All member reviews for Call of Duty: Black Ops II

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

Extremely violent military shooter with profanity, drugs.

Age(i)

NOT FOR KIDS

Quality(i)

 

Learning(i)

Users say

(out of 300 reviews)
AGE
12
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Adult Written bychartedfan312 November 14, 2012
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

The Whole Story

As usual Common Sense Media is only telling you half of the story. Just as in the original Black ops, you have the choice when you start the game to disable the graphic content. I have played about 2 or 3 hours of the campaign (on the PS3) and have not heard a single cuss word. The graphic content reducer is not only censoring the worst words but all of the cuss words. However it does do this a lot which tells you that if you were playing the normal way the language would be very bad. The graphic content reducer also greatly reduces the blood and violence. There are certain parts of the game where the screen actually goes black in order to hide the violence. I have played both off and online and have yet to hear a cuss word. Now, of cource, if you don't mute the other online players then you are likely to hear some cursing, but muting them is easier than ever. Just go over to the list of players and press the square button and select MUTE ALL EXCEPT FOR PARTY (You may have to be over your own name to do this. I'm not sure.). I haven't played the zombie part of the game yet but I expect that it will be censored in the same way as the campaign. Also, I should note that I haven't played enough of the game to know what the suggestive themes are about, but Uncharted 2 had the same 3 dot rating for sex and it wasn't very bad (the kind of sutff you see on basic tv.) However I may write another review after I have played more of the game. Oh yeah, and by the way, I really love the game so far.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Parent Written byCuties195 December 11, 2012
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

CSM isn't telling you everything (like usual)

I have an 11 year old son who is restricted from playing M rated games. When my son asked for this for his upcoming 12th birthday, I said no, and he said, "But everyone else plays it. You can turn of the Gore and language!". So I came here and saw that CSM rated Black Ops 2 NOT FOR KIDS, but then I saw the other parents who said they didn't agree with CSM. So I did my reasearch, and saw that you CAN turn off the Gore and language. A little unsure, I bought the game and gave it to my son. We let him play it, but we had to watch to see if our son could play it. To be completely honest, with Gore and langauge off, it could easily be rated T. So for all you mothers who have your pre-teens or teenagers asking you for this game, buy it! It's perfectly fine!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Parent Written byjohn316 November 19, 2012
AGE
12
QUALITY
 
LEARNING

awesome game

most games have no way to filter content, but this one has that and gets rid of all language.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 16 years old Written bySealith November 19, 2012
AGE
14
QUALITY
 
