "hero" elderly Professor tells the children how his late wife was murdered by locals in a political uprising while on a charitable mission in a foreign country-- which adds nothing to the storyline except more horror. Maybe this book would be OK for older kids 14+, but not any younger. The violence is too realistic.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Kid, 10 years old September 19, 2010
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

High expectations...

The Egypt Game caught my eye when my AIG teacher was doing Literature Circle and I picked this book. Hearing talk of it before, it sounded fabulous. Not quite. The book didn't live up to my expectations because for one, it promised a mystery, yet didn't provide near what I look for in a mystery book. It lead to interesting conversation and discussion with my fellow classmates, and I loved the use of Egyptian culture. It left me thinking after I read it, and altogether, was a quite good book, just not exactly what it was described as being.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Educational value
Teen, 14 years old Written bymkalv February 26, 2009
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

Not much of a mystery.

I must say, after all the hype for this book, it turns out that the mystery is pretty lame, like the book itself.
Kid, 9 years old February 17, 2011
AGE
8
QUALITY
 
The Egypt Game was a very good book that involved a little bit of violence but it had lots of mystery and adventure
What other families should know
Too much violence
Educational value
Great messages
Kid, 11 years old November 13, 2009
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

Perfect for Kids

I LOVE THIS BOOK!!!!!!! I am only 2/3 done with it and I started it about a week ago. I t is the best book ever and I never want to put it down. I LOVE IT!!!!!!
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Educator and Parent Written byLisa123swag456mom December 10, 2013
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

NOT GOOD

this was one that just was not a good book and etc.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 17 years old Written byShooter913 December 10, 2012
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

Game of Egypt

This is a real good book on Egypt and mystery
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Kid, 11 years old October 29, 2012
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

My Review

I really thought this was boring. I didn't like it at all. I wish I had read another book.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Kid, 9 years old February 18, 2011
AGE
9
QUALITY
 
It was intense and weird. It was also a little boring. Over all it was a good.
What other families should know
Educational value
Kid, 9 years old February 18, 2011
AGE
10
QUALITY
 
I liked the book. I liked the book because I like books that have mysteries in them.
Kid, 10 years old February 17, 2011
AGE
7
QUALITY
 
I thought the book was exiting and adventurous. But it started of slow. It was very interesting.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Educational value
Great messages
Kid, 9 years old February 17, 2011
AGE
8
QUALITY
 
I love it. It is the best book by Zilpha Snyder but a slow start. I learned a lot about Egypt! It is a great mystery.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Educational value
Great messages
Kid, 10 years old February 17, 2011
AGE
9
QUALITY
 
It was a good mystery book, but if you are looking for action this is not the book to go to! If you absolutely love mysteries this would your #1 book!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Educational value
Great messages
Kid, 10 years old February 17, 2011
AGE
10
QUALITY
 
I thought that this book was really interesting. The beginning was a little slow and then it got a little more interesting
What other families should know
Too much violence
Educational value
Great messages
Kid, 10 years old February 17, 2011
AGE
8
QUALITY
 
The Egypt Game was a good mystery and had adventure. It had a little of violence.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Educational value
Great messages
Kid, 9 years old February 17, 2011
AGE
8
QUALITY
 
The Egypt Game was a slow book at first but when it got fast it started to be a really good book.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Educational value
Great messages
Educator and Parent of a 9 year old Written bydrjones February 11, 2011
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

good message, slow start

The book has a good message regarding how to treat your neighbors. Not much happens in the beginning, but about three quarters of the way through it gets interesting.
What other families should know
Great messages
Kid, 10 years old October 27, 2010
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

Read this book

It was a very good book. However, I couldn't find the mystery part in it. Oh, well. I never did like mystery anyways.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Adult Written byDr.Pepper June 20, 2010
AGE
8
QUALITY
 
This is a very great book for children. The only problems are talk about a murder and implied swearing by a character.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Great messages
Great role models
Parent of a 12 year old Written byjada11207 May 4, 2010
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

For older kid and up.

i love this book because its good and it is a mystery book for kids and you can find it interesting.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Great messages
Great role models