All member reviews for Batman: Arkham City

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging, great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging, good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging, good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging, okay learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Kids say

(out of 116 reviews)
AGE
12
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Kid, 10 years old January 27, 2012
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Great game its fine for younger children

Well... it'll be ok for 12 and under but it is quite difficult to play and its ok i think you should let a younger kid play it but it might be hard i couldn't play it myself
Kid, 12 years old January 3, 2012
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

amazing game but very dark

at first i was skeptical about whether this would be a good game because i was never that into super hero's as a kid i liked learning about the civil war (i know you may think i'm one of the weirdest kids) but i saw a friend playing it and it was amazing so i do recamend that you go on youtube and watch gameplay but this is a very dark spin on batman. yes harley quin does wear a very revealing outfit but come on its not that bad so does catwomen. you don't kill anybody but there are several deaths but you don't make them happen. one part is a suicide it is an attempt to kill batman and himself i won't say anything more except he stabs himself through the stomach with a sword. it does have a great message that he will never kill anybody no matter what i would very much like to see a sequel.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Teen, 13 years old Written byadz13 March 23, 2013
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Give us a chance. its only just a game.

i live in the uk in a town called @!**^$$$F, in london, and this game is rated 15. OUTRAGEOUS. its a superhero game. i dont give a no 2 if its got mild language and strong violence. the violence isnt even strong. its punches and kicking. plus the gadgets make the game even more awesome. i wish age ratings were banished. sometimes i think every new game release is either a shooter and/or a badman's treat. its unfair on us teens. we need to rebel against this.
Kid, 12 years old April 2, 2012
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

It's rated T for a reason

Something that's strange about this game is that even though there's a lot f violence, violence it's not the issue with this game. Two female characters in the game wear questionable outfits that some parents might not find "child appropriate". Also, the game uses a lot of language, almost one for every time you turn a corner, but no F-Bombs are used in the entire game. If your a parent that just sees that it's a "super-hero" game, be wary that some of the characters are deranged sociopaths, with no regard for human life, this game has less creepy characters than Arkham Asylum. If you think your kid is mature for the content, then that kid will be happy for the game, an intricate storyline, a wide variety of side-missions, and an end that shocks everyone that plays it.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 11 years old May 28, 2013
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Great Game with Violent Twists

When it comes to violence this game is not terrible. In intense hand-to-hand combat fights you can punch kick or use a special combo, which implies breaking the enemies arms legs, or feet. When engaged in combat you can counter act against enemies with weapons such as a bat, sword, hammer, etc. When you counter act with the bat or the hammer you knock the enemy over and smash them the stomach and hear an utter cry of pain. Lastly, when it comes to violence the last thing I would say is that one of the side missions is to take down a serial murderer that has ripped political prisoners faces off. You don't see anything but the political prisoners dead and blood stained body. Their face is wrapped in bandages. Sex in the game is not a terrible issue other than the risque clothing and a lot of sexual innuendo. Catwoman is wearing a zipped down suit with a lot of cleavage showing. It is the same deal with Harley Quinn and Poison Ivy. The main reason I was sort of mad at this game was because of all of the language. They practically say b***h is every single scene of the game. The also say crap and a**. Other than these factors this is a great game that I recommend.
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written bySnowdrifter April 18, 2013
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Batman: Arkham City is... Amazing.

Yeah, Arkham City is really dark. There's a lot of swearing, but I think that only adds to the realism of the game. I mean, come on, the characters that swear most frequently are the thugs. Common criminals. There's a lot of brawling, but you can't kill anybody. Some of the villains are pretty creepy (namely, Joker and Zsasz) but it's not real. Only if your kid had a REALLY overactive imagination would that be a problem.
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written byMohammed2500 December 9, 2012
AGE
11
QUALITY
 
