All member reviews for To Kill a Mockingbird

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

Stunning classic examines racism -- and justice.

Age(i)

2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17

Quality(i)

 

Users say

(out of 110 reviews)
AGE
12
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Kid, 12 years old June 19, 2010
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

to kill a mockingbird

i loved this book twice. its my favorite book i love all the characters especially scout and ilove the plot i especially recommend this book
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 15 years old Written byRhymenosorus May 15, 2010
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

LOVE IT!

I absolutely recommend this book!!!! One of the best books I've ever read! I cannot recommend it enough! READ IT!
What other families should know
Too much sex
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written byVelvet_Leggings_XD May 7, 2010
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

A very good book.

I absolutely loved this book. It's very realistic, and I really think that people should read it. Kids will enjoy it because they can easily relate to the characters. I think that Atticus, the father, is a brilliant role model for children as well. I was completely absorbed in this book the entire way through.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 17 years old Written byBe.Awesome.Always. February 24, 2010
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Awesome Book, must read

Awesome book. The best characters, with Atticus being the ultimate moral role model figure. A must read for anybody 14 years or older.
What other families should know
Great role models
Teen, 14 years old Written bymynameO.O February 9, 2010
AGE
13
QUALITY
 
it was a terrific book but it's sooooo long i thought i would never finish it. i felt there were many irrelivent parts but by the end i was like "oh that makes since now". now that i finished it (FINALLY) i thought i understood the world more but theres more in this world then i could relize and more coming everyday and with what i read in the book i feel i am more prepared for it.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 10 years old January 26, 2010
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

Graded A+

All I am going to say is that it is amazing. The characters rock, especially Scout and Dill. It's about a little girl (Scout) and her brother that live in Maycomb, Alabama,and they live by a man named Boo Radley who never cmes out of his house- I don't think I should say any more. Every person MUST read it SOMETIME in their lives! If you want to find out more, READ THIS AMAZING BOOK. PLEASE!
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written byzhp7654 October 9, 2009
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

The best of the best!!!!!

This is the best book I have ever read! I recommend this for teenagers. The part I remember the most is Scout Finch getting in trouble, next Boo Radley killing Bob Ewell. I came across some cursing, but this book is great
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 12 years old September 2, 2009
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

I need to read more of it.

My friend and I got this book like 2 days ago from our school library. I heard of this book from other websites and so I decided to try it. I only read 6 pages, and the writing already is great. I just can't wait to read it all :D
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written by♥kittykinz♥ August 24, 2009
AGE
10
QUALITY
 
We had to read this in reading and I finished it in 3 days even though it took 3 months for us to discuss it. I loved this book and I think it needs to be read by everyone!
Teen, 13 years old Written bypleione August 18, 2009
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Good messages,

Seven year olds might not get the messages, but they certainly won't be disturbed by the violence. It might warrant a talk explaining rape though....most of my friends thought it was a boring book, hard to get in to. I agree with them. I've read the silmarillion all the way through, so when i say something's boring....
Teen, 14 years old Written byCiaraC July 26, 2009
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

A must read

This book is a classic. It should be read by all children. There are very strong messages in this book (such as why racism is wrong) and is a book that will stay with you for life. One of the best books of all time. Truly profound and will raise moral issues that you can disscus with your children.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 15 years old Written byRAEVEN April 21, 2009
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

I ACTUALLY THINK ITS A FASANATING STORY

Teen, 14 years old Written byiceswim February 22, 2009
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

Terrible Book

I had to read this in 8th grade and i hated it. It is boring and stupid. Im not tring to be mean but its the truth. This is a terrible book :(
Parent of a 11, 15, and 18 year old Written byJulieKryger1970 January 5, 2009
AGE
12
QUALITY
 
Teen, 16 years old Written byJL December 25, 2008
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

Absolutely Fantastic

Harper Lee is a very good storyteller. She writes little stories that slowly lead to the main plot (the court case/trial). The book ends with a sense of finality, but if she kept writing I would have been willing to keep reading. The content is very severe, an unbelievable amount of foul language, the book is set around the depression/WWII time period in the south, which does not justify the language but it does make the story realistic. (Personally I would prefer no foul language whatsoever, but this is the One book I am willing to read over it.) I recommend at least 16 years old, although my 12 and 14 year old sisters read it. It is very graphic, so, no you child. I absolutely love the book, it is very well written, and a very good story. One of my all time favorites. I recommend caution, but I do highly recommend.
Teen, 13 years old Written bycup April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

I love this book!!!

This book is wonderfull my English teacher is the one who got me into reading it. I love the younge girl in it really ties in the whole book to make it a one of a kind. This book may be hard to understand and confusing in the beggining but i the end you will find out how everything ties together.
Adult Written bydancer chick April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

A very thought provoking book

Teen, 16 years old Written byacarter72 April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

A good book with a good message

The ending was kind of confusing. I liked how the narrator was a little girl. It was very thought-provoking.
Adult Written bywinfall April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

A Classic

A great book. Some people may find the words "rape" and "nigger" offensive.
Teen, 15 years old Written bygymnastixbabe April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

Interesting book

I read this book for school, and even though I started reading it with the idea that a lot of people I asked about it hated it, I enjoyed it. This book is appealing to those who are interested in historical fiction based on the Reconstruction era. Set right after the Civil War, the book is mainly pointed at racial issues, and other wordly problems, but through the eyes of a young girl. I reccommend this book for teenagers and adults.

Pages