LEARNING

An Experienced Revier

Now before anyone runs away from this review because it's coming from a teenager, I must remind everyone that I have one of the highest (and the most detailed) review on this game's predecessor "Modern Warfare 3". The votes on it are: "Helped me decide (52) | Had useful details (51) | Read my mind (43)". So now that's out of the way, I'll begin. TreyArch has a reputation in the Call of Duty franchise for making amazing games and threatens to outdo Infinity Ward's original dominance of the series. This is their third installment in the franchise including "World at War" (Call of Duty 5) and "Black Ops (One)" (Call of Duty 7). TreyArch is also known for following their customer's very closely and giving the, what they want. They hit the nail on the head when it came to this installment. Not only did they reconstruct the multiplayer to give it a new feel that old fans have been waiting for since the 4th installment, they also created a great campaign, something Call of Duty is not known for, and a greatly entertaining zombie section of the game. When it comes to the campaign though, TreyArch also has a history of creating the most brutal ones. I get the bad part out first. The Black Ops II campaign is like any other TreyArch one. Ridiculously brutal. When reviewing Modern Warfare 3, I mentioned that it belongs in the lower section of the M rating, saying it barely met the requirements for it. Black Ops II on the other hand fits into the M rating quite comfortable. I'm not saying it's inching towards the AO (Adults Only) range at all, but it is definitely where it belongs. Not only is the violence and profanity rather high, but the emotion and choices that TreyArch put in (and forces you to make) can add onto the intensity. But like I said earlier, this is the bad part. TreyArch also understands its "less-than-bloodthirsty" crowd is part of its sales, so they added a way to turn off the gore and profanity. One settings switch and your suddenly very close to having yourself a T-rated game. Players will still have to witness civilian deaths (as they happen, while in Modern Warfare 3 98% of civilian deaths were off screen). You do get to kill these murders shortly after the firing begins though. All in all keep in mind that the Black Ops II can be toned down, but is still barely worthy of that M-rating. When it comes to multiplayer, Call of Duty is nothing short of famous (at least to the gamer world). After eight years of perfecting its technique, the series has been able to go under yet another transformation that makes it the game it is today. TreyArch listened to consumers and created a game based mostly on their complaints about previous games. The multiplayer in Black Ops II is nothing short of awesome (again), although it still has some issues that no programmer can rid of yet. This is the rather illiterate (and young) community that has revolved around this series. The result is little twelve year olds cussing each other out. Don't worry though. In game and post/pre game settings allows you to mute anyone you're playing with. The main child anyone should be facing is the shear amount of pros that will be on this game that could easily rip them apart in any game mode. TreyArch saves us again however with combat training, which lets you play easier (and progressively harder bots if you wish) in multiplayer simulated matches with real objectives. The newly installed league play also groups newbies with newbies and pros with pros, ensuring fair and exciting play every game. Now onto the last aspect of Black Ops II that no one could have expected four years ago. The zombies mode was introduced into World at War as a little bonus for beating the game. The response to the game mode was so powerful and positive that Black Ops (One) expanded on the mode and Black Ops II has now made it a full blown new game mode with dozens of additions that I couldn't possibly name. When it comes to the part parents are concerned about, you are killing any people in this game, but you kill zombies that look like people...sort of. The main issue is that blood is rampant throughout the game (your killing hundreds and even thousands of infected zombies with unbelievable firepower). While this could be a great team building game for friends (its now up to 8 players), online play proposes the same problems as multiplayer. Just mute those people if needed. The zombies mode is purely for entertainment, and I must say, it is EXTREMELY entertaining. What people should know is that TreyArch know how to sell to a wide audience. They know parents won't buy games that are super violent, so they gave options to tone it waaaay down, and nearly every disturbing instance can be covered. The only reality of the game that you can't change is that it's people shooting other people (although that's not even true either in zombies.) Another note is that I didn't mark drugs since the amount of drug use seen in this game is seen in every day life. Thanks for reading!
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Safety and privacy concerns
Teen, 13 years old Written bySpencin8r November 15, 2012
AGE
12
QUALITY
 
LEARNING

Black Ops 2

This game may not be the most educational,least violent,or even least scary game out there but parents shouldn't give up on it quite yet. First off, all gore can be turned off, secondly I honestly think the gore can be left on for someone 12 and older. It teaches kids the brutality of war and can be a real wake up call. Plus it has a great campaign, totally unrealistic zombie gore, and multiplayer where you can connect with friends and people across the globe. Definitely great for someone 12 and up!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Parent Written byEatMoreVeg February 23, 2013
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

Seriously?

I cannot believe parents give even the thought of letting their children play this game. While it's true gore can be turned off, any child who knows how to use a console can just turn it back on. Simple as that. But gore isn't the issue. The issue is that you're behind a gun pulling a trigger to end a person's life. It goes without saying that this is not educational. Let me state that this doesn't show war. The soldiers are always "good guys" while the stereotypical "bad guys" are Arabs, South Americans, African-American Warlords, ect. War is shown as a fun game. Why would you brainwash your kids with this idea?
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Safety and privacy concerns
Parent Written byTaCTiCaLxReFLeX November 17, 2012
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Quick, and to the point

language can be turned off along with blood....I dont even know why this game is rated for sexual themes, there is really nothing, all there is are a few girls dressed mildly suggestively.....i could see worse by just visiting the local mall. the game is fine for kids 12 an up
What other families should know
Too much violence
Educator and Parent Written byMalice_Alyce September 9, 2013
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

NOT for children of ANY age !

I can't believe any parent would allow their child to play COD online, especially with a microphone/headset. If you are, either you have no clue what your child is being exposed to, or you don't care. Changing the graphics settings to avoid the gore (which isn't much to begin with) is fine if you prefer that for your child, but there is pretty much NO WAY you can avoid having your child view the cartoonish "player art" of (very graphic - dripping female genitals for instance) pornography, racist/sexist/religious intolerance displays of users "Playercards" or to mute every player during every minute of every game online. Your child would have to constantly press the mute button each time a player joins the game/lobby (a player quits and a new player will take their place), which I doubt they will do (maybe only when you are in the room or can hear what's being said). The amount of filth, name-calling, harassment and just out-right mean comments by other players (even toward young children, as they have no shame) is not something that a child should be subjected to. NO CHILD should ever be permitted to communicate with strangers online without a parent hearing what is being said at all times. Would you throw your child into a room with a group of 16-30 (on average) year old strangers and let him/her talk to them? It's no different. I am an avid COD player. I play on a daily basis and have for a long time now. This game is for adults, not children. The online environment is hostile and not appropriate for children. I would not even approve of my 16 year old being subjected to the language and the graphic displays of racism, porn (MANY drawings of penises entering vaginas, oral sex, dripping genitals, "fisting", "scat", etc.), religious intolerance, hate messages, etc. that are openly displayed on COD online. Any parent who has bought this game for their child needs (their head examined) to spend a few hours every day for about a week online talking to other players and you will find out just what it is that I'm talking about. I can't imagine why any decent adult would subject a child to this type of behavior willingly. I have come across children as young as 8 years old playing this game with adults and communicating with them, telling where they live, their name, etc. and that is unacceptable, let alone how adults have called children names, made comments about how their mother is a whore, how they perform oral sex on their father, etc. Studies have shown that children who have been exposed to violent video games show tendencies of a "lack of apathy towards others and express more aggression". It's no wonder. I have my credentials in early childhood education, a degree in criminal justice, I am a former law enforcement officer, I am a parent/grandmother, and an avid gamer. The game is fun for adults, but not for children. Play it yourself, or you can ask any mature adult (with some morals) who plays the game about what is said/seen in this game. If you bought this game for your child and you're permitting them to play online and interact with strangers ...you're out of your mind.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Safety and privacy concerns
Teen, 15 years old Written bygoogle321 January 8, 2013
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Black ops 2

Black ops 2 is a fantastic game. It's is set in 2025 and in some levels you'll flash back into the shoes of Alex Mason (from the first game). Common Sense media has failed to inform you that you can turn off all blood and gore and the worst of the inappropriate language. The game online can drastically change by how much fun you have for instance some people may swear online or you may die repeatedly but the swearing can be stopped by muting that player if you don't like playing with random people online you can set up a private match or just play split screen with someone at home. Zombie mode is only slightly bad even with the blood turned off you will face zombie hordes with blood on their faces scratches and gashes all over them and the mode also supports horror themes.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Safety and privacy concerns
Adult Written byjoshua martinez November 24, 2012
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

not for kids.

this second installment from the previous story from call of duty black ops 1 call of duty black ops 2 is a good awesome first person shooting game but only for adults and parents you need to take extreme caution about even letting your kids playing this game this game has a lot of bloody intense violence like no other plus there are disturbing Cinematic scene sequences where they show more dramatic deaths, including graphic melee kills, people burning to death, civilians killed in crossfire, torture, and a shipping container filled with rotting corpses expect non-stop constant strong language used throughout the story there's also some drinking and smoking used.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 16 years old Written byCato Hadley November 14, 2012
AGE
10
QUALITY
 
LEARNING

Black OPS

It is a war game, it is intertaining can keep you busy for hours! I rate you play it only if you like war games and to watch blood splatter out of Zombies!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 17 years old Written byguitarmaster13 December 8, 2012
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Not That Bad

right it Call Of Duty so it is going to be violent but the swearing and Blood can be turned of when you start so its no different to battlefield i'm 12 and after renting this from blockbuster my Dad let me buy it I am not an only child and I have a 7 year old brother so this was a big aspect of why i wasn't allowed cod but when i got it my brother didn't have a problem with it and found it fun watching me play zombies. thanks for reading this.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Safety and privacy concerns
Parent of a 10 year old Written bylittlereviewer12345 June 30, 2013
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

My son aged 10 loves it!