LEARNING

The dark knight is back

Its an amazing game better than AA. Batman is such a bad ass. The combat is smooth and very rewarding. The stealth is fun and HILARIOUS scaring the crap out of thugs is deeply satisfying. Story is lengthy and full of twists action and baddies. Side missions are amazing.. One of the best games ever. There is violence but not too bad .
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Teen, 14 years old Written bySithLordBeast April 22, 2012
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

very good game

This game is amazing and every other synonym of amazing. The graphics, storyline, and gameplay are awesome. The combos are awesome. Everything is awesome. I loved all the villains. I loved how you could play with batman or catwoman. I loved this game (obviously). There were, however, some negatives about the game. Although it wasn't as frightening as the last batman game, it had a lot of violence. You see people get shot, stabbed, pounded to the ground, and more. Blood appears in a stain when a guy is stabbed, and it is also seen on the ground in environments. Batman gets shot by a helicopter if you're seen in one mission, and he snaps thugs legs and arms many times. Characters throughout the game use multiple bad words, such as b--ch, d-mn, h-ll, a--, b-stard, and w-nker. Batman Arkham City uses these words MUCH more frequently than Batman Arkham Asylum. Much more frequently. I heard b--ch at least 20 times throughout the campaign. But this game is still awesome!!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 17 years old Written byjaystar94 February 28, 2012
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Great Game!

Let me say one thing: this game is AMAZING! I got it for Christmas, cause I'm a MAJOR Batman fan, and because I had finished Batman: Arkham Asylum. Arkham City bests its predecessor in ways unimaginable. The fact that the world is much more open then Arkham Asylum is perfect for someone like me who loves to explore and find new things. The side missions add some great variations to the plot, allowing you to postpone the main mission at any time to go and help people, or complete the Riddler's Challenges. But, along with the great things, there are some things parents should watch out for. There is cursing in this game, but what else would you expect from a bunch of murderers and gang members? These guys (aside from the Political Prisoners who are in because they spoke out against Arkham City) are hardened criminals, so they are going to be using words like d*mn, h*ll, and b*tch sometimes during the game. The violence is moderate. Batman punches, kicks, shocks, and drops on top of enemies. One of the special combo takedowns involves Batman flipping an inmate over his shoulder, picking up his arm, and breaking it, resulting in a bone-cracking like sound (but the move isn't graphic, there's not even any blood). Some inmates get shot by Tyger patrol guards, enemies brandish guns and knives (though there is no blood then anyone is struck or shot). Overall, I think this is a great game for teens 14 and up who can handle this kind of stuff.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Kid, 12 years old February 4, 2012
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Amazing game for superhero fans

If your kid has seen The Dark Knight or read the new Batman comics, they can handle this game. There is as much (if not more) iffy content in the comics & newer movies. The main story is intriguing and fun, and the side missions are a joy. Challenge maps, additional campaigns, and add-ons will keep you entertained even after you've done everything you can do in the main world. Violence is mainly in combat, which actually involves no blood. The only blood is seen in cutscenes. There is some suggestive dialogue, but not anything more than the movies or comics. Some of the themes are dark. Batman is a positive role model - he never uses lethal weapons and refuses to kill anyone. There are some positive messages too. Great game
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 11 years old June 30, 2013
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

BEST GAME EVER!!

this is one of the best games ever made. i thought arkham asylum was good and it couldn't get any better but this is awesome. Ok down to business so the controls were good and easy to use. If you played Arkham Asylum then the violence is what you would expect, punching kicking and use of different gadgets and the titan thugs also return. There is quite a bit of language in it though lots of b*tch a** and more. The penguin does smoke and enemies attack you with broken glass bottles. Nothing too bad on sex although two female characters have very open and revealing clothes and there is a strip club but you obviously can't go inside. The voice acting is top notch with Kevin Conroy reprising his role as Batman and Mark Hamill as the Joker. This game is packed with villains, from main story villains like Hugo Strange and the Joker to side mission villains like Bane and Deadshot. So if you were hoping for a villain in Arkham Asylum and they weren't in it they will probably be in this one. Also the character design is awesome like when batman's suit takes damage as the night progresses and the enemy characters designs are also really great. Overall this game is great. I would recommend buying the game of the year edition which comes with ALL of the downloadable content and there is alot to download like catwoman DLC nightwing and robin DLC challenge packs skins packs and the final chapter Harley Quinns revenge which is basically a short add-on to the story overall this is the best game ever with an unforgettable ending my only gripe about the game is that the final boss was a bit easy but still a great experience 10/10
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 10 years old June 19, 2013
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

wicked game

great game with a bit of fighting and blood but not to much. Occasional use of b***h and s**t but not that bad .play happily with my dad
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 14 years old Written bygamefreak123 June 17, 2013
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

Batman does it again!!

