All member reviews for Assassin's Creed III

Common Sense Media says

Bloody Revolutionary War adventure best for mature gamers.

Learning

Users say

(out of 152 reviews)
age 12+
Review this title!
Teen, 17 years old Written byPoopMagee January 28, 2014
LEARNING

Very educational, but a bit mature.

Assassin's Creed III is a game in which is set in the American Revolution. You take roles of 2 characters throughout the story, Haytham, a Templar, and Connor, an Indian Assassin who fights for rights in america. The game is violent, allowing you to slit redcoats throats, stab them through the head, snap necks, impale them with swords and shooting them with either a bow, musket, or pistol. One scene depicts a bound prisoner who's throat is slit by the villain. A decent amount of blood is depicted flying out of enemies and in cutscenes, though players have the option to turn off 90% of the blood in the game. Disabling blood does not alter violent scenes, just makes things look silly. Sometimes characters reference sexual material, referring women to whores(Only the villains) and briefly discussing sexual activity(Only the villains) "I wanted to end this with a beer in one hand, and a t**ty in the other." In one mission while players are riding with Paul Revere to warn people about the British, a man is seen coming out of the house in his underpants, while a topless woman runs out of the house as well.(No nudity depicted.) And in one brief line of dialogue, a redcoat is heard saying"I'll take his c*ck, end his f**king with us." Characters can be seen getting drunk and drinking alcohol, these scenes can sometimes be quite comic. This game can be VERY educational and even taught me some things about history and got me interested. Players meet with characters such as George Washington, Samuel Adams, Thomas Hickey, and Benjamin Franklin and Paul Revere. The word "c*ck" is heard once in the game, while words such as "f**k", "sh*t","sh*te" and "b**ch" are occasionally heard in the dialogue.
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written byG1998 January 7, 2014

Should be rated T, AC3

Not for Kids. Are you serious? this is appropriate for heaps of kids. Now first Violence: Daggers,tomahawks and muskets. BUT, if you turn of blood this gets a T rating for violence. Nothing graphic at all with blood off. Sex: So low. A few mild sexual references but if your kid watches Pirates of the Carribean its okay E10+ level of sexual things. Language: S**t is used sometimes and other mild curses but if its really necessary You can turn of language You have a choice E rated language or T rated language Positive Role Model: You play as Connor a native american who fights the british TO SAVE HIS PEOPLE! He is a freedom fighter. Thats a good role model in my point of view. Positive message: Do what you think is right. Even with every thing turned on it should be rated T with everything turned off E10+ You also learn about a bit of american history. Ignore the M rating. It should be T.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Parent Written byThe real reviewer December 14, 2013

13 teen+

Assassins creed 3 is one of the greatest games out In the world. The only reason why I rate it 13+ is that the game has a lot of blood, the violence is stabbing and slicing, the game doesn't have any gore though. The other reason I rate it 13+ is that that say a couple of f-bombs and they say Bi*** and sh** a couple of times throughout the game. Hope this reviewed helped.
Teen, 15 years old Written byDonny15 December 7, 2013

Awesome Game

First of all their is no SEX in this game that is just bull i have played all three games and there is no point in time were they have sex their is a scene in the beginning where the guy goes in with his girlfriend and after that the screen goes blank and that's it i would say that there is more bad stuff on tv then this game.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Kid, 11 years old December 2, 2013

III

I started playing the series since I was 9. It has a good storyline. Connor (the main assassin) is fighting the templars which are kind of like the Illuminati (wanting world order). There is language. barely any. the worst i hear is h3ll and d4mn. i recommend another title because this one sucks. they changed the controls and it glitches too much. thanks ^u^
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written byYoyosAreWeapons November 27, 2013

Is the Game Good or Ok For Young Childern???

I really love the game and the game play, but this is not the best Assassins Creed there is. This game is full of violence and has lots of blood. There is language, and alcohol. It does have an educational value, the game is completely about the revolutionary war. You get to see George Washington and fight beside him, you get to participate in the Boston Tea Party, and you even ride with Paul Revere and other historical figures. I say this game is 13+
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 14 years old Written byBionic Reviewer November 16, 2013

The Revolutionary War: Now with more Hidden Blades than the leading brands!

Assassin's Creed III is the colonial installment of the overreaching story of the Assassin's Creed series. The player is an Assassin (for those uninitiated into the series, think Batman in a white and red or white and blue hooded cloak, pictures are included in the site's review of this very game. Plot: Desmond Miles, following the events of previous games, has located an ancient temple belonging to the precursor race that came eons before humanity ever arose. Using the Animus there, he must travel back through the memories of his colonial ancestors to find a key. A key, that would let him access the core of the temple and save the world. You start out as Haytham Kenway. What Kenway actually is becomes known in a plot twist at the end of his portion of the game, but not before he is revealed to be the one responsible for the failure of the Braddock Expedition. The rest follows Rattonhake:ton, a Mohawk Native American with British ancestry, who adopts the name Connor Davenport. Connor goes on a quest of vengeance to kill the Templars who burned his village down. Along the way, he plays a major role in events such as the Boston Tea Party, The Signing of the Declaration of Independence (although he was just a bystander for this, looking on during a cutscene), The Battles of Lexington and Concord, the battle of Monmouth, the Battle of Yorktown, and more. Fun: The game is lots of fun. Swashbuckling in the streets of colonial Boston with endless waves of Redcoats is very entertaining. The historical battles are great, and there is that moment of "wow" when you raise the American flag in forts you've captured. Violence: Plenty. You have access to a variety of historically accurate swords, tomahawks, axes, and daggers, as well as the Hidden Blades common to the series (basically, a wrist-mounted device that contains retractable daggers). You also have access to a Bow and Arrow, a Rope Dart (which can be used to strangle or hang your unwitting opponent), a Poison Dart (which paralyzes an opponent after causing them to wander aimlessly while waving their hands for a minute or so), and Flintlock Pistols (which take ten seconds to reload one shot, so they can really only be used once per fight). Although blood can very easily be turned off (a fact commonly overlooked), when blood is on, it will splatter, get on the ground, your sword, your clothes, your enemies clothes, etc. Each strike or shot, no matter if armed or with a weapon, will cause blood to spurt from the enemies wound and/or mouth, depending on the injury. When fighting near ledges, attacking will sometimes have the player character kick their opponent off to their deaths. When enemies are about to fire muskets at you, you have the option of grabbing a nearer foe to use as a human shield. Some attacks will automatically trigger when the opponent is near death, and can look violent (slashing a foe across the chest for times, stabbing your sword through their head and/or neck, stabbing them in the jaw with your hidden blade and dragging your sword across the side of their neck, etc.). You can also employ stealth to do things such as stabbing your opponent in the neck from behind, choking them out (which is non-lethal and can only be done while unarmed), stabbing them in the back with your hidden blades (if you do this, they will stay on their feet for a moment, look surprised, and then collapse). Citizens will react in horror or egg you on while playing witness to a swordfight between you and the city guards. Pointing a gun at a citizen will reduce them to a quivering, panicked, terrified mass. However, if you actually kill too many civillians or household pets (which you can play with, ironically), you will lose. In a modern day segment, you briefly can fight Templar guards with an automatic handgun. Sexy Stuff: I've played through the entire game (The Washington DLC not included) and have not seen anything, aside from a brief scene depicting a woman in her underwear and man in his underpants and a shirt (the whole thing is played more for comedy than anything else, it should go over most younger kid's heads). Language: Frequent use of s--t by citizens. Roughly three uses of f--k during the storyline, as well as the word c--k. The sentence, which occurs in the first few chapters of gameplay is: "Perhaps I'll take your hands, to stop their doctoring. Or I'll take your tongue, to stop its wagging. Or maybe....I'll take your c--k, to stop its f--king!" The character Desmond Miles (in the present day storyline), says "f--k you" to another character, as well as one other instance of the word which I forgot. Positive Role Models: Connor may be an Assassin, but you have to remember, Assassins are the good guys here. By eliminating one enemy (which the players sometimes have a chance to do in open combat), the Assassins hope to save millions of lives from the evil Templars. Connor is also a freedom fighter, who fights to save his people and to bring freedom to the colonies. You do end up killing several real life important historical figures, such as John Pitcairn, Thomas Hickey, and Charles Lee, among others. This is justified, however, in the sense that they served the villainous Templars, and the real-life characters themselves weren't necessarily good. Political Concerns: The Tyranny of King Washington is some bonus content you get if you pay the full $60.00 for the game on Steam. Basically, it follows an alternate timeline where George Washington becomes power-mad after winning the Revolutionary War, becomes a king, gets a magical scepter, and wipes out Connor's tribe.....again. Connor then gets superpowers by drinking tea, because things didn't seem to be weird enough. Case in point: if you feel very strongly about our founding fathers, you MIGHT want to steer clear of this DLC. It's fully optional, though, you can still pay the sixty dollars and get the small army's worth of unlockable weapons, outfits, and other nice things. Also, if you aren't American, it is worth noting that several British historical figures die during the game by your hand: Edward Braddock, John Pitcairn, and William Johnson being just a few examples. You additionally kill some patriot traitors, such as Benjamin Church and Thomas Hickey. Just some things to watch out for. Positive Messages: Connor does stand up for freedom throughout the game, and comes off as a very heroic character. Educational Value: It is a very historically accurate game. The play being performed in the opening sequence is a real, actual play that was performed back then, and was considered controversial because it was a comedy set in a prison. The Animus Database in the pause menu contains factual information about events and places, and is written in a humorous style that children will enjoy. Conclusion: I hope my review helps you make up your mind. Don't let blood itself deter you, it's a great game, and it could be an interesting idea to play through it with your kids, if you want to try and get them interested in history.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Kid, 10 years old November 10, 2013

