All member reviews for The Great Gilly Hopkins

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging, great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging, good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging, good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging, okay learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Kids say

(out of 17 reviews)
AGE
11
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Kid, 12 years old April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

I laughed out loud!

The Great Gilly Hopkins is a good book despit the language that I winced at a bit. Gilly gets sent to a foster home and absouloutly despises the mother. Gilly (or Galdriel) swears round the clock but you can laugh at how she talks. Example: Gilly says "Good god!" and the Mother looks at GIlly sternly and Gilly says "Okay, okay, I didn't say it! Hell, a girl can't even talk around here!" You don't want to laugh, but you have to! Gilly mensions Adultory once, and my Mom had to explain to me what that was. Gilly beats up other kids and has a strong hatred against blacks. She refers to the Mother (Trotter) as "A religious freak" because she is christian. Gilly teaches a little boy to fight convincing him to swear, punch and do anything to be a bad influence.
Kid, 10 years old November 30, 2009
AGE
11
QUALITY
 
i love it! i can actually relate to it! i know it has some curse words i it but it's maturity. You have to be mature enough and tough enough un like my boyfriend Rashaun to read it!
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Teen, 14 years old Written bybookluver101 April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 
Kid, 12 years old April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 
Teen, 13 years old Written byrebma97 February 28, 2011
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Ok book

It's an okay book. Gilly starts off as a really mean person; she beats up kids, she steals money from a blind man, and she is racist towards African-Americans. Also there's a lot of cursing. But this book does show how hard it can be to live with foster parents.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Kid, 11 years old November 21, 2009
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Okay but.....

I read it in 4th grade. Some language.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Kid, 10 years old February 17, 2011
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

Not so good

This is a hard book to read, Gilly is races and she uses bad language consistantly, I think this is not a book for little kids.
Teen, 13 years old Written bykrazypanda June 26, 2009
AGE
6
QUALITY
 
My uncle gave me this book when I turned eight and i loved it. many kids would enjoy
Teen, 13 years old Written byborialc September 11, 2009
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

umm good for 4th to 6 th graders

i think this is a good book very entertaining
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Great messages
Kid, 12 years old April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

i laughed

great gilly hopkins was the best book in the whole world. it was about a girl who has been sent to alot of foster homes. she hated all the mothers. then this one foster mother mrs.totts, i call her, is all about her kids. can gilly stand it or will she try to do something?
Teen, 13 years old Written byhallowen April 30, 2009
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

this is good but races

hi im 12 and im reding this book in school i liked it but when it got to the part about a shriveld up olde black man i new this book was races
Kid, 11 years old July 17, 2010
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

You should read it!

I'm reading it right now! It's awesome so far. I had to read it for my upcoming sixth grade.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Educational value
Great messages
Kid, 11 years old April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

I read this a while ago...

7+
Kid, 12 years old April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 
Kid, 9 years old January 21, 2012
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

questions about gilly hopkins

why is gilly a foster kid and what is gilly real name
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Kid, 11 years old May 17, 2014
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

gilly hopkins

i love this book it's one of the best books i've ever read i think you will love it as much as i did
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much swearing
Kid, 11 years old June 13, 2013
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

The Horrible Hopkins

I had to read this for school. Gilly is a out of control kid sets the worst example possible for her younger foster brother. She swears on about every other page and gets in alot of fights, she even steals from a blind man and her foster mother. this book is pointless
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing