All member reviews for Vampire Academy

Common Sense Media says

Sexy, mean-girl vampire story has strong language, bullying.
 

Users say

(out of 9 reviews)
age 13+
 
Review this title!
Adult Written byhelsingmusique November 5, 2014
age 11+
 

I really loved this book as a teenager

I haven't read it in a few years, but it was a good book, an interesting story. Things were well explained and it was not difficult to get into a book, I think anyone 11 and up can read this book, I mean if I read a lot worse at that age than this. I love reading and this is one of the first book series I really liked, although I do still have to finish the last book of the series. Rose is a very interesting character, it's nice to see that the main focus on the book was not romance which tends to happen with far too many books nowadays and it takes away from the story. There is swearing, but if your child goes to an actual building for school and attends this school with other people, we can assume they've heard worse, usually kids really start picking it up around ten eleven years of age.
Teen, 13 years old Written byLouis91 January 23, 2015
age 13+
 

Its very deep.

Its a good book and its VERY relatable to how I think. I dont know about everyone but i can relate to how rose feels which i think is very important in a book. but its very offensive at some points too.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 14 years old Written bymcashd55 February 18, 2014
age 13+
 

Vampire Academy: School For All

This book was absolutely great. I truly enjoyed it. It was different than I had thought it was going to be. I cannot wait to see the movie. A fantastic book. A must read for all vampire crazy teens. This book does have some mature topics like someone using a knife to cut themselves with free will. There is some positive message in this book like friends wanting to protect each other and their loyalty to one another. Other than the few mature topics this book has, it is fine and teens will truly love this very unique vampire book. Theme: One should be willing to sacrifice for the person one loves.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written byAries March 5, 2014
age 15+
 

Vampire academy

This book series is great! It explains the drama of high-school and how to get through it with a fun vampire twist. I found that there wasn't many good role models in this book, considering the fact that to protagonist ran away and drinks to much. But it shows the true nature of friendship and if it's true what it can do, and how important it is and vital to everyone everywhere.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written bylaura926 February 12, 2014
age 13+
 

Loved this series!

After reading Twilight, and being fairly disappointed, I read this Vampire series. It is nothing like the movie and is a great book. Though Rose can be vain occasionally, she is a strong, and confident role model that will do anything for her friends. Her response to teachers and peers can be rude, but is funny. The book have some language, but no consumerism. There is some violence, but not much. If you want a great book about Vampires, I'd read this one!
What other families should know
Great role models
Kid, 11 years old January 10, 2015
age 12+
 

Depends

It's a really good book! It just depends on how comfortable you are with reading books with kissing. I'd say it's good for 11 +
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 16 years old Written byVampire2442 June 24, 2015
age 10+
 

AWESOME!!

Its not a cheesy vampire story I promise and its for mature 10 year olds because I know couple of ten year olds who are like omg he said a bad word and then there's my sister who watches game of thrones and is mad if a character has sex with the wrong person. so it totally depends.
Teen, 14 years old Written bykitty47 June 3, 2015
age 13+
 

Great series

What other families should know
Too much sex
Teen, 13 years old Written bybooksta13 May 27, 2015
age 14+
 

lots of swearing

What other families should know
Too much swearing