All member reviews for Three Little Words: A Memoir

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

Harrowing foster child memoir for mature readers.

Age(i)

2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17

Quality(i)

 

Users say

(out of 13 reviews)
AGE
13
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Parent of a 13 year old Written bymamalaura April 20, 2011
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

MUST READ if you are considering Social Work!

Loved it, but had a really hard time getting through the first 1/2. I was in tears and had to put the book down several times. I adopted a 10 year old out of the foster care system and this book made me want to adopt 7 more! The reason I put 17+ is because if a child is thinking about choosing Social Work as a career these are the things they will be dealing with. Other that that I think this is an adult book, that will move you to want to help the children stuck in the system.
What other families should know
Educational value
Parent of a 4 year old Written byacox March 2, 2011
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

Great for Teens

I am a high school teacher and plan on teaching this to my English class next six weeks. I believe I can use the book in a way that will teach the kids about real life things they already know about or face. I truly believe the students will enjoy reading this book and I am looking forward to teaching it! When my children are old enough I would allow them to read this novel.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Teen, 13 years old Written bylyn147 December 4, 2009
AGE
13
QUALITY
 
I READ THIS BOOK AND IT WAS RELE GOOD
What other families should know
Great messages
Adult Written byAkoi Akoi November 16, 2011
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Three little words review!

i think it was a great book
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much swearing
Teen, 15 years old Written bybabeehghurl89 January 3, 2012
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

LOVE IT..!!!!!!!!!!

i like this book because it teaches other foster kids that no matter what you will fight for you will make it...:)
What other families should know
Great role models
Kid, 12 years old November 6, 2011
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

I love this book but it isnt 4 little kids

This book is okay, but what if a teenage child got it and then a nine year old found it.That would be very bad. You feel pretty sorry for Ashley, and I almost cried.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written byloveingkids September 16, 2011
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

14 year old adopted girl hero

i think this book is a good way to see that you can stay happy and joyful durning bad things in life , even thought the worst things in life like her mother and step father makeing drug well she was right there , you can still be a happy little girl and grow up to be a good young wounder lady ! i am truely in love with this book becuase i can some what relate to it ! ashley is my hero and always will be!
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written byShannon96 September 24, 2010
AGE
14
QUALITY
 
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great role models
Teen, 15 years old Written bySoulathyia January 8, 2010
AGE
16
QUALITY
 

Eye Opener (but maybe a little exagerated)

In my opinion, it was a well done biography. However some events seemed quite exagerated. Such as riding in the backseat in a car with no doors where the driver is drunk and speeding and the toddlers fall out of the car onto the road and aren't hurt but actually laughing. Especially since it "happened often" I doubt this. Oh and some of the events while she's at the little meetings with the mosses and all the kids lie and say Mrs.Moss is the greatest care taker alive. At least one of them would have spoken up. Not to mention the inspectors what did they not see how cramped the rooms were or you know see the sun burns and injuries on the children or maybe smell the horrible stenches? All together the book was good it really opens your eyes to some of the horrors that go on in the foster care systems.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Educational value
Teen, 14 years old Written bycheerleader01 October 10, 2010
AGE
13
QUALITY
 
i loove it but i caant figure out the three little words ?
What other families should know
Too much sex
Educational value
Teen, 14 years old Written bylil_taila00 October 18, 2009
AGE
13
QUALITY
 
I read this book and i couldn't put it down. It is very touching and tells some shocking things. it makes you think about how horrible some people can be and how children suffer. it makes you want to do something about children in foster-homes that move from home to home.
Teen, 15 years old Written byemma3amanda9 October 10, 2009
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

AMAZINGG!

This was soooooooooo good! I read it in one day because I was so interested ! Ommg! It was amazing ! It didnt have that much swearing but it was for someone who was mature ! I loveeeeed it! :)
What other families should know
Educational value
Great role models
Adult Written bykcook1 April 28, 2009
AGE
2
QUALITY