Assassins creed 3

The game is a vary good game! You can take of the blood the language is not good but not insanely bad. Riley fun game
Kid, 10 years old November 3, 2013

get ac3

ok now you are desmond miles you get you get put into a time machine and become a assasin really no swearing BUT when you are desmond in and out in the game just mute the TV maby 2-3 F-words also very voloint just i made a mistake DO NOT KILL NO CIVILLANS blood really no gore about 3 quarters into the game a guy gets shot in the head up close in a tree with a flintlock pistol in one part of the game you are hatyhamyour weapons are sword pistol hidden blade (basicly knife) then in the next part you are conner and your weapons are hidden blade tomahak pistol and you can buy clubs or swords ammo at the general store LOTS O BLOOD it is educationol p.s you tomahake people in the face
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Kid, 11 years old October 29, 2013

Not Inappropriat

Nice for kids and my baby brother really enjoys it!!! it is a great game for toddlers
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Safety and privacy concerns
Teen, 13 years old Written byzacharyford October 29, 2013

A perfect game for a perfect franchise.

This game is down right terrific, i don't recommend playing this before the other's. however, let's discuss the issue's with it, this game, for one, is extremely violent. there is a bit of blood, but that can be turned off at any given time, however, language was the biggest issue with this game, there are a total of 7 F-bomb's thrown out through the entire game, if you really care, i can give you the location's of each F-bomb, the first one can be heard on the mission "the doctor" in sequence 2, the second can be heard after sequence 3 where desmond is having an arguement with his father, the next can be heard when your on the mission "skyscraper" as desmond. where you nearly slide off the side of the building, the forth can be found in the same mission, when desmond is held at gunpoint, the fourth is in spanish and is subtitled when 2 men are arguing over how one of them banged the other's sister. the 5th and 6th can be heard on the same mission. after chasing a man through a hallway, he mutter's the word's "i effed up....we effed up" the 7thed is easily missed, while reading through a mysterious E-mail. that cover's it. get this game. it's amazing, but dont get it if you havent played the other 4 in the series. it's easily the best, and the others wont be as fun if you play this first. good luck and have fun.
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Kid, 11 years old October 27, 2013

Great game

It is an amazing game and i think that it's just fine for 9 and up there is violence and language alittle bit but nothing a 9 year old can't handle i played all of the games and beat them all and there was nothing in any of them like people have been saying so 9 and up would be fine.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written byMrPian0Man October 12, 2013

If you won't get your kid this because of what common sense media says?

