All member reviews for The Year My Sister Got Lucky

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

A standard plot strengthened by sisterly bonds.

Age(i)

2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17

Quality(i)

 

Users say

(out of 9 reviews)
AGE
12
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Teen, 15 years old Written byxchocolate3 March 31, 2011
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

Perfect for 11 or more years old.

I loved this book!!! :D
What other families should know
Great messages
Teen, 13 years old Written byKatherineLovesJake August 12, 2010
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

GREAT book

love it! sex isnt anything anyone older than 10 or 11 doesnt know about! when i was 10, i was mildly curious about the subject,and because my parents didnt want to talk about it, i turned to books. and now, at age 13, im not a virgin, and im very grateful to all the books i read about it in. these kind of books really help ppl understand that sex isnt bad, it just isnt wise to do while youre young. and she used a condom and was on birth control,and shes 17,so she made smart descisions. great role models, great book. - Katherine
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 14 years old Written byOGORMAN May 21, 2010
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Good for girls with sisters just a few years younger than themselves.

Michaela has sex with her boyfriend, and Katie later finds out after reading her sister's email. There are very mild uses of cussing, but otherwise it should be fine. An older women and some teens smoke cigarettes fairly consistently. The strength of the sisters' bond is tested by many different things that happen in the book. I would especially recommend this story to those girls who have an older or younger sister within a few years of their own age.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written bylovesyoubookies February 19, 2012
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Love it

Great book it isnt too inapropriet but is jucy enought to keep you reading
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much consumerism
Teen, 15 years old Written byrayg February 5, 2012
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Sister LOVE

Great overall story and its really relatble if you have sisters. Helped me relise what a good relationshp i had with my sister. Also is fun and exiting and gines anather great point of view. You should really read it if havnt alredy.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great role models
Too much sex
Too much consumerism
Parent of a 14 year old Written byloveme4me April 10, 2011
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Hate It

This book isnt appropriate for a 14 year old more like 17/18 + kids should not be reading about sex and drugs !!!
What other families should know
Too much sex
Adult Written bypurplechick May 11, 2010
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

life lessons

I like it because it gives kids a life lesson its a little iffy
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written bysmcgurren December 31, 2009
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Favorite Book!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I love this book so much, it is my favorite book of all time!
Teen, 15 years old Written byStephanne114 November 2, 2009
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

I think its good for teens and older. No less though.

It was good, but it should have been a little more interesting, it was interesting just not enough for me to constantly keep turning the pages everyday.
What other families should know
Too much consumerism
Great messages