All teen and kid member reviews for The Forest of Hands and Teeth

Teen, 15 years old Written byGrace1111 April 24, 2011
I thought this was an interesting book, but I really dislike it when books deliberatey leave out things becuase they want youn to read the other books in the series. In this sense it was very disappointing because I enjoy series, but I like each book to good on it's own as well. I felt like I was being prodded into reading the next book, just because I didn't understand everything in the first book. However, I did think this was an interesting twist on zombie apocalypses. It wasn't too science fiction-y, and I expected it to be just like every other zombie apocalypes book, movie, or tv show ever made, but it wasn't, and I really enjoyed and appreciated that.
Teen, 14 years old Written bySkylyn October 25, 2011

Great book

I love video games as much as books ( mostly zombie games) so wen I saw this i knew i had to read it my mom loves these kinds of books i read this last year when i was 13 and i just love the whole idea on how life would be if something this life-changing happened to society and what would really happen and this book really gives it a perspective on how it might be -- anyways i just really liked the book !!
Teen, 13 years old Written byannafan June 16, 2011

The Forest of Hands and Teeth

It was an amazing book. I read it a few times, own it and the entire trilogy and it is my favorite of all books i've read. It is slightly violent because it is in a zombie apocalypse so you have the deaths, but nothing extreme. There is no language, and nothing extremely sexual, just some kissing. Children younger, at youngest 11 could read this too, because it really isn't that extreme in it's content, but it might be scary for littler children, thinking that one day we might actually become zombies, and give them nightmares, so know your self or your child. But above all, I highly recommend this book. Adults will also like it, because I recommended it to my aunt, and she loved it.
Teen, 13 years old Written bysweettee11 December 12, 2010

Amazingz!

Oooh! I loved it! The thought of being the only city left, is capturing. The book is chilling, but also inticing. I loved it.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Great role models
Kid, 12 years old July 5, 2010

Beautiful, if you can call a Zombie thriller that.

Beautiful, if you can call a Zombie thriller that. When I finished reading this, I was amazed to find out that Carrie Ryan has never ever written before. I love to read, and really only give books 5 stars if there amazing (like maybe To Kill a Mockingbird.) The Forest of Hands and Teeth would get a 5 star if it was a Zombie related book (at lest their not Vampires) If you're a mom of a 13 year old daughter, who does not want her daughter to read about Edward, well here you go. A zomped up romance that won't be so obsessive. Violence is a lot stronger than the Twilight Saga.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 12 years old June 8, 2010
This is a very good book but violent. The violence is not very detailed but still gruesome. Some talk about bones sticking out and axes slicing people. There is one scene with two people in bed but not doing anything sexual. Good, exciting book to read, But you should watch out. The unconsecrated might get you.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Teen, 13 years old Written bycaraiggy April 5, 2010

Nice

*The violence is not described in detail *Bland writing *Good plot meh. . .
Teen, 15 years old Written byTessa Knight-Lyons June 29, 2015

An Interesting Take on the Zombie Apocalypse

I picked this book out at the library for a reading contest. From the first page, I was interested. The writing wasn't extraordinary and the main character, Mary, lacked personality. What threw me off was that she was constantly obsessing over men and considering ways how she could back-stab her best friend, who was going to marry the man she loved. Whom, by the way, lacked loyalty and honesty. It was exciting, at some parts, but the ending left you off at a terrible, exciting spot. When I looked into the second book, the story took off with Mary's daughter. I was flabbergasted. The violence was perhaps slightly too much. I was not a fan of this book, but it did keep me interested.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Kid, 11 years old May 7, 2013

A great book.

I really like this book because it is about like zombie people. This is one of my favorite books. Read on!
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Kid, 12 years old September 27, 2012

SO GOOD

i've never been a zombie fan, but this book was an exception. The main character, Mary, is strong and persistent. She follows her dreams of reaching the ocean, and doesn't let the zombies get in her way. She fights for her love. This book has lots of violence dealing with killing zombies and decapitating them. There is also lots of romance in this book. This is a perfect book for tweens and teens who like action/romance books. Twihards will love this book. READ THIS!!!
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Kid, 11 years old March 11, 2012

Fabu Book!!!!!

Carrie Ryan has done well with this book. its a fabulous read for people who are into the cool, weird and mysterious life of the unknown. its a page turning novel that will make you want more!!
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Teen, 13 years old Written byHeq073198 March 11, 2012

Compelling, original, and ZOMBIES!

I love this book. I love the way the zombies are portrayed. It's very unique and original and not wretched as what you'd see in the movies. Instead it plays up the loss of life, not the mindless animated corpse. When Mary finds the Unconsecrated baby, I literally had to sit the book down and take deep breaths because it was really disturbing. But I liked how it showed the harsh reality of an apocalypse. *SPOILER ALERT* When Mary had to kill Travis I BAWLED. It was really intense and it made you feel so sympathetic for her. Plus she doesn't end up with Harry, either, so she had a pretty crummy life, especially considering the fact that in the second book she FOUND Gabry, never fell in love again. *END SPOILER ALERT* I that it was overly depressing, but it showed the harsh reality of the world.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Teen, 15 years old Written byXXXALLY1XXX January 24, 2012

THE BEST BOOK ALIVE!!!

I love this book. I have trouble reading alot of books but this book is an amazing book! i love it so much. I would really perfer you to read this book!
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Teen, 13 years old Written bysammy4488 January 16, 2012

nothing wrong with this one

I really liked it! It was really interesting to read about what our world now looks to Mary. There is some violence in it though so if you don't like horror don't read it. I think it would be ok for an 11 year old but much younger would maybe take it too literally and nightmares who start to come into play. Mary is a positive role model because she never gives up and she is strong, just like any girl would like to think of females. I couldn't put down! It kind of freaked me out in a way to think about having to live in a world like that, I don't think I could have kept going like Mary. And of course a little romance is thrown in among the zombies. It ends so that you have to read the next one. Loved it!
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Kid, 11 years old January 1, 2012

EXCELLENT BOOK!!!!!!!!!!

Very good book. 12 and up depending on mautrity levels. Very intertianing however lots of killing and charicters turning into zombies.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Teen, 17 years old Written byruthannbh July 23, 2011

GREAT book

Okay...so I'm a zombie buff, I'm not gonna lie. The book captivates me! Carrie Ryan is a very in-depth and passionate writer. I have read all three of her books and it's so addicting! This is a teen romance. There isn't sex in the book, but a good deal of kissing and "I love him soooo much" and bla bla bla. The message of hope in a world without any, and surviving when the odds are against you is A+. Good for teens at least 15, maybe 13 or 14 depending on maturity levels!
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Teen, 14 years old Written bythekatfew February 8, 2011

loved it

omg so good loved it omg u haft to read it so good god is talkt about thru out the book so thats y i give itpoitiv messag
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 15 years old Written byone_day15 August 20, 2010
What other families should know
Too much violence
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 14 years old Written bythreelilac April 30, 2010

good book

very violent, but an over all good read. suspenseful until the very end!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Great role models