All member reviews for To Kill a Mockingbird

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging, great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging, good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging, good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging, okay learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

Stunning classic examines racism -- and justice.

Age(i)

2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17

Quality(i)

 

Users say

(out of 110 reviews)
AGE
12
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Teen, 15 years old Written byjonsnider September 25, 2011
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

wonderful

I think other people should read To Kill a Mockingbird because of the good morals and actions(minus the killing, language, inappropriate actions) in it. It is a very good book and has a lot of action and violence in it . This book could help others see why racism is very bad to the world. To Kill a Mockingbird has very depressing parts and some very amusing/comical parts also. I say every one should read this book or they should give it a second glance.
What other families should know
Great messages
Teen, 17 years old Written byDogWoman July 31, 2011
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

Awesome Book

This is a great classic book
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 12 years old April 17, 2011
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Amazing Book!!!

I love this book! It was a little slow at first, which did make it a little dull but once I got really into it, it was really good. There is a lot of racism though and my mom had to explain some of it to me. Overall, a really good book!!
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 15 years old Written byDancerGirl4 July 29, 2010
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Aboslutely Amazing. Tweens and children may not be able to really understand and the material may be a little too grown-up.

I am in love with this book.It goes deeply into racism. There is some violence, but it's not bad. A woman is allegedly raped. Some racial slurs are used, but this book talks about racism being a bad thing. There are great role models in this book. This book talks about tolerance and loving your neighbors.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written byVelvet_Leggings_XD May 7, 2010
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

A very good book.

I absolutely loved this book. It's very realistic, and I really think that people should read it. Kids will enjoy it because they can easily relate to the characters. I think that Atticus, the father, is a brilliant role model for children as well. I was completely absorbed in this book the entire way through.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 15 years old Written byRAEVEN April 21, 2009
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

I ACTUALLY THINK ITS A FASANATING STORY

Kid, 12 years old April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

Oh. My. God.

Wonderful book about the dynamics of the South in that time. I haven't read it for a while (I first read TKaM the summer after fourth grade - it was hard for me a little but I got it) but I still love this book. It's very powerful, well written, and as an aspiring writer, I love the voice Harper Lee gave Scout. References are made to rape, and it gets especially iffy when it's revealed who might have actually raped/hurt the girl (I won't give it away) but nothing graphic is portrayed. Especially powerful is the dynamic between Scout, Jem, and Boo Radley. This book is appropiate for a mature 9+ and in general, 10 or 11+. It's a classic that everyone should read, and it teaches a great lesson.
Teen, 17 years old Written byregina1050 April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 
Teen, 15 years old Written bymaddiekate April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 
Required reading for 10th grade. AP & CP English.
Teen, 14 years old Written bybibliophile April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

Uh-oh.

This book has a good plotline, but the second half focuses completely on a black man supposedly raping a woman. There is also approximately 40-45 swear words in the book, which really turned me off. Other than that, a good classic.

Pages