All member reviews for The Kind of Friends We Used to Be

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Kids say

(out of 9 reviews)
AGE
10
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Kid, 11 years old August 21, 2010
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

Recommended for girls entering middle school.

This book was very good especially for rising 6th graders or middle schoolers. It has a very helpful message and is easy to relate to.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 12 years old August 30, 2010
AGE
10
QUALITY
 
i
What other families should know
Great messages
Kid, 11 years old February 24, 2011
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

Yay! It's a good book

It's a really good book. I like how the author follows both of the girl's lives instead of just one girl's life.
What other families should know
Great messages
Teen, 14 years old Written byavidcritc June 10, 2009
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

pretty good for this genre

for the best-friends-are-growing-and-changing-and-also-ditching-each-other-or-being-ditched genre, this book is pretty good. the author is just funny. i haven't read the secret language of girls, which this is a sequel to, so i don't know how it compares. but it stands on its own okay. i'd recommend reading the secret etc first, though, because it probably gives you a clearer understanding of marylin and kate's relationship. there were two things i thought weren't done very well. one was marylin's abrupt decision to stop being a cheerleader and start being her own person, which seemed a little too glib, quick and easy. also, the boy kate sort of has a crush on- i can't recall his name- comes out seeming kind of like a jerk even though he clearly isn't supposed to be. other than that- it's really good. i love kate.
Teen, 14 years old Written bynon-bully102301 August 14, 2012
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

yay

ok I read it I and I think it is totaly fine
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written bypinkpixi September 19, 2011
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Very Good!

The book really shows what goes on in a 7th grader's head about what their friends will think of them if they hang out with certain people.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 14 years old Written byILOVEGARTH February 17, 2011
AGE
17
QUALITY
 
Teen, 13 years old Written byHolahahaha November 18, 2010
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

PERFECT for girls

I think that it is very helpful to children that need help but just can't find help that is good for them.
What other families should know
Great messages
Kid, 11 years old July 28, 2010
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

A wonderful story for ages 8 and up

I think this book is a wonderful story about good and bad choices of friendship and the issues some may have going on in school.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages