All member reviews for When You Reach Me

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging, great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging, good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging, good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging, okay learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Kids say

(out of 36 reviews)
AGE
9
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Teen, 13 years old Written bygirlwithadaisy October 11, 2012
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

Fast, pacey, genius... Must Read!

When You Reach Me is a fantastic, sci-fi yet real story set in New York in the 1970's with a complex, mind-bending plot involving friendship, time-travel and cool characters. I think it is appropriate for anyone over 8 years old, however the plot would be more enjoyable for 11 year olds and up because it includes some quite tricky scientific concepts and you have to pay attention to all the small details in order to understand this book. That being said, it is appropriate for kids of any age, so as long as you have an adult to explain it to you, you can read it at 5 years old. The type of book that you can read again and again over your lifetime, I recommend it to anyone and everyone!
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 12 years old September 1, 2010
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

GREAT BOOK

Recommend it for 10+, good book, skips scenarios a little, making a a little confusing! Overall GREAT! Questions, Comments- 20qwerty30@gmail.com
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Great messages
Teen, 13 years old Written bybookbook April 27, 2010
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

Sorry, not my favorite this time.

This book was fine, but it just wasn't my favorite. Sometimes I wouldn't really feel like reading it and just wanted it to be over with. I didn't feel like the characters were likable enough. Some of it creeped me out. I just didn't like it very much, but good for you if you did like it!
Teen, 15 years old Written bysuperq4898 June 21, 2011
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Best book!

I thought this was a reallly good book! I couldn't stop reading it!
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 10 years old May 13, 2012
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

WHEN YOU REACH ME REVIEW

What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 15 years old Written bybookwormwriter July 23, 2011
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

One of my favorites

This was a great book, but a little confusing the first time I read it. It has some violence when a group of boys beat up a different boy, but it's not too bad. I liked this book, and I'm going to read First Light, another book by Rebecca Stead. Happy reading! :)
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Kid, 10 years old August 25, 2010
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

really interesting

not something 8 year olds would understand though, i love stories about time travel
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written bypizzavince May 30, 2010
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Confusing for Younger Readers, but Great Time Travel

This was a great book with a great plot and characters. The story combines realistic fiction with a little bit of science fiction. The only reason I have this rated iffy for 12+ is because younger children won't understand the theory of time travel they present in this book. Also, it is not necessary but will make the book more enjoyable if you have read A Wrinkle in Time by Madeline L'engle.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 9 years old February 22, 2010
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

9+ Great book for tweens

The best book EVER!!!!:) Miranda and Colin kiss a few times and you will best understand the book if you've read A Wrinkle In Time (another great book by Madeliene L'engle) and its AWESOME!
Kid, 10 years old September 3, 2011
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

really good book

I love this book! It is a little confusing when they are talking about time travel but it really doesn't matter. You might want to read A Wrinkle in Time because they talk about it a lot in this book but you don't have too.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Kid, 11 years old February 1, 2010
AGE
8
QUALITY
 
I really liked this book
What other families should know
Great messages
Kid, 12 years old January 2, 2010
AGE
7
QUALITY
 
i thought it was pretty good no probloms and i would read it.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 10 years old December 28, 2011
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

I LOVE THIS BOOK!

I LOVE this book. It is my favorite book of all time. It gets you thinking, there is some time travel. There is some violence such as Sal getting punched and the laughing man dying. Miranda and Colin do kiss, and Miranda's mother is on 20,000 pyramid. Also it does say h-ll a few times. Otherwise, I love this book. It really gets your brain thinking and you never think, throughout the entire book, that _______________ happens. I totally recommend kids 10 & up read it.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Kid, 12 years old August 22, 2014
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

A great book

I loved the book When You Reach Me, it was a very smart and creative book, it has a great plot and well developed characters. But I do think the time travel part can get a little confusing for some people, also if you read this book you should also read A Wrinkle In Time, which is also a great book. It is also a mix of mystery and fiction, which are some of my favorite genres. And I totally recommend this book to all you people out there, I hope you enjoy it! -Jackie
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 10 years old May 31, 2014
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

It's a really good book

This is a great story. Being a New Yorker, I like the setting, and I know it's true. I've met the author before, and I think she does a great job with making a good ending, and good, quality story.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 11 years old May 27, 2013
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

have a chance to read

I love this book. Best book i have ever read. Your kids should have a chance to read this fantastic book.
What other families should know
Great role models

Pages