All member reviews for Will Grayson, Will Grayson

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

Edgy, clever gay-themed tale about teens with same name.

Age(i)

2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17

Quality(i)

 

Users say

(out of 23 reviews)
AGE
14
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Kid, 12 years old June 19, 2012
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

Full of Profanities

I have never read a book with so much profanity. in the first 30 pages there were 35 profanities. Nearly half of them are the F-Word. a man is also called a whore. They refer to terms like "ball" "clavicle" "penis" and "vagina". I was very disappointed by this book.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Adult Written byFreet December 21, 2010
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

Excellent choice

Yet another excellent story by the superb author, John Green. This was the first one I read by this author and, while this isn't my favorite by him, (thought the ending wrapped up a little too neatly too fast) it was still a quite excellent read. I love this guy.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 15 years old Written byohmyitskai August 27, 2010
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

14 +

An AMAZING book. Green and Levithan write beautifully with alternating chapters of two boys with the name "Will Grayson". It touches on things that teens actually go through, and addresses a lot of current issues, such as being fat, gay, in an internet relationship, and so much more. There is swearing, but nothing out of the ordinary your teen probably isn't hearing at school. Pretty much nothing your 14+ year old child shouldn't already know about. I recommend that you buy this for your teen!
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Adult Written byhamstergurl09 August 18, 2012
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

Good

This is a good read. The plot of the story (or stories, really) is interesting and kept me engaged as a reader. The two Wills, John Green's Will Grayson and David Levithan's will grayson, were both unique and likeable in their own way. A lot of readers didn't like will grayson (the David Levithan one), but I did like that character. I thought he seemed genuine. Will Grayson (the John Green one) was funny and confused about things in a relatable way. Tiny Cooper tends to steal the show in this book, but the other characters are great, too. Some people don't like the swearing and sexual references in this book, but I thought the language and topics discussed seemed pretty typical of average high school students. I just wanted to point out to CSM user coolkid394 that "clavicle" is another word for "collarbone," and is not a sex term (because in coolkid394's review they mentioned "calvicle" as an allegedly inappropriate term in the book). There was a relationship that happened in the book (not gonna spoil it) that I didn't really like because I thought it seemed kind of fake. Overall, I liked this book. I'd recommend it.
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent Written byhungryparent November 30, 2010
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

iffy

Its a little disturbing
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 16 years old Written byBritreader9779 June 27, 2014
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

A True YA novel

John Green and David Levithan are superstars of the Young Adult book market, they are hugely popular and hugely successful. However I truly believe that this book is not for every teen nor for every adult reader. The story follows two 17 year old boys both named Will Grayson, one a kid who lives by two rules "Don't care too much" and "Shut up" the other, a depressed teen dealing with clinical depression and the issues of Homosexuality. these two characters are presented as true teens, and weather we like it or not, teens swear and are sometimes vulgar or immature, these teens in the book are just like this, with more profanity than some (especially younger readers) will feel comfortable with. this makes the characters feel a lot more lifelike than other YA protagonists which are much more accessible, to keen readers of 11 and up. It explores the ideas which aren't often written about in this genre of fiction, and this makes for a truly unique read. however i wouldn't say this book was suitable for children any younger than the protagonists.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Teen, 15 years old Written byJTDB August 9, 2013
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Great book, confusing if you don't read the blurb....

I loved this book. It is amazing and you really should read it. Don't be put off by it being about gays... Although one thing you must know before you read, I didn't, is that the story is told through two different characters. I don't know how i didn't work it out but i downloaded this book onto my tablet (legally of course) purely because it was by John Green who is an amazing author. I was reading about a boy called Will Grayson who had two loving parents and then in the next chapter he had a solo mum. It was weird and until the two Wills met I had no idea... This is overall a really cute book, I'm a sucker for gay romances, and it had a happy yet kinda corny ending... There really isn't anything too bad content wise in this book; if you've read John Green before you'll know that he is a fan of the f word along with David Levithan... I had no problems whatsoever apart from the cheesy ending but I guess thats what every good teenage book seems to need....
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much swearing
Teen, 15 years old Written byxaltrockgirlx January 18, 2012
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Clever; not my favorite, but still entertaining

I still admittedly enjoyed and loved this book, mostly because I love the voice of Will Grayson (this is the one written by John Green, will grayson, the second one who doesn't capitalize his name, is written by David Levithan), however, both Will Grayson and will grayson were relatable characters (because really, who doesn't feel moody in high school?). Will Grayson's friend Tiny was enjoyable as well, if simply for the fact that he wasn't made perfect, but was still sympathetic. Even though this story has two gay teens in it, sexual descriptions are not explicit in the slightest. However, like a lot of John Green stories, it had a lot of language in it, however, most kids will already know these words. I mention consumerism only for a couple of product mentions and a few band names like Neutral Milk Hotel. Yes, there is a little bit of drinking, but it's not taken to the extreme. The happy ending may be slightly predictable, but everyone once in a while, it's nice to have a happy ending. (I believe the authors made up for it by portraying Tiny's anxiety before the play convincingly; as an actress, I'd know.) Another great book for Green to add to his resume, and I may check out some of Levithan's work.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byxoxo123 February 25, 2015
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Clever book for teens

This is a great book that captures your interest. It has some bad language but just what you would hear at the average middle school. It's clever and witty, but I would not recommend it to anyone under 13 who's not VERY mature.
Teen, 15 years old Written byNarwhalLover13 January 18, 2015
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

I love John Green!

Right when the scene in the Porn Shop happened, I was in LOVE! OMG John Green is the best writer ever, and the Gay encounters were so VERY hilarious. BTW you should read this sexy book!
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Educator and Parent Written byOlivia Leone June 26, 2014
AGE
16
QUALITY
 

not his best work

I read this book because it was on a reading list in a group my daughter joined at the library. She is 11 and after I read it, she was not allowed to do so. Not appropriate. I didn't love this book, both the way it is written and the story didn't really build to the great changes that were supposed to occur after the two Wills meet. Definitely too profane for tweens and younger teens as well as discussion of masturbation and oral sex. More mature readers only.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written byrainbow_nerdfighter April 10, 2013
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Another Score For John Green

I absolutely adore John Green; he is my all-time favorite autor. Although you probably don't care, this is book is tied with Looking For Alaska for my second-favorite John Green book. My favorite is The Fault In Our Stars, and the third favorites are An Abundance Of Katherines and Paper Towns. My least favorite is Let It Snow, but keep in mind that these are my six all time favorite books. Anway, I thought Will Grayson, Will Grayson was another score for John Green. I enjoyed David Levithan's part as well, particularly the lowercaseness of it. Yes, it was, loaded with profanity, and I'm not denying that there were lots of sexual refrences, but I feel as if this is the kind of book teens can relate too. The characters are down-to-earth and believable, and they struggle with real-world problems such as trying to fit in, being gay, and depression. And, spoiler alert, in the end, its not like everything is perfect. It doesn't say if things work out between David's Will Grayson and Tiny, and the kids all still have their own issues. It's so so so belivable. Also, I think that Jane's character is really fabulous. She is smart, funny, and from what I gathered, pretty as well. She is kind of like my role model now, alongside Lacey from Paper Towns, and the good parts of Alaska from Looking For Alaska, to a lesser extent. All in, although this book can be innapropriate, It was marvelous, and very relatable, and nothing I couldn't handle as a thirteen year old.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 15 years old Written byfeather moon June 23, 2011
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

Good for 15.

It's a really good book. It has a lot of teen humor in it. But it was any interesting book, and not the average romance.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Educator Written byRobinSo February 5, 2011
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

Know your audience librarians

I listened to the audio and found it confusing at times. It wasn't always clear who was talking. I believe the premise is great for conversations in a book club setting and for reading on one's own. Much seemed like typical teen trials and tribulations. There words that I really didn't want to hear in an audio, but in print I would have jumped over them.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Adult Written bypopp October 25, 2010
AGE
13
QUALITY
 
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Educational value
Great messages
Teen, 14 years old Written bylipglosschaos September 4, 2010
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Not My Favorite

This wasn't my favorite by John Green, mainly because I didn't like David Levithan's Will Grayson. I found it kind of dull. The language was a bit much for me I would like to say that I find it HILARIOUS that parents recommend this book over "The Clique".
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 16 years old Written byJflores14 April 21, 2015
AGE
16
QUALITY
 

edgy tale of friendship, love, and expectance

This john green/david leviathan novel is extremely entertaining , but is quite edgy in regards to its sexual content and language. CONTENT: Vioelnce- some arguments are intense Sex- innuendo and crude content is plentiful, jokes regarding masturbation, sex, porn shops, homosexuality, and more. A character is gay and he is one of the main characters. Both heterosexual and homosexual couples are said to have kissed and think about intimacy. Langauge- some usage of f**k, sh*t, d*ck, p***y, c**ksucker, c**t, pissed, bitchsquealer, bastard, hell, damn, and more Drugs- NONE MY RATING: R- for sexual material and brief strong language
What other families should know
Educational value
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written byFelicitous Freedom April 9, 2015
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Hilarious and Highly Enjoyable

This book is a great break from your typical YA book. It's a lot of fun, while at the same time it deals with really heavily weighted topics, which are increasingly relevant now. I grew really attached to the characters throughout the course of this book, and thought that the ending, though short, was beautiful. If this was a movie I'd watch it on repeat for hours. It's not though, so reading it again and again will have to do. (Forgot to mention - there is a bit of swearing, that may offend some people. Also, some fairly adult themes are tackled. But this isn't just for shock value, and adds to the story, so it isn't too bad.)
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written byRosieflo April 7, 2015
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Good but probably for older readers

I enjoyed this book, however there is a lot of bad language. I read this book at 13 but I think that it would probably be best for teens aged 24 and over. It does have many valuable messages. I would recommend this book to other readers as it is a very good read.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written by@Bored_lollipops March 1, 2015
AGE
14
QUALITY
 
What other families should know
Educational value

Pages