Ok. Coming From A Kids Perspective Here OK? Common Sense Media Doesn't Know How To Give A Review. Yes Its Rated M but, this game has learning. it takes place in the revolutionary war. not very much but your kid could get into liking history if they like this game..I haven't heard ANY language that would be bad for a 5th grader or even 4th. THEY HAVE ALL HEARD IT. They may not tell you about it but behind your back they are most likely swearing behind your back. And to be honest I beat the whole game. There might have been like 1 reference to sex but that really shouldn't be the mail factor of why you would buy this for your kid. The main reason I could see you not getting it is if you HATE viloence. there is Many missions where you kill people but besides that this game is totally appropriate for kids 11 and up
What other families should know
Too much violence
Kid, 10 years old October 11, 2013

Not as bad as they say

I don't get why people think this is a bad game.This is a good game. I've never played it but I had watched videos about it's gameplay. It is rather bloody because the game includes assassinating people with a wide range of weapons such as tomahawks, longbows and bayonettes.(you could turn the blood off in settings) It also contains a small amount of sexual content and some swear words, but expect most of them in Desmond's sequence. This game is not exactly biased against Britan or America, but your main targets are British.Overal;, it is great for learning history and I think 5th graders or up could handle it, as long as you turn off the blood or get an adult to supervise you.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 17 years old Written byProfesserCrouch October 4, 2013

Riding my horse back to revolution

Alright, so I am back, recently I did the S.C.B review. Okay so, this game is a GREAT game. It has learning potential about the Revolutionary War. You learn about a lot of historical events including the Boston Tea Party, the signing of the declaration, and the end of the revolution. This time they didn't focus so much on the assassin than the storyline. This game is open world. You get new weapons. New skills. But that isn't what you're here about, is it? No. Okay, let's get started. Assassin's Creed III is a great game. Parents are probably concerned about the violence and the language. VIOLENCE) The violence in this game IS gory, but it is not an issue. LANGUAGE) 1 use of the f-word. It is only heard ONCE. If I am wrong, which I might be, turn off the volume. Well thanks, give me a like, see ya later!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Kid, 12 years old October 3, 2013

great game

Great game no bad things but some words you might not let your child say. Overall great for learning because you get to learn about the revolutionary war from a native americans point of view. Overall I would say a responsable sixth grader would be able to play this game.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Teen, 13 years old Written bypianodude2534 October 1, 2013

Good but not for kids at least 12

This game can be considered one of the violent games but it is most definitely appropriate for maybe older preteens 13 and 14. The plot may be a little difficult for young kids since it is dealing with the the Revolutionary War but all in all its a very good game with action
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 9 years old September 7, 2013

best game ever

it is a okay game ages 10 and up my mom bought this game for me it is a good game kind of gta kind of game but bloody says b...tch 10 times danm a few times it says the f bomb 4 times i think common sense is wrong bubbyrules on ps3
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written bytherealreviewer August 24, 2013

Assassin's Creed 3

I'm going to be frank, if you think this is a bad game, you are VERY nit-picky. It is a fine game. No sexual content what so ever, except for 2 guys arguing over a girl, going "I called her first!" and stuff like that. It does have slight blood, easily toggled off, and there is a little bit of swearing like hell, d-word, and once s*** in some native american language, but other than that, a good game. Natives also smoke pipes, that's it.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byCHoiBoy0527@gmail.co August 17, 2013

Rating is too harsh...

The game is historically accurate. Ubisoft has made a large number of games that exceeds in historical accuracy, and this game exceeds them all. The only 'sexual' part is near the beginning where two people are kissing. It is not too sensual or overdone. No full sex or nudity is shown. The blood can be easily turned off; even with the blood on, there are barely any except while hunting and special missions. The game also has 'positive role models'. The main character is an indian not only fighting for his country, but also for his indian people and for nature. The game can be handled by majority of teens.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence

Pages