All member reviews for The Wee Free Men

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging, great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging, good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging, good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging, okay learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

Delightful but too violent for young kids.

Age(i)

2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17

Quality(i)

 

Users say

(out of 8 reviews)
AGE
11
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Educator and Parent Written byoharring October 21, 2012
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

FABULOUS read-aloud book for 3rd-5th graders

While it does portray some of the characters drinking and fighting a little bit, it shows it as something that makes them act like idiots and certainly doesn't glamorize it at all. Tiffany is a GREAT role model in that she thinks for herself and doesn't allow herself to be pigeonholed.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great role models
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 11 years old June 27, 2011
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

The Wee Free Men

This book is a really interesting book. There is hardly any swearing or inappropriate language used and when there is it is used in a made up language that some of the characters speak.
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much violence
Teen, 13 years old Written byZaphrodite August 28, 2010
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

Don't get the book with Pictures

I guess I would probably say that it's a teen book, but I had the one with graphic pictures of creepy monsters, but I guess if you had the one without all the scary pics it would be fun to read aloud. "Ach crivins!"
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Educator and Parent of a 1 year old Written byCindyAnderson47 January 15, 2010
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Great fantasy for young adults

For kids that enjoy the fantasy genre, this book is a great read. Tiffany's a great character who ends up on top and stays the course, but is scared and unsure the whole time - pretty much like reality. As always, Terry Pratchett has witty dialogue, strong characters, and excellent comedic timing!
Parent Written byBrian Baier June 19, 2013
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Encourages Thoughtfulness and Practicality in Children

When I read this book to my girls, at ages 5 and 9, the older one loved it and the younger was often entertained (especially by the Feegle dialogue). I've now read to them all four of the Tiffany Aching books, which do become more mature as the lead character ages, somewhat similar in that fashion to the Harry Potter books. With a few pauses to explain certain plot points in age-appropriate context, the wit and humanity remain strong throughout the series, and I highly recommend starting here for your own bright-minded children.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Adult Written bygbeb April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 
Kid, 12 years old September 3, 2012
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Great book. Not for 10yr olds

It`s definitly not for 10 year olds. Not because of the wrong messages( The alcohol refrences are quite funny) but because it`s a difficult book to read.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written bycatsaremyfriends August 11, 2011
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Crivens!

I love this book SO MUCH! It's the best!.
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking