All member reviews for The Underneath

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging, great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging, good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging, good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging, okay learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Kids say

(out of 12 reviews)
AGE
10
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Kid, 12 years old January 8, 2011
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

A Little Violent

I really enjoyed reading this book. I read it over the summer of going into sixth grade and I really liked it. There is a lot of violence though and the owner of the hound dog often beats the dog (also in the book the owner accidently shoots the dog in his leg). This book almost brought tears to my eyes for how violent it was and how the animals were treated. But it was still a good book.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written bymoviecrittercritic June 24, 2010
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Beautiful book that introduces a more complex genre of writing

Ahem!!!! The reviewer has completelY missed the point here. The main human character is the antagonist. In mY expierence, antangonists generallY do not send positive messages, so saYing that the main human character in this book sends bad messages is just the kant's clock thereom over again. Parents, if You took Your kids to see toY storY 3, theY can handle this book. and i mean that in a good waY. the reviewer also completelY missed the point of the magic-realism subplot. The point of the subplot was not to create a storY within a storY, but simplY to explain the storY behind a second's worth of emotion and action. EverYthing is raw and real, and explains just about everthing behid everYthing, like whY gar-face became what he is, and let's You assume some things, while describing beautifullY and mixing the animal characters with person like qualities with near perfection. I could saY a lot more about this, but You reallY ought to read it. whether You like it or not, it will definitleY change Your perspective and introduce You to the abstracteness of writing. Afterall, everYthing does not have to be politicallY correct. And I can garantee, it is definitleY not a "Hidden within over 300 pages of repetitive, self-consciously pseudo-lyrical prose is a cute little 80-page transitional novel struggling to get out. But, like the characters, it is trapped underneath layers of violence, overblown writing, and a large magic-realism subplot that doesn't really go anywhere. Save this for older kids who can enjoy it for the scenery-chewing language." book. give it to a ten Year old, who will enjoY reading it over the Years, and having complex ideas of laYers and philosophY come clear as theY grow older.
What other families should know
Great messages
Teen, 15 years old Written byKitkat1 April 4, 2010
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

Good book but depends on the child.

I read this book for my freshman English class and I really liked it, I think if it's appropriate for younger kids really depends on the child, if it's someone who reads books and watches movies with simple straight forward plots where good guys win and bad guys lose they might not be ready for this book yet, however if you have (or are) the type of child who loves Charlotte's web and Bambi then this will most likely be a very enjoyable read. There also is some animal and child abuse that some younger reader may not like. The book has two stories spaced 1,000 years apart that wined through each other and meet up at the end, both of these stories have very similar themes and plots, The prose of this book drag you in to it and make you experience the raw emotion of all the characters. Overall I would recommend it to a deeper reader
Kid, 11 years old July 31, 2011
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

Please don't bother, it might scare little kids.

I was really emotionally scarred by this book. It really creeped me out. The animals are beaten, shot, and a kitten is thrown into a river for the alligators to eat. There's this really creepy snake who was once a human or something? (Really confused about it) She's talking about getting revenge. Anyway, maybe the author has a way with words, but I hate this book.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 11 years old August 1, 2011
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

THE REVIEW I THINK IT SHOULD BE!

This book is very good but is a little violent. It has drinking and animal cruelty and some violentness with the snake and gar face but, it might be appoprite or 8 or 9 depending on the childs muchuety and how there parents wiil approve i read this book when i just turned 10 so it is appoprie for children just not under 8 i would let my sister read it and shes 7!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written bycherrypage33 May 7, 2011
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

BEST BOOK EVER!

I love the book. It does get kind of violent though, because the main character is almost always drunk, and carries a rifle. I think its for ages 10 and up
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 10 years old March 26, 2011
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

a bit violent and freaky

its amazing but not good for smaller children. i cried so hard in most of it!!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 10 years old March 9, 2011
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

GOOD

Great book! The animals suffer some brutal treatment, but, it's still great!!!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Great messages
Kid, 12 years old June 22, 2010
AGE
12
QUALITY
 
i think it is good for kids 12+ because Gar-Face is a bit violent.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Kid, 11 years old November 27, 2011
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

under

this book the underneath is so good i wouldnt choose this book for just anyone anyoen looking for a book always but if you have a gift you pick up every good book
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 10 years old August 26, 2010
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

BEST BOOK EVER!!!

I LOVE THIS BOOK SOOO MUCH!! If you are really sensitive, this book might not be 4 you.
What other families should know
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byAmaar Nazarani November 14, 2011
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

good

I think it's a little violent but otherwise a good book
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking