All member reviews for Tuck Everlasting

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging, great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging, good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging, good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging, okay learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

A timeless and thought-provoking novel.

Age(i)

2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17

Quality(i)

 

Users say

(out of 63 reviews)
AGE
9
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Teen, 13 years old Written byVelvet_Leggings_XD May 7, 2010
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Wasn't the best.

I didn't like it nor hate it. I just think that it was too short. You don't really get to know the characters, you don't spend enough time with them. She's only there for what, one night, and then the story pretty much ends? The plot just never went anywhere.
Kid, 11 years old March 7, 2010
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

Great Message

It's amazing!! I really like the message, it tells that not living forever is a good thing.
What other families should know
Great messages
Parent of a 2 year old Written byrote_cora June 20, 2010
AGE
9
QUALITY
 
What other families should know
Great messages
Kid, 9 years old October 29, 2011
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

Tuck Everlasting

It is a very cool and interesting book!!
What other families should know
Great messages
Kid, 12 years old July 3, 2011
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

forgetable

way to short we read it in my 6th grade english class i wish the romance between winnie and jesse was inhanced and wish the ending was diffrent all in all i wish it was longer
Kid, 12 years old February 14, 2011
AGE
10
QUALITY
 
i like this book did not hate it did not love it. This bbok satistfied my mined with all the adventures we read it as a group so the hard words stood out that is why i aged it for 10 to 12 because the vocabulary was hard one word that was hard that i remeber was preputal.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 11 years old January 23, 2010
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

I love this book!

I love this book for any reasons.First a have a crush on the boy that is 17.But secondley I love the ending it is gorgeous.
Teen, 15 years old Written bynonie11queen September 27, 2011
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

the sad but really enjoyable book!!!

i am reading this book n my english book and it it a romance novel but it can be for kids 11 and up i am not done reading the book but so far i love the book and it is deppressing that winnie dies at the end she is only 10 yrs old and is a really nice kid!!!&
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 11 years old May 1, 2011
AGE
9
QUALITY
 
i love it kids will 2 im a fifth grader and i love it and so does my mom!!!!!!
What other families should know
Educational value
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written bykarmen1 February 2, 2010
AGE
12
QUALITY
 
i love this book it is my favorite
What other families should know
Great messages
Teen, 13 years old Written bybookworm115 December 13, 2010
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

pretty good

my class read this book last year and i thought it was going to be pretty boring but i was proven wrong, this is a great book and it even made me cry at the end when (spoiler alert) when winnie died this is a great book for kids who dont really like to read
Kid, 11 years old December 11, 2011
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

Should you read Tuck Everlasting? Yes!

This was a great book!!! It had a lot of valuable messages!!!!
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 11 years old November 26, 2010
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

Tuck Everlasting is An Everlasting Classic!

Loved it! This book was amazing! The story is based in the olden days, and so kids learn a few old-timey words which is great I think! The book is a treasure itself, very fun to read! No concerns for parents on bad words and expamles.
What other families should know
Great role models
Parent of a 13 year old Written byA.Cox September 23, 2010
AGE
9
QUALITY
 
im in 8th grade && i loved the book. its a nice love story.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 17 years old Written byBlue-Bunny November 7, 2011
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

A great read...

I read Tuck Everlasting for a school assignment and I almost immediately fell in love with it. The story is original, clever, and inspired. It's actually one of my favorite books. It's about a girl named Winnie Foster who discovers a family of immortals. Throughout the story, she has to hide their secret. Unfortunately, a man in a yellow suit wants to share their secret with the world. Winnie is also a really good role model because she risks being caught to save a friend and instead of using the everlasting water on herself, she uses it on a toad (one of her best friends), knowing that living forever isn't really a good thing. The ending is sad, though, because the Tucks find out Winnie has passed away. But anyways, it was a great book and I highly recommend it.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 14 years old Written byreviewer 55 November 15, 2011
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

book review

hey this book is great but better at the start and end the middle is kinda slow
What other families should know
Great messages
Parent of a 10 year old Written bythefullmetalalc... January 31, 2011
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

a classic book perfect for all a

metaphors that may fly over young kids heads
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Adult Written byDsnyLnkd April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

Loved the book...

I read this book after I bought if for my 9 year old for Christmas. I was having second thoughts about giving her a book I'd never read. I loved the book. It took me back to when I was 10 (the age of the girl in the book). It was a nice feeling. The book helps you contemplate your own mortality and why we may not want to "live forever". It really helps a person decide how they feel about living forever. On the other hand I was nervous about the young girl sneaking out of her parents house and what message that will send to my daughter. Also, there is a man who dies by a shotgun and talk of the gallows. I'm not sure if my daughter, though well taught, would understand the law back in 1880. Would she understand the setting of the book was back in the 1880's? I was thinking the age appropriateness would be fifth grade. I was glad I read this book and now will be able to talk to my daughter about it when she reads it.
Adult Written bymrsthomas April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

Great Book

This is a classic! Living forever... a curse or a gift. This book helps you decide!
Teen, 13 years old Written byoreosmith November 30, 2010
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

perfect for anyone to read

i love it
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models

Pages