Common Sense Media says

Mature, cinematic thriller is history-based.

Users say

(out of 248 reviews)
age 12+
Review this title!
Adult Written byasaspades April 9, 2008

An educational game that has taken a backseat to the violent content

The game Assasins Creed is an extremely well reasearched, beautiful game. You play as an assasin in the 1200s during the time of the 3rd crusade. Your targets are real historical figures that disappeared around that time. Contrary to the rating this web site has given it, Assasins Creed isn't as bad as some would label it. The violent content is not over the top or grusome but instead intelligent and refined compared to many other violent games out there. The blood ( although it is there) is actually a low rendered red mist that could be compared to the blood seen in games for the N64. (this could be seen in any game at your local arcade)As you kill your opponents, your character begins to quetion whether or not he is doing the right thing for the medival society. The irony suggested by this can be compared to many politcal situations that are happening today and lead gamers to ponder it themselves. Overall Assasins Creed was braded with a mature rating because of the level of sophistication required to fully understand the underlying themes. Similar to some R rated movies. This is definatly not the type of M game that can be compared to Grand Theft Auto or other controvertial games. Unfourtunatly, the ESRB has no way to distinguish this when they label a game M. The content in the way of blood, and language is not anything that a teenager hasn't seen/heard before. So if your teen wants to play this game, don't be scared by the M rating. Perhaps ask him/her to explain why they are killing the figures in the game or allow them to make a case for the game. Overall its not up to the content in the game being age appropriate, but instead the players not being able to comprehend the irony of it all.
Adult Written byMasterChief2 December 31, 2009

Fine for 15+ and maybe for 13+

First off this is a fantastic game, but the reason you are reading this is probably to get a feel for the content. There is blood and violence, but it is not absolutely horrible. There are reasons for the violence and the assassinations as well. All of the targets for assassination are VERY evil. One example is a man who is a slaver. By killing him you stop his trafficking of humans. They do not give you other options, but what do you think the other options are? Tell him to be good? Capture him and let him go after a while? This man was evil and you killed him. Another thing to be mentioned is that there is an option to turn off the blood. I played the entire game with the blood off and with it off it straddles the border between M and T. I wouldn't immediately ok it based on that result though as it is possible your kid would just turn the filter off whenever he is alone. In some families that will be often, but in others rather seldom. Unfortunately there are swear words and some more graphic scenes. However I never heard an F-bomb or anything worse. The swear words also came mostly during the 2 minute cut scenes that occur while in the future and for the majority of the game there is very little swearing.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Educational value
Adult Written byFreedomFromCens... August 14, 2009

Once again, Common Sense Media fails at rating games properly.

Most kids over 14 or 13 cold handle this game's violence and language (trust me, kids hear the F-word all the time in middle school and up). Theirs no "real" gore, as in you can't cut off body parts, just blood. This game was entertaining, but not particularly worth buying, renting once or twice, sure. The story has a neat twist, but that's about it. Missions are repetitive, but its fun to explore the massive cities. Overall, fun and interesting to play, but not outgoing or too amazing.
Parent of a 9 year old Written bymrmom June 5, 2010

PERFECT FOR ALL AGES

This game is just like elementary school. i remember when i was in elementary school and i heard more bad language and saw more blood (no i did not go to a New York City school) than in this game. Also there IS educational value that includes a REAL group of assassins (the hesheshins) and REAL relidgions and monks and such, and REAL targets, leaders, and people. This game is greatly educational an un-violent. also the main character, altiar (real person), says multiple times that violence is unnecessary for the cause and unenjoyable and god does not want it this way. He only says that to his close friend and not his master, where he says violence IS necessary for the cause. They only say the F-word once but plenty d*mn and h*ll. they say s*it less than five times. The blood is no problem (and can easily be turned off) and rarely any of it. there is zero blood when you do a stealth kill wich is how you do most of your killing. The cities in the game are portrayed accurately. The game is also super fun and you get penalized for killing civilians.
What other families should know
Educational value
Parent of a 17 year old Written bythomas1foot February 26, 2011
It's a very fun game but does have a bit more violence than needed. When blood is turned off in the options menu the only problem is really the language which isn't actually all that bad.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Adult Written bywert123 April 9, 2008

