All member reviews for The Fault in Our Stars

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging, great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging, good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging, good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging, okay learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Kids say

(out of 197 reviews)
AGE
13
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Teen, 15 years old Written byxaltrockgirlx January 13, 2012
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Best John Green book yet!

I just finished this book in less than two days after both laughing and crying. When I heard that John Green had released a new book, I immediately had to go to Barnes and Noble to get it, and it did not disappoint. This is the first time he has written from a girl's perspective, but he does so hysterically yet realistically. Without his trademark sense of humor, this could have simply been a depressing book, but with it, it's almost... optimistic? Even though the book is not really violent, I can't think of how else to describe the fact that it may upset sensitive readers with its not so much graphic as simply intimate description of living and half-SPOILER (can't completely spoil it): knowing someone who dies of cancer. The one time the main character has sex with her boyfriend, it is not really described except for the fact that it is safe. There is language in this book, but it's not as harsh as Green's other books have been; language is about PG-13 level. The (teen) characters drink alcohol but don't really use it to drink to excess, unlike the author who Hazel (the main character) meets, but he is clearly not someone to look up to. Yes, the boyfriend (Augustus) does put cigarettes in his mouth, but does not smoke them. They are merely a metaphor, as he explains, for control over how he dies. Overall, this book was smart, funny, sad, and just plain awesome all at once. Unless you do not have a heart, you will be laughing and crying thoughout the whole book. DFTBA! (Post-note: after I finished, I gave it to my mom to read, since I've been dropping TFiOS in any reasonable conversation, and she had to read it to see what all the "John Green this and John Green that" fuss was about. Though she took longer to finish it than I did, I knew it affected her as well. She read most of it on a field trip with a my brother on the bus, and when she came home she was sniffling a little bit, and the sniffling got louder as she got comfortable on the couch. When I asked her if something was wrong, she simply said, "I just about finished The Fault in Our Stars, and I..." and she trailed off a little bit. It was that good, for both teenagers and adults.)
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written bycolorsgirl February 16, 2012
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Wonderful book for mature teens

This is THE most amazing book I have ever read. It's better than Harry Potter. The writing is fantastic, and the philosophical questions it deals with are of amazing proportions. TFiOS essentially deals with the meaning of life in one, not terribly long novel. The message of living and loving despite dying are profound and much more worth thinking about than the topics of most other teen (and other) books published today. That being said, there is some swearing that feels natural with the age of the kids. Also, the two main characters kiss and have sex. The way this part of the book is written though is not focused on the sex. It is focused on the love these two characters have for each other. It also isn't graphic. Augustus puts cigarettes in his mouth, but never lights them. It's a metaphor to him; putting the thing with the ability to kill you in your mouth, but not giving it the power to do so. Hazel and Augustus are underage when they drink champagne, but I think it is completely excusable as they don't know whether they will ever be of age. The vocabulary, let's just say there were several words I didn't know by page 50, which is a rare thing for me. I think mature 13yos and anyone older should definitely read this, as it is fantastic, deep and addresses the meaning of life. (It's also VERY funny :) It is by far the best John Green ever and I'm currently smiling at all the DFTBA's below...
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Kid, 12 years old February 4, 2012
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

A Fabulous Book

This book is one of the best books that I have read in a long time. I stayed up until midnight last night (after starting the book at around 8:30) so that I could finish it in one sitting. It is a compelling story that illustrates death and heartbreak beautifully. I cried (which does not happen often to me when reading) and laughed, sometimes simultaneously and almost constantly. There is a bit of questionable content. There is some language, but it's not terrible. There are some somewhat disturbing scenes, like when Augustus is throwing up and when Hazel reflects frankly on her cancer, but they are essential to the point of the book and without them the novel would lose some of it's power. The main drinking is by the author of Hazel's favorite book, and he is portrayed as someone you would not want to model yourself after. Augustus does put cigarettes in his mouth, but he does not light them and uses them as a metaphor for his control of his life and death. He puts the cause of death in his mouth but does not give it the power to do him in. There is humor and witty lines throughout this book that puts a (for lack of a better word) optimistic view on what would otherwise be a bleak and depressing novel. Overall, fabulous book, there's not really a good way to describe how amazing it is . Just read it, seriously.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written byzinna123 March 19, 2012
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

One of the Best

Honestly, I love this book. It has inspired me and expressed feelings I have that i could never explain. I feel like John Green was literally inside of my brain and was like "Hey. look something inspirational, don't be sad". Cancer books don't really appeal to me, I feel they are an easy way to make someone cry, but this, this is just amazing. I definitely recommend this book (Even adults so start reading!) DFTBA
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 14 years old Written bysocietychangersxxx March 24, 2012
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

yea.

awesome book
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 15 years old Written byRae-la January 22, 2012
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

Great book!

