All member reviews for Walk Two Moons

Common Sense Media says

Dramatic, complex tale has rich characters, emotional depth.
 

Users say

(out of 9 reviews)
age 11+
 
Review this title!
Teen, 13 years old Written byK bug March 26, 2013
 

Go read it!

Amazing! Everybody should get a chance to read this great book. Go read it!
Adult Written bynick_fsx March 2, 2015
 

Terrible

This book contains no catastrophic events and no excitement. Read this if you have no sense of what good books look like.
Parent Written byDavidH June 30, 2014
 

Great book for older teens

I recently read this book with my 9 year old daughter. I think it's an excellent book but I also think Common Sense Media's age estimate of 10 years old is much too young for this book. SPOILER ALERT... This book deals with some intensely sad events in a young girl's life including her mother's miscarriage, a car crash that killed a woman's husband and blinded this woman's mother, and the eventual discovery that the girl's mom was killed in a bus crash and won't be returning home. I think it's too sad for age 10.
Kid, 11 years old March 9, 2014
 

Spoilers....W2M

I have mixed emotions about this book... I have to read this book for school,right? So we are reading in class and there is this gory,graphic description of a woman killing her husband. (I don't think she really does that though.)THAT'S JUST ONE OF THE PROBLEMS I HAVE WITH THIS BOOK. Here is my FULL list of what I hate about this book. 1.A grown 40ish woman makes out with a teenager.2.Graphic,gory descriptions of a woman ''chopping up her husband into a million little pieces'' just because her last name is Cadaver. 3.A bunch of talk about kissing....13 year-olds kissing.....4.Minor swearing, as well as talking about race issues....5.13 year-old smokes a pipe.6.Mother runs away.Dies in car accident.7.Phoebe's mom has an affair(doesn't get married,I think) 8.I think Phoebe's mom runs away 9.Gram gets bitten by a snake AND THE LIST GOES ON AND ON! I really don't recommend this book. It does have an original plot,and characters,but the themes about dieing, and death, and stuff like that, it's just 2 much. i just finished ''Replay'' by Sharon Creech, and I LOVED IT. It wasn't too graphic,only the main character's friend's brother died.Mild injuries, from playing sports and stuff.Not too much sexual stuff either. It was almost perfect.Every author has their flop.And sadly,Sharon Creech, this is yours.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent Written bymckenzie1 January 31, 2015
 

Its satisfying

This is a great book even though it has some sexual content and a lot of sad moments some kids need that in their life because if they read this book they can do what Sal would do if any kids go through what Sal was going through
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written bylannaia1 October 5, 2014
 

Boring

for basically the whole book the girl is having stupid and absolutely pointless conversations with her grandparents and whenever you think something will fiinally happen thats not completeley and utterly boring nothing happens!. The characters are plain and uninteresting. Sharon Creeches other books are amazing but this one is SO SO SO BAD
Kid, 10 years old June 30, 2015
 

it is the best book ever

kids should read this book and i love it it is sad because sal mother died and so does her grandmother but still read it to your child they would love it
Educator and Parent Written byCommonSenseChristian May 3, 2015
 

Walk At Least a Mile With This Book

This novel was my first introduction to Creech, in middle school English, and a great intro it was. When Sal Hiddle's mother disappears, she's afraid to explore why until her grandparents offer to let her accompany them on a cross-country trip. At the end, they will find Momma. Sal is determined to go and bring Momma home in time for her birthday, but picks up several other treasures along the way. During the trip, she tells Gram and Gramps about the year Dad "plucked her up like a weed" from Bybanks, Kentucky and transferred them both to Euclid, Ohio. She shares the metaphor-laden story of her friend Phoebe Winterbottom, exploring themes of motherhood, love, death, relationships, and spirituality. Death is a major theme here; for example, the miscarriage of Sal's baby sibling is discussed. A major character dies from snakebite complications. A woman named Mrs. Cadaver is rumored to hide dead bodies in her home. Mrs. Cadaver's mother, Mrs. Partridge, is an intriguing character but could be off-putting. She seems to straddle the line between dementia and imagined psychic abilities. As other reviewers note, Sal does some innocent kissing with a boy in her class. She's also ridiculed for kissing trees (because she thinks they taste like blackberries, which remind her of Mom). A minor character is extremely fond of saying, "God" in an irreverent way. Otherwise, this is a lovely novel and chock full of literary devices for English teachers--and English-lovers.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Too much violence
Educator and Parent Written bysue819 August 13, 2014
 

A little sad for pre-teens

This was a well written interesting book, but the subject matter was rather heavy. If your child internalizes social situations and sad events, this would not be the book for them. It allowed for a lot of opportunities for discussions.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models