All member reviews for Where the Red Fern Grows

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Kids say

(out of 56 reviews)
age 9+
 
Review this title!
Teen, 14 years old Written byBen654 March 2, 2009
age 4+
 

I LOVED THIS BOOK!!!!!!!!

This book is a heartwarming and emotional book that shows how much the love between a boy and his dogs really is and how much they are willing to doe for each other. AND BE PREPARED TO CRIE!!! For it's a real tear jerker.
Kid, 12 years old June 9, 2009
age 10+
 

sad but really really really good ;-)

this book is the best and saddest book i have ever read! i cried and cried when old dan and little anne died. but i don't think that this book should be 9+ because of how it describes one little boy's death. it talks about soooooooooo much blood.
Kid, 12 years old September 1, 2010
age 7+
 

GREAT BOOK

GREAT, im 12, read it, cried a llitle, laughed a little. At the edge of my seat the whole time!!! Recommend it for ALL ages!!
What other families should know
Great messages
Teen, 13 years old Written byleftbehindcrazed8 June 30, 2011
age 10+
 

GET YOUR TISSUES!!

I read this book for summer reading and it brought me to tears multiple times. Here's what I think: ROLE MODELS: Billy is very loyal to his dogs, and does what he can to save him, even if it means risking his own life. Little Ann and Old Dan stick with Billy and are there for him. VIOLENCE: Little Ann and Old Dan are killed by a mountain lion, and a 14 year old boy trips on an ax and his killed. (but not without blood and gore!!) LANGUAGE: D--n a couple of times, Billy uses h--l twice, and b---h
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Kid, 11 years old January 15, 2011
age 9+
 

Amazing <3

Amazing book. My sister wanted me to read it. We made a bet to see if I would cry or not. If I cried then I give her a dollar if I don't I give her a dollar. I owe my sister a dollar. :'( I really did cry at the end. It's such a cute and sad book. ~ I don't want to spoil the story but I'll just say the book did say things about blood.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 11 years old January 17, 2010
age 13+
 
I am reading it for my 6th grade class and the book is ok but it is kind of boring. I wouldn't be good for kids under 13.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Educational value
Teen, 14 years old Written bybook_worm217 December 9, 2010
age 7+
 
That i love the and other thing are awesome about the book.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 11 years old March 12, 2010
age 11+
 
This is a great book that I highly recommend to anyone over the age of 11. The book is probably too violent for younger kids. The book describes in detail the gory scene of a boy falling on an axe and splitting his chest open. The book says "I say a small red bubble appear from his mouth, then it popped and he fell to the groud lifeless and limp." A lot of my classmates (11) were disturbed. I wasn't, but of course I'm trained to handle emergency surgery in brutal situations so I'm used to that stuff. The book also describes hunting in detail but is ok. A great classic
What other families should know
Too much violence
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 12 years old March 1, 2010
age 7+
 

Good for Late Elementary School to Early Junior High students

I think that it is a great novel for children over the age of seven who do not have a problem with the concept of hunting.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 11 years old April 9, 2008
Kid, 11 years old January 4, 2015
age 9+
 

Sad

SO SAD. Do not read if you are emotional. I cried for hours. We read it in class and I was crying my eyes out. But otherwise good book. Some bloody scenes but otherwises it is good for 9 and up.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 12 years old January 4, 2011
age 12+
 

5 Stars No Doubt

This one of the best books that you will ever read. You will especially connect to this book if you are an animal lover (I am). This story is heart warming and the way the author wrote this book, you'd think you were actually there!! I reccommend this to anyone who is looking for a gripping read that will entertain you throughout the whole book. Where the Red Fern Grows is one of those books tht you never forget.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 11 years old December 6, 2009
age 10+
 

Great for 6+ graders

It was a good book but not an excellent one
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 14 years old Written bykaratedude April 9, 2008
Kid, 11 years old May 20, 2015
age 10+
 

Great for Mature 10 Year Olds and Up

As an 11 year old, this book can send you in a gargantuan amount of tears, as such, I would not advise this book for kids under 10 years old. ( But you can read it if you want). Also, If you like action books, this is the right book for you. This 200 page long book can take you on action thrillers throughout the book, and make you feel you're right in the story.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Teen, 13 years old Written byEnvironment May 6, 2015
age 11+
 

A beautiful, depressing book

This is probably the first book a child should read that will make them cry. I love this book from the shocking scenes to the beautiful end. Although it is depressing, this is a book that should be read.
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Teen, 14 years old Written byfoalover December 13, 2014
age 11+
 

gory in parts

this book is great but there are a few gory parts including a kid getting killed. Also very sad.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Kid, 12 years old October 29, 2014
age 8+
 

Where the red fern grows

I think this was an amazing book. Wilson Rawls did an amazing job of writing it. The detail is superb and his writing style is great. I recommend this book for people who enjoy a heartwarming adventure, and who has a strong love for animals (especially dogs). I you don't want to read something sad, I don't suggest reading this book. Personally I would read this over and over.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 15 years old Written byBUCKBUCK August 4, 2013
age 12+
 

middle school and up

I read it in 6th grade(required) It just is not a great book and not for elementary schoolers. At 12 I had a hard time handling it.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 16 years old Written bymatt7553 November 15, 2012
age 9+
 

where the red fern grows

best book/ movie i have ever seen
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence

Pages