One of the best books I've read in recent history. Hazel and Augustus are great lead characters, and they actually seem like real people. John Green knows how to write a good book, and this is definitely his best yet. DFTBA!
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 16 years old Written byemmaj March 29, 2012
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

READ THIS BOOK!! :)

Anyone and Everyone should read this book. I didn't even think that this was possible, but this book put Mr. Green even higher on my list of awesomly awesome people. It is really that special. This is one of those books that stay with you after you read it. Not just for hours or days, but for years and years. Hazel paints how life is for the dying, especially the young dying. The way that Hazel paints it just turned my view on life and death around; And pointed out the pain in both and the inevitability of both and the beauty in both. I firmly believe that the world would be if not a better place, then a more understanding and sympathetic and meaningful place, if everyone read this book. I love this book so much, that it has become my third all-time- favorite book, only behind To Kill A Mockingbird and The Great Gatsby. Who knows, this book might even climb my favorite books chart as it get older, 'cause books only get better with age. Read this now and if you don't like it, then... well, that probably means you should go back to the meaningless, utterly inconsequential books you're used to reading. And you should be ashamed of yourself for doing that because that is coming from a vaguely arrogant fourteen year old. Of course you can avoid being mildly insulted by a fourteen year old by just reading this beautiful book about unlit cigarettes, okay's, and a girl named Hazel Grace and a boy named Augustus Waters. DFTBA. (just read it now, okay?)
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written bypondo April 5, 2012
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

a must read

i have to say that i did cry at this book, a rare occurence while reading, it was, a completely honest story, hazel grace has cancer, there is no way around that, one day she will die, maybe it wont be untill shes much older, but ethier way, one day she will, augustus waters once had cancer in his leg, however it was amputated and that was that, however he might not be completely away from it, the story makes you laugh, and cry, but is, in all a beautifull book, most of the reason i rate this book pause for a 13 year old, is, the level of unerstanding,that is needed to read this book, the fault in ours stars has quickly topped what was once my favorite book (the hunger games, the fault in our stars has just about managed to be even more amazing), just one thing, you might need some tissues.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 14 years old Written by16edoll June 21, 2012
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

My New Favorite Book

This book was the best book I've ever read. I read this book in one day and loved every second of it. This book made me laugh and cry. I fell in love with the romance between Hazel and Augustus. This is such an amazing book that everyone no matter what your age, should read.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much swearing
Teen, 14 years old Written bybibliophilesaysdftba June 24, 2012
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

You're going to suffer, but you're going to be happy about it

TFiOS was a beautiful novel. It was honest and made me want to meet Gus and Hazel Grace, I wanted to be their friend. I enjoyed the playful banters and the serious moments as well. This novel, along with Green's other novels, has left me captivated with the love story of two young souls. Truly, this is a remarkable book and words cannot express how I feel towards it.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 15 years old Written bykiarara August 15, 2012
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

the fault in our stars: a fault in our understanding

this book made me cry . it is one of my favorites and everyone should read it is perfect for cancer patients
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byandasif July 6, 2012
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Simular to "Looking For Alaska"

If you read looking for alaska and liked it you will like this book. IT has alot of the same stuff like, afterlife, living life to the fullest, trying new things, first love and stuff like that. IT wasnt as good as looking for alaska but its very sad. Its a realistic story of cancer not a im a survior feel bad for me story. But with cancer stories it was peridetiable cuz someone always dies in a cancer story.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Teen, 16 years old Written bytripp106 April 15, 2012
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

Hamartia romance...

This isn't normally the type of book I read, I normally read very clean books and I did a scan of this and didn't see any language so I thought it would be fine...But this book gripped me from the first time it described Hazel! Such a good piece of literature! A YA novel with depth, where teenagers actually know real words! I found it to good to be true! It's a fabulous story, though heart wrenching. It makes you appreciate every moment, it gave me a desire to leave less scares. Even if it meant not being loved by the whole world. This author should really be thanked!
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 15 years old Written byralbelda June 12, 2012
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

One of the Best Books

I read this book and loved it! John Green is a good writer and this is one of if not his best books! I really like how you felt like one with the people in the story. It celebrates the happy in life and not the bad.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 16 years old Written byArtichokes-United August 20, 2012
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

A Gem of a Novel You will not Regret

I know what you're thinking. "Not another depressing cancer novel!" Well just hear me out for a while. This is NOT a book about cancer. It's a book about teenagers and the lives that they live. It's a book about love, friends, and yes death but more importantly about life. It manages to be both laugh out loud funny and beautifully poetic at the same time. It is a book that will make you think about your own life; about how you effect others and how they effect you. It is not hard to read as you might think a book with such a heavy subject might be and it is so well written that will instantly become a classic. This book is truely wonderfull and you are only doing yourself a favor if you pick it up and decide to read it.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 14 years old Written byCaitie11 April 2, 2013
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

John Green at his best!

