All member reviews for The Sea of Monsters: Percy Jackson and the Olympians, Book 2

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging, great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging, good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging, good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging, okay learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Parent of a 13 year old Written byohya August 21, 2010
AGE
8
QUALITY
 
shorter than the others
What other families should know
Too much violence
Kid, 11 years old May 30, 2011
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

Rick pulled it off again

Amazing book. Teachers about Greak Gods. They all learn about friendship and sticking up for each other. A bully ends up saving a charecters life towards the end. (Read the book if you want to know who) Some viloence, they describe a girl as being as limp as a rag doll when she got hurt, but she was healed later. Someone almost get drownds when the Percy pull them underwater to save them, but he put a air bubble around her just in time. All in all, amazing seris
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much consumerism
Parent of a 10 year old Written bymovie-watcher November 13, 2010
AGE
9
QUALITY
 
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Teen, 15 years old Written byAnnabeth_Chase September 18, 2010
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

if you don't like the percy jackson series read this.

I will convince you to like them. First, why do you hate it so much? Did it do anything against you? I don't think so. This is the best book ever. If you think it's childish, hmm, let me see. What exactly is childish about this? Because it doesn't have bad words like most adult and teen books do? And don't hate me because i love this book, don't mock me either...There's always going to be more people who love it than people who hate it... ----- hey! tell everyone that Annabeth Chase (coolest 1/2 blood girl ever) is now on this website ;)! I LOVE MY FANS
Parent of a 2, 4, 6, and 8 year old Written byjennwhitmer October 14, 2010
AGE
10
QUALITY
 
I enjoyed the story, and it's action packed. The biggest problem is with the way the demigods were conceived. There is a lot of talk about the gods sleeping with humans to make the demigods. Until your child is ready to understand babies out of marriage, this book isn't for him.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Educational value
Teen, 15 years old Written byTheMythologyGeek December 29, 2010
AGE
10
QUALITY
 
Great book! I loved it. Can't wait to read the other ones. But there is one use of the 'D'; word. It does't bother me much, but it might to other people or younger kids.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 11 years old February 12, 2010
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

LOVE IT!

I LOVE THE PERCY JACKSON SERIES! THEY ARE AWESOME! THIS BOOK SHOWED HIS FRIENDSHIP WITH GROVER, HIS BEST FRIEND WHO IS A SATYR!!!! :)
What other families should know
Too much consumerism
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 11 years old May 14, 2011
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

Great book buy it

I love it super awsome
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 9 years old May 2, 2011
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

good for everyone!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

i LOVE this book!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! i love rick riordan's books
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Parent of a 13 year old Written bylovelivelaugh March 18, 2011
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

really good book, i recomend you to read it.

This book is really good, I highly recommend this book for kids and teens of all ages. It is a fun book to read and the messages are fantastic. On the other side I recommend to have read the first book before this one because it will make more sense, a better understanding and lots of emotion. I didn't give it 5 stars because even if the story was complete, it deserved more details and description. looking fiercely foward to reading the third book "the titans curse".
What other families should know
Too much consumerism
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 11 years old March 17, 2011
AGE
8
QUALITY
 
AMAZING!!!! LOVE IT TO MUCH!!!
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Parent of a 11 year old Written bytishtay February 16, 2010
AGE
10
QUALITY
 
The one great thing about these books is they are entertaining and became a gateway for us to get a book of Greek mythology that she is now wading through. Although the stories of the gods are not necessarily "moral" we have used them as a great jumping board for some great discussions
Teen, 16 years old Written bydogsgobark4 May 6, 2009
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

IT IS AAWWEESSOOMME

I love this book so much, it is the best
Kid, 11 years old April 13, 2011
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

Awesome!

GREATEST BOOK EVER!!! But one person says "Shut up you idiot" In one part
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 10 years old November 23, 2010
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

great for 6+

it is a great book . it is one of the best books i have ever read
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 16 years old Written bypeachy900089 October 21, 2010
AGE
8
QUALITY
 
Kid, 12 years old June 17, 2010
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Great

Begin the books and your off one after the other.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great role models
Kid, 9 years old October 18, 2010
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

ok then oh hi people

well this is not as good as the first one but its alright so its a good book (read the top for a better rateing)
What other families should know
Too much violence
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Adult Written byCoffeeTable April 29, 2009
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

Great

Following the First book, the storyline is still great. The whole concept gives kids a fun introduction to greek mythology while still making an exciting story. Boys who don't read alot usually pick up this book even in high school.
Kid, 12 years old March 14, 2011
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

So-so

It was okay. Probably the second worst in the series.

Pages