All member reviews for Batman: Arkham City

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Kids say

(out of 120 reviews)
AGE
12
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Teen, 13 years old Written byM.P.L.S. April 6, 2015
AGE
14
QUALITY
 
LEARNING

Worse then you think

Lots of swearing like in the start of the game a prisoner yells "i`l make you my b!tc# wane!" this shocked and horrified me. If you die of the second mission 2 face points a gun at you in the fist person and says "Looks like your luck ran out." i am 13 and stopped playing of my own will. p.s. I play injustis and have no problem with it so this is pritty bad.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byscarbt02 March 19, 2015
AGE
12
QUALITY
 
LEARNING

Fantastic!

An amazing game. Has it all. Combines stealth, gadgets and amazing combat, so you really feel like the batman. Great storyline and an amazing open world arkham city loaded with missions after you complete the game. There is quite heavy violence, and some swearing, but mature kids can deal with it. 10/10!
Teen, 13 years old Written byArmed penguin March 12, 2015
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

Nothing to be afraid of

This outstanding game is dark, and it has violence, but other than that, nothing. Guards can be heard taking about porn or beer, and female characters have tight, form fitting outfits that show cleavage, but other than that, nothing. Any kid 8 or above can handle this.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 17 years old Written byBatman100 March 5, 2015
AGE
14
QUALITY
 
LEARNING

Amazing!

You should buy this right now it's the best video game EVER! Dark and scary elements make this too much for kids, especially on the phone call killer missions which are very dark, but still, it's the best game you'll find!
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 9 years old March 1, 2015
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

its awsome but inapropriot

its violent and a lot of swearing but its really fun and great for ages 13 and up and fans of batman would love it
What other families should know
Easy to play/use
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byJosephrudolph13 February 24, 2015
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

The game is not as bad as the cite says but it is not as good for your child as the other kids say

This is a brilliant although difficult at times game that will challenge with stealthy "non lethal" take down which they would definitely be dead in and is not that sexually diverted as other people say
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 16 years old Written bySalsander February 16, 2015
AGE
13
QUALITY
 
LEARNING

The best superhero game out there

Mature content in Batman Arkham City is similar to that found in a typical PG-13 superhero flick. Batman has fist fights with baddies but follows a strict no-kill rule. He will use blunt objects and his fists to knock them out cold. These fisticuffs never result in blood or death. Baddies will shoot batman and will occasionally kill secondary characters with guns but gunshots will not result in blood or visible wounds. There are no shocking or gruesome deaths in the game (unlike the ones found in Christopher Nolan's Dark Knight movies). A serial killer threatens to cut up some cops, though batman stops him in time. Catwoman, Poison Ivy and Harley Quinn wear revealing clothes and the goons will occasionally chatter about them looking hot (using the word b---h occasionally), but these female characters never seem to flaunt their sexuality. There is also quite a bit of mild language (b-----d, a--, d--n, h--l). That's about it though. It's dark, but never over the top. It's definitely ok for anyone 13 and up, iffy for anyone 10 and up.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written byswagasaurusrex January 13, 2015
AGE
8
QUALITY
 
LEARNING

great game i would give it a lower age rating if the puzzles were easier and the problem solving was more infrequent

Really commonsense? You give call of duty mw3 15+ and look at this and say. Women are dressed suggestive and tight cleavage is shown. This is true, but it's only for one character and she is barely seen in the game. This is totally appropriate. But if you are a bat man fan, you should know that in this game you must use your head. Also the ending hits bat man fans hard. It was sad... :'(
What other families should know
Great role models
Kid, 12 years old January 12, 2015
AGE
13
QUALITY
 
LEARNING

Great Batman game, definitely not for young kids

My older brother got this game for Christmas, and, naturally, I wanted to watch him play it (but obviously I also would play sometimes). While it is a great game, it is definitely not for anyone under 10 or 11, and maybe for some mature tweens. All of the female characters that play a major part in the story (Harley Quinn, Catwoman, Poison Ivy, Talia al Ghul) are rather suggestively dressed and the inmates of Arkham City sometimes comment on this. I believe there is also one mention of pornography (While discussing reading, one inmate tells another that it doesn't qualify as literature). Inmates and villains swear, but it is pretty mild (b*tch, a*s, d*mn, h*ll, sh*t) and Batman only swears once (d*mn). The violence is pretty heavy, as you can engage in fights randomly in Arkham City and throughout the storyline, you will silently attempt to take out a roomful of armed thugs multiple times. If you have the ability to play as Catwoman in story episodes (I believe that's only in the DLC), you actually kill TYGER guards (by choking them). Apparently Batman doesn't kill, but you knock a whole lot of people unconscious (most of whom would die without immediate medical care and Batman just leaves them lying there). One villain stabs himself and another character with a sword. This game can also be extremely difficult to play at times. There are a lot of different gadgets that you have to memorize the proper buttons to use quickfire, you have to remember what buttons to press to do different takedowns, etc. This also prevents the game from being enjoyed by younger players. I believe I just about covered everything. It is my favorite video game I have ever played, and it is amazing, but definitely not for anyone under tween.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 14 years old Written byPrequelHater878 January 5, 2015
AGE
11
QUALITY
 
