All member reviews for War Horse

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

Moving story of a horse and boy has anti-war message.

Age(i)

2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17

Quality(i)

 

Users say

(out of 10 reviews)
AGE
10
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Kid, 12 years old November 7, 2011
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

Great book, a little violent

It is such an amazing book and had me in tears half the time! The only thing that bothered me was how everyone kept dying!
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Teen, 13 years old Written byone direction fan September 30, 2013
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

war horse

i really like it and im sure anyone will enjoy it
What other families should know
Too much sex
Kid, 11 years old January 15, 2012
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

Amazing story of trust + loyalty + love :D

I love War Horse!!! Although some parts are sad, it still does have very happy parts!! It goes from Joey, the horse, in his point of view and how the author described the feelings of Joey makes you feel that you are there in that situation with the love or hatred he felt and how he felt when something happened. I love this book!! I would recommend it for ages 9+ because some of the parts may be upsetting for some younger kids ( I know because in some parts I almost was in hysterics!! :() But, I loved this book and I think you will too if you read it!! :D
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written byGreenMaple January 2, 2012
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

A great story

This book was very done, though also very sad. War is full of loss, and this book gives a horse's unique perspective on it while telling a story of lasting loyalty.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Kid, 12 years old April 3, 2015
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Amazing and Unforgettable

War horse is for anyone- not only horse lovers. It has both action and love.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Kid, 11 years old January 8, 2015
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Good book

This is a great book, its written from the perspective of the horse. It is a sad book and may be intense for younger children.
What other families should know
Great messages
Kid, 11 years old March 28, 2013
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

:-/

Although i loved the movie, the book was a really easy read, and was NOT INTERESTING! There were almost no details and the story was touching, but it just wasnt satisfying!
Teen, 13 years old Written byChristianHistoryFan June 28, 2012
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

Must-Read for tweens

Positive, unique book about a boy and his horse. Movie just as good.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Too much violence
Teen, 13 years old Written bykhatbarber March 24, 2012
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

Wonderful =D

i think that war horse is a great book, we studied it in English and went deeper into the meaning of the whole story..almost cried for some parts,great simple writing to..awesome!
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 12 years old March 22, 2012
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

One of the best books i've ever read!

Great book. I recommend this book for people 9+.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models