All member reviews for Big Brain Academy

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Kids say

(out of 27 reviews)
AGE
6
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Kid, 9 years old April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 
Kid, 9 years old April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 
Teen, 14 years old Written bysamta88 April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 
Teen, 13 years old Written byDittyKitty March 22, 2014
AGE
9
QUALITY
 
LEARNING

Wow!

I used to play this game when I was really young with my brother. It was hard to understand. I played it again when I was older and it was great! For a kid who's just learning how to do math and all that, it might not be the best. Some of the games are difficult to understand without reading the instructions, and some kids just skip right through them! For younger kids, you want to play it with them and use it as a learning tool. Older kids? It's just a fun, and is great brain training!
What other families should know
Great messages
Teen, 15 years old Written byRaylazor December 11, 2013
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

Money goes a CERTAIN distance.

The game provides multiple ways to exercise a child's mind and is well worth it's $20 (Or regional equivalent.) Constantly encouraging your child to work harder. However after killing a few hours on it, there will be no variety. You're talking about ~15 mini games for $20. Worth the educational profit, but isn't any actual 'real game' The online system is outdated by constant console evolution, if the game is limited to a certain range of play, consider that Multiplayer will NEVER be used.
What other families should know
Great role models
Easy to play/use
Teen, 13 years old Written bySpielberg00 July 28, 2011
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

Way better than the Wii version.

My rating: E
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Too much consumerism
Teen, 13 years old Written byZaphrodite September 4, 2010
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

Not Good for Young Kidds

Little kids won't have fun at all, pero if you're older, you will really enjoy seeing who has "the larger brain."
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Kid, 11 years old August 14, 2010
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

Not much to do...

This game has WAY too little minigames! I got through everything in less than 30 minutes and then got bored and put it away! i was NOT satisfied with this product. right when i thought i was doing well that guy gave me a bronze medal. it would've been more fun if there were more minigames and more things to do.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 11 years old June 5, 2010
AGE
10
QUALITY
 
I did not enjoy this game. Dr. Lobe is very annoying when he grades your brain and says "Hm... I've seen bigger, much bigger" The game is fast, in fact a little to fast. The reason I gave this game a 10+ is not that it is bad it is just that it may annoy younger players. Also it has A LOT of FAST math like : coin adding, +,-,x,dividing number words, adding cubes,and pictures.
What other families should know
Educational value
Teen, 13 years old Written byali12 August 30, 2009
AGE
7
QUALITY
 
It's not sequel or prequel to aything. The game instructions are not clear.
What other families should know
Educational value
Teen, 13 years old Written byvsquadcheer July 24, 2009
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

a classic

for both the wii and DS, this game rocks! very fun to play. i cant really say which ones better... it should definatly b in everyones home comment about review: come AWNN! its not the sequel to brain age...maybe you start playing these games more often...just saying! ;)
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Kid, 10 years old June 1, 2009
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

good games

good for your kids for a summer
Kid, 11 years old December 30, 2008
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

It's not too bad...

You just have to get used to it.
Kid, 12 years old April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 
Kid, 10 years old April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 
Kid, 12 years old April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 
Teen, 14 years old Written bythat_one_guy726 April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

Brilliant!

I love the way they presented this way! It's better than Brain Age. There's more variety and better multiplayer. The graphics are interesting...in a good way! It's much more challenging to make you're way to the top than Brain Age was. I like a challenge though!
Teen, 14 years old Written byHalekulani April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

Meh

It's, for lack of a more blunt word, good, but it does get boring after a while. Right now, in the test, I have a C+. & not getting higher.
Kid, 12 years old April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 
Kid, 12 years old April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

This is the most fun I had since Brain Age!

Pages