All member reviews for The Lovely Bones

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Kids say

(out of 67 reviews)
AGE
13
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Teen, 13 years old Written bycupcakereadin September 27, 2010
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Bit iffy.

Really liked this book, some parts were a bit iffy, again i suggest parent read first. Much better than the movie.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 14 years old Written bySpicy Mango September 12, 2010
AGE
13
QUALITY
 
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Great messages
Teen, 13 years old Written byLOLZ17 September 6, 2010
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Great Book, Not Appropriate for Kids

LOVE IT!!! :) book was very good, i think that for mature kids that are 12+ could read but otherwise I would say it is appropriate for teens 14+
What other families should know
Too much sex
Educational value
Kid, 12 years old August 27, 2010
AGE
14
QUALITY
 
Ouch. Violent disturbing read is truly excellent. One of my favorite books.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Great messages
Teen, 14 years old Written bynickiminaj5 July 22, 2010
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

I loved the book.very sad though.

I am reading this book and it is very sad.But it is still a very good book and i like it but very sad because the girl in the book was raped and murdered and cut into pieces by her murder.I think it would be ok for an eleven year old to read based on how mature you are.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 10 years old June 24, 2010
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Poor Susie

I really want to watch the movie, it makes me sad to think that what happened to susie salmone could be happening to any one in the world at the moment.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 12 years old June 1, 2010
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Maturity

I showed my friends the rape/dismemberment part and they thought it was really gross. Any mature tween like me will be able to handle this book and not get grossed out... Just my opinion, though!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Educational value
Teen, 16 years old Written bytkn_714 May 12, 2010
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

for older teens, no one younger than 15

This book was good. It was kind of sad and confusing but the story came through and I understood it. At first I thought it was just about her dying but later revealed her family's coping with her death and her killer not being captured.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 9 years old May 3, 2010
AGE
2
QUALITY
 
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byLissaNicky April 23, 2010
AGE
12
QUALITY
 
this book was very sad but very good. it was one of the most different books i've ever read but i loved it. some scenes are pretty graphic ( ruth and ray making love) but it wasn't TOO gory. I loved this and i think you will too.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Teen, 16 years old Written byblackie the got... April 21, 2010
AGE
17
QUALITY
 
dont didnt read it
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written byorlyme April 19, 2010
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Mature younger readers will be able to handle this

It was a very thought provoking book, and for a mature 13 year old, an acceptable choice.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Great messages
Teen, 14 years old Written byAlinaW. April 10, 2010
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

The first 50 pages were saddening, but the stuff that follows was an amazing story of hope!

As soon as my friend bought the book I knew I had to read it. At first I was concerned, because the movie was supposed to be a pshycological horror movie, not my type at all. The book, however, was amazing! I love how unique it was, and how it describes Susie above in heven, watching over her family and friends! Although I definetly wouldn't classify it as horror, I wouldn't read the first bit before bed, if you know what I mean. Especially emotional because I'm a 14 year old girl, just like Susie.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 16 years old Written bytaymomsenfan April 6, 2010
AGE
16
QUALITY
 
Kid, 12 years old April 1, 2010
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

Best Book I've Ever Read.

I was too young to read it when I did, I'll admit. But it was the single absolute best book I've ever read. While it was devastatingly horrible and terribly sad, it was so filled with hope and love and meaning... brilliant. I'd recommend it to a mature, teenage bibliophile. :)
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 11 years old March 22, 2010
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

older adults

hate it
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 15 years old Written byme_person March 7, 2010
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

LOVE IT!

This book is most deffinately one of my favorite books. I just finished reading it yesterday even though I'm only eleven. A lot of the kids in my class also love this book since the majority of my class read it. In some parts it can get to descriptve but overall it's a really good book, and I most deffinately reccomend this book to anyone.
Teen, 13 years old Written byhomegirl13 March 4, 2010
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

tweens and up

very good
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 14 years old Written bykobukgirl96 February 21, 2010
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

to discriptive of the murder

i only skimmed through the sample because all my friends read it it creeped me out and was to discriptive it is not about maturity to handle it but if you are comfortable to read it
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Kid, 12 years old February 18, 2010
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Doesn't seem appropriate for younger kids, but still sounds really good.

I've never actually read it, except for the part where Susie gets murdered, and it was soooo creepy! It sounds really good, though.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex

Pages