All member reviews for The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe: The Chronicles of Narnia, Book 1

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging, great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging, good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging, good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging, okay learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Kids say

(out of 49 reviews)
AGE
8
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Teen, 13 years old Written byEpicNerd January 14, 2014
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

12 and up due to old English and reading comprehension

I read this book when I was 11 which I think altered how I feel about it. When I read it, I hated it. But looking back on it, I realized that the main reason for my dislike of it was due to how hard it had been for me to read. The old English language made reading it very hard for me, and the fact that I had a due date for having it done didn't help either. But thinking back on it, I think if I were to re-read it now at free-pace I'd be able to enjoy it much more. In fact, I know I'd enjoy it. If the movie is just like the book, then the book must be amazing, you just have to be a bit older to fully comprehend it. That's why I say 12 and up.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Teen, 13 years old Written bythiesha May 23, 2013
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

thiesha's intelligent mind

as a young child i think it was good but they need to add more to it an make it more clear
What other families should know
Great role models
Kid, 11 years old March 28, 2013
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

Narnia

The characteristics of the characters were very good. It's very suitable for children around the age of 7-10. When you grow nearby the teenage years 11-15 It seems very kiddish. They all showed love for each other and Lucy taught us to believe. The book was very book
What other families should know
Great messages
Kid, 9 years old April 24, 2012
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

Review

A amazing fantasy book,that takes you write in to the story and is one of the best books out there for kids!
What other families should know
Educational value
Kid, 11 years old April 6, 2012
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

Awesome read for kids of ay age!

This book is great! I think that it's appropriate for any kids, but I put 8 and up because I think that that's the age when kids become interested in it. I am now eleven and I have read the books a countless number of times! Good educational value (especially if you're Christian!!), positive messages, AND good role models! All rolled into one!
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 8 years old October 17, 2011
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

Best BOOK EVER!!

This is a really good book.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 13 years old Written byAnimalLover_9798 August 1, 2011
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

What parents should know ( not to offend )

This is a very good book for kids escpecialy if they have a big imagination, i dont think the book is bad influence, this it's what i think abut the "Bad Things".I think many parents are a little too over protective and it's not to violent because it's not like kids don't see violence on the news or out in the real world, and the drug use like drinking and smoking shouldn't be hidden from kids because they'll learn about in school sooner or later, and bad language i understand if you want your kids to hear it or not but teachers do use them and everyone one in the whole world does and if you don't want your kids to hear it, keep them inside the house all day.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 8 years old September 29, 2010
AGE
8
QUALITY
 
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 10 years old June 6, 2010
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

Perfect 4 all ages7+

I love this book!!!! tons of action. It is a classic!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 13 years old Written bylilnekocat June 3, 2010
AGE
8
QUALITY
 
What other families should know
Too much violence
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 11 years old July 21, 2009
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

Perfect for anyone over 6 years old!!

I love this book AND the movie. I really recomend reading this with your child especially if you are a first time reader. Otherwise I really recomend reading it as many times as you want!!!!!!!!!
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 15 years old Written bycinderilla7 April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 
Teen, 13 years old Written bypuppyest08 April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

A MUST READ!

This book is simply wonderful. Exciting and teaches a lesson, this book is memerable. Great for any one ages five and up. I give this book two thumbs up!
Kid, 11 years old April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 
Teen, 14 years old Written byMelon Buggy April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

I loved the book and the Movie

The thing i most liked was the part when peter really becomes a king and battles the witch. They did a great job filming it and it was a beautiful book only a little violent. not at all awful or bad. IT WAS TOTALLY WICKEDLY AWESOME. I wish i could watch it again and i'm doing it for my book report
Teen, 15 years old Written byelenmadil April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 
Has a verry important message of how you have to learn to forgive others. I loved it! Even though I've read sadder books, when Aslan forgives Edmund I cryed so bad! And I like the fact that it doesn't all end so wonderfully well. The next book (the horse and his boy) is really good and explains a lot!
Kid, 10 years old April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

The Book Of Belief

This book was very inspiring to a young writer like me, it gave me ideas on how to organize writing and Lewis really fo;;owed through the story. On a scale of 1 to 10 I think it deserves a 8.***
Kid, 12 years old April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

Must read book!

With their father at war, the Pevensies are sent off to be safe in the country with a rich man, a snotty housekeeper, and a magical wardobe. Trying to hide from the housekeeper, the four children, Lucy, Edmond, Susan, and Peter (youngest to oldes), find a magical world conquered by an evil witch queen, Jadas. The childeren set out on an adventure to save the world that they had no idea would be their royal destiney.
Kid, 12 years old April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

What happened to the action?!?!

What happened to the ice crack? How about the hunting of the White Stag? They spoke in such weird words? And what does ye thow and hereth? Please if you are going to write this book again, please put more action in it!!!
Kid, 12 years old April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

Pages