an ok game

hey now im a very caring parent about what my 2 boys ages 12 and 13, and i looked at this game that they brought home and then i flipped because they didnt tell me. well they tried to show me that its not an evil game,(we're very strong mormon/catholics) and i looed at it, and i wasnt very happy because that i heard them say "bastard" and "damn". but they played further in and it really didnt say much more swearing afret that. But, when they beat the game, the main bad guy said the f- word, but parents, dont worry, its optional to watch that part because thats just the little end of the game clip i'd say that its a safe game from 12+
Educator and Parent Written byMagic1978 May 19, 2013

Assasin's Creed is good for 11+ year olds.

I've seen that it's a good game for 11+ year olds. It's a historical based game which is a plus, it's a very well researched most everything is historically accurate (the groups, people and buildings). It's a lesser violent game compared to games like Call of Duty or Dead Space. It's good for kids who can recognize who are role models and who is not a role model. A great feature is blood-off mode which has it so, there is no blood. With blood off mode in my opinion it should be rated border line E10+ - T (ESRB). A great thing is about half-way through the game the main character realizes that violence is not the a good way to solve things (though violence is still used in rest of the game, but more is focused on other things)! This game is a puzzle, parkour, action-adventure video-game for most every 11 year old who can realize that some people aren't good role models and should have role models like David Ortiz or Roberto Clemente. Magic1978
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Parent of a 10 year old Written byGamerMomKnowsBest August 3, 2009

OK for tweens

If its only occasional swearing I can understand that, and it shouldn't be a problem. And the normal kid can withstand blood and still sleep at night
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 17 years old Written byLMan723 April 26, 2015

For kids

CSM is wrong about many things. This is one of them. Parents should know that Assassin's creed allows blood settings, which means you can turn off the blood. Unless, even if you did turn it off, there is just a mist of blood anyways. No puddles of blood. And however this game is educational because Altair was a real assassin and which you play as a group of them and you learn about the history of them. Violent 2 ½/4 At the beginning of the game there will be a cutscene. It will show people hung. Just dangling there. ITS HISTORY PEOPLE! But you may skip the cutscene at any type by just pressing Y Or A on Xbox 360. Swearing 1 ½/4 There is minor swearing they drop the F-Bombs 4 times through-out the whole game. D-mn, H-ll will be used frequently in cutscenes. The only time you hear swears is in cutscenes. You can either turn down the volume or skip the cutscenes. Sex 0/4 There is nothing suggestive/sexual
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Parent of a 12 year old Written byJohn Dawson October 21, 2012

on for 11+, good educational tool

I really think assassins creed is a great game. I myself learned several new facts about the crusades when i played this. Violence is a potential issue, but its nothing a 6th grader or older cant handle. hope this helps ~john dawson
What other families should know
Too much violence
Parent of a 10 and 12 year old Written bynme61 June 29, 2013

History with a twist

This is a great game with a lot of historical content which is quite factual how ever certain liberties have been take for the sake of the story line . you play as an assassin that is working his way up through the ranks and have to assassinate key figures of the period ,the point of the game is to do that unnoticed with as little conflict as possible so if your playing the game correctly the violence is kept to a minimum. At the end of the day history is violent the crusades where not won with people giving fluffy bunnies to each other and if you do look into the period then things where a lot more violent than depicted. the main let down is the narrative in the present day which i believe detracts from the education aspect of the game. i would highly recommend for anyone in to historie who are in there teens but not for any lower
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Adult Written byAssassin 17 December 12, 2010

I SAY 10+

i love this game!! i dont understand why it is 17 and up i rate it 10 and up.something i dont understand is at the ending what does altair say to his old master.either way the game is ok as long as you get blood off for kids and watch them from time to time.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Kid, 11 years old January 7, 2010

Not for the faint harted (scared tweens)