LEARNING

Better that Arkham Asylum

This game is great, better combat, better and more engaging story, and a huge sandbox to explore. You NEED to play this game if you call yourself a Batman fan, it is one of the best games I have ever played.
Kid, 9 years old October 27, 2014
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

batman

Fine four children about nine mild cussing and some blood but you don't kill anyone .
Teen, 16 years old Written byScantsundew October 19, 2014
AGE
13
QUALITY
 
LEARNING

A top tier game

This game like its previous is a game good for those who want a mental game where you should try and out think your enemies instead of punching your way thru. Like all batman games your charecter will never kill and even is (SPOILER) stunned when he drops the cure for joker resulting in joker dying. (continued) There is limited language and like Asylum the scenes with scarecrow can be disturbing to VERY young players those above 13 should handle it no problem.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 16 years old Written byAvengingSon98 October 15, 2014
AGE
12
QUALITY
 
LEARNING
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Easy to play/use
Teen, 17 years old Written byLord Pigeon October 10, 2014
AGE
12
QUALITY
 
LEARNING

Best Batman simulator on the market, but plenty dark...

And by dark I don't quite mean it's full of gore or anything, but the story and setting are definitely darker than any other Batman-themed video game outside of the Arkham franchise. Batman uses plenty of brutal martial arts techniques on thugs, including a variety of punches and kicks -- with minimal blood. Nevertheless, Batman chooses not to kill his adversaries -- even in the grimmest of circumstances -- and is very compassionate for the most part. Sexual content is limited to skimpy outfits (hardly new to the superhero genre) and some minor references heard mostly in casual banter between prisoners. Words like "ass", "bitch", and "damn" are uttered on occasion, but not to excess. Children of 12 years should find no issues playing this title. The plot is captivating, and the side missions offer plenty of gameplay outside of the campaign.
What other families should know
Great role models
Easy to play/use
Too much violence
Kid, 12 years old October 7, 2014
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

AMAZING

this game is amazing! thats all i can say! warning, lots of violence! everything in here isnt much more than you would see in a pg - 13 movie.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 13 years old Written byDrewthelegoman September 20, 2014
AGE
10
QUALITY
 
LEARNING

Fun but kinda violent

I started playing these games when I was 10. they are kinda violent but very fun. Just remember there is illegal drug reference and drinking and smoking. Just remember parents I have had a lot of fun with this game.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much consumerism
Teen, 14 years old Written byHi 78 August 7, 2014
AGE
14
QUALITY
 
LEARNING

Great game with some iffy content for younger teenagers

Batman Arkham City is one of the best games that I have played. Batman is not the best role model ever because he protects Gotham without killing the villains in the game (although two of The antagonists in the game die Joker and Ra's Al Ghul). The game is not very difficult although there are parts where the game can be challenging to novice players. Batman pummels his enemies with his fists and other gadgets and inmates attack Batman with their fists knifes broken beer bottles and various types of guns. Several characters show way to much cleavage and pregnancy testers are seen on the ground in one scene. Words such as a** b***h b*****d and hell are used. One character is never seen without a cigar and some inmates reference drugs and alcohol there is also a substance called Titan which is super steroids. This game has an great plot with many twists. The only downside to that is that some great characters are incorporated but the have too small of a part. I would recommend this game to any gamer.
What other families should know
Great role models
Easy to play/use
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 11 years old August 4, 2014
AGE
10
QUALITY
 
LEARNING

Good Game but have some gory and inappropriate scenes

It's a Batman game that lets you really feel how to be batman and it can let you investigate a crime scene to find out the killer. Some scenes are very gory like hush killing everyone and scraping out the persons face but it didn't show how he did it it just show the body. Some characters have some cleavage and tight suit but it's just a little amount that is shown. Some thugs swears a lot and saying inappropriate stuff but most 9 year olds would already know these words and what it means. The puzzles are good for letting kids practise their problem solving and the game aren't very inappropriate.
What other families should know
Great messages
Easy to play/use
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written byHightech Redneck July 28, 2014
AGE
13
QUALITY
 
LEARNING

It's not great.

NOTE: I HAVE NOT COMPLETED THIS GAME BUT I HAVE PLAYED IT FOR HOURS! The story is good. The graphics are okay. The voice acting isn't great. The controls are confusing. It is like they tried to remake Assassin's Creed, but instead of having it be in a historic setting, have it in a dark prison and add Batman, sexual content & more bad language. This game has uses of b*tch, some very uncomfortable sexual dialog and cleavage. This game does have some obvious violence. I'm confused by the ESRB because Halo games get an M rating with warnings for blood and violence, but this game got a T rating with warning for blood ,violence and a whole bunch of other stuff. Overall, Batman is great in comics and okay in video games.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Kid, 9 years old July 11, 2014
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

I Love It!

okay, maybe there use of words like: b#$%! and lots of violence, but it STILL makes a great kid game.
What other families should know
Great role models
Easy to play/use
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking

Pages