I have this game and me and my 8 year old brother help me beat it. The game isn't that bad in violence because batman doesn't kill people, he knocks them out. Catwomen, Poison Ivy, and Talia al Gaul show a lot of cleavage, there is smoking and drinking, also there is a building that says "Live Nudes" but you are not allowed into the building. I hope this helps!
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written byCraze55 May 5, 2013
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Batman Arkham City is a fantastic game that develops and even improves on the winning formula of Arkham Asylum. Though the game can be dark at times it isnt going to effect a kid older than 10

Great game with loyal to the comics villians
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Kid, 10 years old April 17, 2013
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

batman

good game quite dark and violent not for kids under 10
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 16 years old Written byRobotB9 April 6, 2013
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Great Game!

This game is fantastic. The violence isn't that bad, when you punch the enemies, no blood is shown. The only thing I would say is disturbing, Is the jokers messed up face, but even that is not bad. The language isn't anything that kids haven't heard before. There is no sex, but cabwomen, Harley, and ivy all have large amounts of cleavage shown, and ivy is wearing panties.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Kid, 11 years old March 29, 2013
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Brilliant, but Edgy

I've heard lots of people say this game needed an M rating, but I disagree. The language is slightly worse than Arkham Asylum, but the females' costumes aren't as bad as Ivy's in Arkham Asylum (but I have heard the word "porn" once). This game is very violent, though. But definitly not worse than Arkham Asylum. The drinking/smoking is just Inmates wanting beer and Penguin smoking a cigar. So, for violence it gets a 4/5, drinking/smoking 2/5, sex 3/5, and language 2/5.
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written byShayiscool February 15, 2013
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Maybye 13 but...

if you're kids are doing bad at school or if theres something you need to know and you're kids won't tell you why then take it away unit they start being good it might just be for a little bit older people!
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 12 years old February 2, 2013
AGE
14
QUALITY
 
LEARNING

An awesome game with some iffy content

Let me just say something; THIS GAME ROCKS! This is easiy the best licsensed game ever made, and I would go even as far as to say its my favorite game of all time. But some parents may not want their kids playing this game, and I acknowlage that. This game has its creepy ang gruesome moments, but the biggest thing they should be worried about is the language. It says 'mild language' on the back of the box, which is wierd because of how frequant it is. B*tch is said about a million times, along with B*stard, A*s, Hell, and crap in multiple vairiations. Even though this may seem extreme to you, this is less than what a fith grader hears every day. Violence is a big one too. Though the combat does look brutal, there is no blood or gore shown. The cutscenes, however, are a different story. A key villian is stabed through the stomach with a sword, and a blotch of blood forms around the wound. Players can hear Penguin talk about freezing his hostage's fingers then smashing them. Talk of violent and gruesome things continues throughout the game. Players see dead bodies riddled all over Arkham City, some with their faces cut off. Inmates whack you with bats, shoot at you, and slice you with knives. It just goes on and on. Batman dosent kill anyone, because of his code, so parents might find him somewhat of a good role model. Some parents may find that the game has some suggestive sexual content, but I dont think its that bad. Sure, Catwoman, Poisen Ivy, and Harley Quinn wear tight fitting reavealing clothing, but its nothing worse than what you see at the beach. But, if players are patient enough, they can hear inmates talking about some suggestive content. An inmate commented on 'going for porn' and some other innuedo. Also, some inmates talk about wanting a beer, but I dont see anything wrong with that. I'm positive that you've taken your kid to a resturant and ordered a beer, so this referance isnt even worth putting it down. I recommend this game to 14 year olds and mature 13 year old. Just remember guys, YOLO!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Kid, 12 years old February 1, 2013
AGE
10
QUALITY
 
LEARNING

Fine for kids

It is a great game, there is violence but it is just punching and kicking. While there is blood and language, it isn't noticeable. Great game makes you think, amazing storyline, and good graphics.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking

Pages