My son, aged 10, loves it! But I got it for him on one condition.........He spends a certain amount of time on it and only at weekends, he is happy with that, it is based around a war in the future. My son also enjoys playing online with friends, check online servers before letting your child play on them though. It has taught my son about the war and how horrible it is. I would say for 10 & up.
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Parent of a 1 year old Written byESRB_IS_OVERATED February 2, 2013
AGE
10
QUALITY
 
LEARNING

YOU CAN TURN OFF BLOOD AND GORE AND ALL OTHER DISTURBING CONTENT

Ok so esrb says blood gore and arms flying off but here is the thing at the beginning of the game it says do you want to see disturbing content say no and all bloods gone in zombies,multiplayer,and campaign. Also is blurs out violent cutscenes and most the time serious foul words are replaced with different words. In my opinion totally ok for Tweens but 9 and ten is cutting it.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent Written byMattJakobs December 2, 2012
AGE
14
QUALITY
 
LEARNING

Why parents should let 14 years and above play Call of Duty: Black Ops 2

I am a 45 year old husband my wife is 43 and we have 3 sons who are 22, 17 and 14 my youngest son who turned 14 in November keeps asking if he could get this game because of most of his friends are playing it and both his brothers are. We thought there could be an issue because of the language and he might repeat it but you here it all over and the violence could be bad. We let him have so he could prove himself he has been amazing with it you can mute other people on the multiplayer if they swear which the majority don't and surprisingly there is not much violence compared to other games his brothers play. He hasn't changed his attitude he helps out with the dishes still and he does his homework straight away when he gets in, his attitude has improved since we got him this game. But the main thing we have all seen is his confidence has gone up, he goes to clubs in school which is amazing because he was a shy boy and didn't try much before but speaking to his friends on x box and Call of Duty. There is violence but it is teaching kids that war can be dangerous. If any of your kids are aged 14-17 i would let them play on it because making them happy is the best thing in life.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Parent of a 13 year old Written byIlovemychildren12345 December 19, 2012
AGE
13
QUALITY
 
LEARNING

A great game for your child 13 or older!!

It is a great game for kids the age of thirteen I just bought it for my son and he has been more obedient has listened better and has even improved his grades. You can also turn off the blood and gore and language. The only thing you should avoid is the campaign it is to violent unless your at least 14
Parent Written byCaringparent1234 December 2, 2012
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Black ops 2 good for kids?

It can be bad at some times but its mostly just the campaign you should watch out for.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent Written bysarah456 April 22, 2013
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

ATTENTION PARENTS WHO WON'T LET THEIR CHILD GET THE GAME.

Now, I am really against human on human violence games so at first when my kids begged for the game i said no. I thought the game would be to violent for my 13 year old, but it is as violent if not less violent than most PG-13 movies. When you shoot a man down they just fall over with very little blood, which is less intense than some other games my son has, like Halo. The only reason I let my son get halo is because you are only shooting aliens for most of the time. But compared to Call of Duty, Halo more extreme (with gore turned off), like in halo you can come up behind an alien and do some vicious stabbing move to kill it. Plus in call of duty, its so face paced you can barely tell exactly what it is you're shooting at! And last but not least, when I finally let my son get it I watched him play with his friends and they were having such a great time I decided to try it, and its really fun! So if you were like me and didn't let your kid/kids get it because of human on human violence but you let your child watch PG-13 movies and allow him to play other M-rated games (Halo), you should definitely rethink your decision.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Parent of a 8 and 12 year old Written byzmanrox February 10, 2013
AGE
11
QUALITY
 
LEARNING

FILTERED

wow commonsense media, tell them about the filter. it turns off the blood & language. honestly, the blood isnt even that bad( unless using sword). it also sensors out ALL cuss words. furthermore, if ur kid plays multi player more than single player it becomes on for kids 9 & up. also it teaches u that war is very bad, and one mission( in single player campaign) is about noreaga. on for kids 12 and up.
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Parent of a 12 year old Written byThe Master0404 November 26, 2012
AGE
14
QUALITY
 
LEARNING

Black Ops= Good for learning

Teaches Mature Teens about the ruth of war.
What other families should know
Safety and privacy concerns

Pages