This is the BEST game I own!!! The only bad thing is that they say s-t and "bastrd", but otherwise its great!!! Ther is also blood.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 15 years old Written bymrcool1045 July 6, 2011

great game for mature 10 year olds and up

This is a great game despite the title. the title makes the game seem gory and like something yuo dont want to buy-thats why it took alot of convincing to get my STICT parents to buy this. Keep in mind this game is not at all worse thewan halo or call or duty. Plot-you are kid-napped by people that strap you into a machine(called the anamus) and you re-live the adventures of Altiar-your assassin ansestor threw memories. the people that kidnapped you want a spicifoc memory.Violence-you are a assassin so violence is ecspected. you roam the streets of damascus, jurusalm, acre and others killing 9 leaders of the crusades. you also need to kill guards in order to survive. to kill someone you can use throwing knives, short and long swords and hidden blades. when you kill someone a smell "mist" of blood comes out but the blood can be turned off. the only really violent things in this game are the "cut scenes" (this is the part of the game were yuo have gathered enough info about your target to kill him) right befor you can kill him a "movie/scene" comes on and it shows your target commiting a evil act(some can be quite graphic) such as(this is the worst and first one) a man stabbing anouther man over and over again in the street. Sexual content- NONE AT ALL Language- he*l and da*n are used about 15 times through-out the whole game. also, your kidd-nappers(they are scientists working for a HUGE company) use the f-word once and i believe the s-word once or twice but your kid should know those words and know not to use them. this game is pretty historicly accurate. its is SUPER fun to play if you like role-playing or mideival set games. hope this helped! please buy it!
What other families should know
Educational value
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Kid, 11 years old February 7, 2010

calm down, commonsense

trust me, its not that bad. there is violence, but its not bloody or gorey hard to master
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 15 years old Written bySamuel B. January 11, 2015

Violent, but thought-provoking/Interesting

I think the age rating for this game is very bloated-Most teenagers I know enjoy these games. It's not appropriate for anyone under 13, in my opinion, and there are moral issues as well. However, your character, and Assassin, part of a secret society fighting for world peace and freedom, must follow a moral code, its first point being to never slay innocents. In the story and gameplay, you suffer repercussions when breaking this code. Characters are well thought-out and there is no sexual content, and the story line and setting brings up many thoughtful issues-For example, the villain in the games, the Templars, are usually considered "good" but are greedy and controlling in this game-neither side is right or wrong, in fact they both fight for the same thing, security, but their ideals differ so much that they fight. In later installments, the Assassin brotherhood is compromised, and characters discuss their corruption: one character in Rogue says "we have no right to decide the world's future" to which the other repsonds, "The right? We have the responsibility!" all in all, a fine game for teenagers with deep, thoughtful meaning. Watch out for constant violence, occasional language, and somewhat challenging gameplay.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Teen, 13 years old Written byHidden Blade x2 February 28, 2010

Great for tweens!

Ok, first off, everyone needs to know that this game is completly awesome. People need to know that there is hardly any blood at all(althogh, to be perfectly honest, I only ever played this on a non-gaming computer [I didn't have an xbox at the time]so my computer might not have showed it). It is also important to know that if your kids don't grasp the injustices of the crusaders, they will after they play this. It has good role models I guess. You actually play as two people, Desmond Miles and Altair. Desmond Miles is taken in to this corporation to find more about Altair. Altair is an Assassin who kills one to save the lives of many (this goes in deeper as the game progresses). The game controls are very easy to master. It is a lot like an obstical course. Hope This Helps!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Great role models
Parent of a 12 and 14 year old Written byKevin Quire November 27, 2009

fine for teenagers 13-14 and up

This game actually isn't violent at all. It isn't a kids game but it is fine for teens.
Adult Written byjoshuaryung January 11, 2009
This a a fun somewhat historically accurate game and can teach you a lot the medieval time. And there is lots of blood.
Teen, 15 years old Written byJCgaming5 July 12, 2015

Good game

Ok so first off I have played through the whole entire game. Yes there is violence but its mostly just hitting people with a sword and a silent kill that you can't even see the blade come out. There is blood but not very graphic. Next topic: Language. There is hardly any throughout the entire game. Maybe dam or s**t but other wise nothing to worry about. I hope you let your child play this as it is a very good game and if you think your child isn't ready for this try star wars the force unleashed.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models

Pages