A bit of swearing eg. one use of the f word, couple times both s words,other words like that. Amazing message! Amazing characters! Bit of underage drinking and smoking. Only really kisses and flirting, one sex scene that is not described. You should it made me cry! And remember DFTBA!
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written byChocolateChipCookie August 24, 2012
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

Wonderful, Inspirational, Great for Discussion!

Before launching into an review of content, this was a beautiful story. It really makes you think about the world and appreciate the miracle of your own life. Overall, the story is a must-read! When I first considered reading this book, I was uneasy because of some of the reviews I've seen about content. I wasn't quite sure what to expect, so I figured I would let concerned parents and other concerned teens (like myself) know what to expect. If it were a movie, it would be rated PG-13. The language in it wasn't terribly excessive, but it was there. The "s" word was used fairly often, but it wasn't unbearable, and the "f" word was used once. There was a brief (but not graphic) sex scene, I'd recommend that you just be aware of the content of this book, and know where your morals stand on certain subjects before reading. Because of content, I wouldn't have wanted myself reading this a year or two ago, and that you need to keep your morals in mind while reading. Although there are some moral subjects up for discussion (I will just outright say that there was one thing that stuck out to me, personally, as immoral.) the message of the book, its tragedy, its characters, and it's humor DEFINITELY make this book worthwhile!
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 9 years old August 27, 2013
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Marvelous!

It's beautiful. Lyrical. Heart-wrenching. My favorite book of all time. I loved it. I cried and chuckled, and it's very honest. There is language, but it's not too extreme. It's an honest love story. A tale of death, love, tragedy, anger and depression. I finished it in 3 days. Absolutely wonderful. Though I am 9 (10 very soon) I rated it as a book for teens because of the language, sex, (very brief- not explicit) and champagne consumption, but it is very, very beautiful. Nothing like it. I definitely recommend this book to teens and adults alike. You will start reading, and not put the book down. You will cry, you will laugh, and you will think. Truly beautiful. (Oh, and DFTBA! Vlogbrothers will know what that stands for)
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byFluffball190 July 21, 2013
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

Well written but not for kids under twelve

I read this book because im a long time nerdfighter and i wanted to read at least one john green book. I do want to note that i was taken back a bit by the language used in this book. Although mostly to portray a teen outlook it didn't help the story in any way and made me dislike the book just a tad bit. All that aside i think you should be at least thirteen to read this because it is intense at time Hazel dose have a near death experience which might bother some people. Also i would like to note that Gus and Hazel do "it" i guess you could say but its only described briefly. Over all i liked the book and thought it was well written.
Teen, 13 years old Written byrainbow_nerdfighter April 10, 2013
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

This Book Honestly Changed My Life

Okay, for starters, I have to get this off my chest. This book>>>>everything else. Your arguments are invalid. Not kidding though, this book CHANGED MY LIFE. Like for real. I was in a pretty bad place, and honestly, was a pretty bad person before I read TFIOS. But when I got it for Christmas, I curled up in bed and read it all day, until I finished. I cried at the end, harder than I've ever cried over a book before. Because this isn't just a book to me. Those kids, Hazel and Augustus and Isaac, they are seriously the kind of kids I want to be like, the kind of kids I wish my friends were like. I seriously don't mean this in a concieted way, but I am easily the smartest person in my social group. All of my friends spend their entire lives fangirling over some stupid band, and, I don't know, just, plain and simple, my best friends are my books, John Green, who doesn't know I exist, and Hank Green, who doesn't know I exist either. I just want something more in my life, and The Fault In Our Stars gave that to me. I realized how much more I wanted out of life, how little time I had to be who I want to be after I read this book. It turned me into a better person, a nicer person, a person I actually like. It allowed me to accept my friends where they're at, knowing that I will meet people more like me once I go to bigger, better places (in the town where I currently reside, there are approximately 125 kids my age, and not one of them has the same values as I do). It also introduced me to John Green, who is now my absolute favorite author. Him and his brother are kind of my life now. It may sound pathetic to you, but it is truly what I enjoy. Anyway, you probably don't care about any of that. If you don't read any of it, well, I see your reasons. It's basically me droning on and on about . . . well, about me. But please do know this. The Fault In Our Stars CHANGED MY LIFE. It made me a better, happier person. Please, please read it and let it do the same for you.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Too much sex

Pages