All member reviews for The Very Hungry Caterpillar

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

Carle brings humor to caterpillar's development.

Age(i)

2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17

Quality(i)

 

Users say

(out of 12 reviews)
AGE
3
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Adult Written byLyndaSLP April 9, 2008
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

Enjoyable book -- interactive and even educational for your little ones

Another author that you have to love. The Very Hungry Caterpillar is eye catching and intriguing to toddlers and preschoolers. How much can one caterpillar eat? And what happens when he eats that much? Good introduction to the days of the week as well as some great food vocabulary. A definite plus to add to your toddler's library.
Adult Written bySpiff April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 
Wonderful classic for all ages!
Kid, 8 years old February 28, 2010
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

Cute book

When I was in kindergarten, I simply enjoyed it.
Parent of a 3, 3, and 6 year old Written bymagasalee June 16, 2009
Parent Written byTanyaM 1 February 1, 2015
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

Great Book!

My favorite is the caterpillar that eats everything. Great book!
What other families should know
Educational value
Teen, 14 years old Written byleah_stone August 10, 2014
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

the best book ever

the best book ever still selling after 11 years i would reccomend this book to anyone.
What other families should know
Great role models
Kid, 10 years old April 13, 2014
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Hi

I am 10 and I think this book is for babies
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written byxbilliealishax June 7, 2013
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

Educational to youngsters

I read this book when I was younger and I loved it. It can educate youngsters on how to read and count, about animals and the transitions they go through and also about food.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Kid, 10 years old March 31, 2013
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

Great Book for all ages

I read this book to my little brother and he loved it!
Adult Written by3P roxeth March 19, 2013
AGE
3
QUALITY
 

3P loved this book

This is a brilliant book. We think this is very educational for younger children because they can learn to count and read. Children will learn about caterpillars turning into butterflies. Children can learn about different fruits and foods. This is a very colourful book , and the pictures are amazing.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Kid, 11 years old November 4, 2011
AGE
3
QUALITY
 

eric carle has done it again!

A book that I cherished back in my younger era of age, a great pick to mold young minds along with the story, teaching them how to count and such. A great book for your toddlers to learn from.
Kid, 11 years old April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

Have read this book over and over...

since I was two. My daddy read this book to me over and over, at my demand. A great book for all toddlers, I still read it every one in a while, now in Spanish.