All member reviews for Call of Duty: Black Ops II

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging, great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging, good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging, good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging, okay learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Kids say

(out of 224 reviews)
AGE
12
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Teen, 17 years old Written byCool_Reviews February 1, 2014
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

Great job CoD.

You have to love Call of Duty, it's such an awesome game series. This is one of the best CoD games. It's so much fun. If you are a CoD fan (like me), you have to buy this game.
Kid, 12 years old January 14, 2014
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Not as bad as you think

This game is not Bad as you think. Its like watching star wars the cursing does not matter. Kids at this age hear worse at school. The violence is not bad. All you do shoot one guy he falls down. There is barely any blood. This age is the Call of Duty age.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Kid, 11 years old January 12, 2014
AGE
16
QUALITY
 

My favorite Call Of Duty game!

This game is really fun and has really cool missions, but has lots of bloody violence and swearing. Any body 15 or 16 and up will love this game, though.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written bydmendelsohn8 January 7, 2014
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

THIS GAME IS A BEAST

THIS GAME WAS AWESOME AND THIS IS WHAT MADE ME BUY MORE CALL OF DUTIES.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Safety and privacy concerns
Kid, 11 years old January 4, 2014
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Clarifying "No Sexual Content" in BO2

I have beaten Black Ops 2, and it is one of the best CoD games. It is very, very violent. Lots of gore, and the language is very mature. I think it is unnecessary for Frank Woods (character) to drop F-bomb after F-bomb. Instead of saying, he f***ing killed a man! He could have said, he killed a man. Simple as that. I have read parent comments, and they say "there is no sexual content and I don't know what the suggestive themes is all about." I for one, know what it is. In BO 2, there is a scene where you are on a very rich resort, and you are told the target, "Karma" is on the dance floor with your friend. Your friend is convincing her to come with him because bad thing will happen, and you need to convince her as well to come. You walk through a bar, and people drink, and smoke. The Suggestive Themes comes in when if you look over at the wall, you will see a woman pole dancing. But, you can't see anything... The pole is golden, she is golden, it is like a golden hologram on the wall. That is all. You can turn off language and gore, and the. It is fine.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 17 years old Written byPoopMagee January 3, 2014
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Turn off Graphic Content to make the game more stupid, and a tiny bit less fun.

(See bottom for Graphic Content filter) Call of Duty Black Ops II is a game you may have already bought for your kid, but I'm here to lay down the facts about the game's content. This is an obvious sequel to the first Black Ops, as player switch between old friends and faces, to the new soldiers of 2025. Players use sniper rifles, assault rifles, shotguns, and pistols. Large blood splatter is seen when enemies are shot, and enemies can be dismembered by shotguns, revolvers, and explosives. In the single-player, players can make choices revolving around the story. Which can lead to characters dying, surviving, or certain events to happen. There are a handful of violent scenes to go over, so I will. A bound, returning villain is shot in the head, followed by A knife being twisted around in his hand, another bound soldiers knee caps shot off with a shotgun, an the players knee caps shot off as well. A villains brains blown out in a bloody, satisfying scene, a container filled with rotted bodies, surrounded in blood, an ally's brains blown out by the player in an undercover scene, a scene where the player briefly takes control of a villain, and has the choice to either shoot the commander in the leg, or the head with a revolver, another very prolonged scene were you take control of the villain, you stab an "enemy" 3 times in the neck with a shard of glass, and are free to cut off heads and limbs with a machete, as well as wield a shotgun. Only during this scene the player can kill civilians without penalty. In another optional level, your allies deploy tear gas on Yemeni civilians. In a brief scene, Silhouettes of strippers are displayed on the walls. In yet another scene, a villain shoots a female civilian point blank in the head. Some environments depict bloody civilian bodies on the ground. In another sequence of a level, the player enters a cartel in Nicaragua, and cocaine is visible on table, and can cover the players screen if shot. And in an ending scene a characters throat is slit in a retirement home. Drug use is also briefly depicted in a cutscene(one to two seconds.) In yet one more semi-short scene, in the beginning of the game, a soldier is seen burned alive in the back of a truck. Language such as "f**k" "sh*t" "c*cksucker" and less sever words are heard in the dialogue. Though there is an option players can toggle in the options menu: Graphic Content. Disabling graphic content will exclude the following: Blood and Gore(Blood is still visible in some enviroments) Almost every single cuss word. Drug USAGE Gore in the kneecap scene, and every violent scene I talked about.(except for the head or leg scene, no blood depicted) Stripper Silhouettes Note the cussing in Zombies is only severely decreased, but not absent, and voice chat can be disabled or enabled. Voice chat meaning real people can talk to others and say whatever they want uncensored. Talk with your kid.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 10 years old January 1, 2014
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

COD BO 2

I think a 14 yr old can play it as long as they understand that violence is not fun! NOT FOR TWEENS!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Safety and privacy concerns
Kid, 11 years old December 27, 2013
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

Really fun game

the game is great! It is like any fps. It has blood and guns. 1 thing I did not like was when i was playing story mode i shot a guy's head off and his arm. Most of the call of duty games do not have gore but this one did
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Safety and privacy concerns
Kid, 12 years old December 26, 2013
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

The Zombies is not for kids

This game has intense scenes of blood and gore it is fine for the teen who plays violent video games. nuff said about campaign. the zombies is what you need to worry about the violence is bad with heads and limbs getting blown off with the gruesome thing crawling on the floor with an undying taste for human flesh. the fear impact is what you need to worry about with hordes of undead surrounding you and no hope for a cure or escape this will inspire GREAT fear into hearts of kids with the worst outcome becoming a child coming down at night with relentless nightmares of zombies eating their bones.... NOT FOR KIDS
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Safety and privacy concerns
Teen, 13 years old Written bystealthbomb3r9 December 19, 2013
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Very Good

Violence, but overall VERY fun and addicting. Played it for 7 hours.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 11 years old December 9, 2013
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

Great game

Awesome game
Kid, 11 years old December 3, 2013
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

This is a great game for your kid, and it isn't bad for him/her

Every single Call of Duty game that I have played so far has been great, this one especially. Yes, there is violence, yes, there is cussing, and yes, there is blood. But that can all be turned off with the click of a button. I have played this game many times, campaign, multiplayer, zombies, you name it. It is not bad for your kid. It all depends on YOUR kid. He does have to be mature and not take everything they do in this game and put it into real life.I know when you play the game you are killing people, but it's to defend your country. Plus it's really fun. But just trust me. I play this game and many others like this all the time, and they are perfectly fine. I think you should buy this for your kid and not let it control his life, set a limit for how long he/she plays it if you want. Thank you.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written byManlyCeo December 1, 2013
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Got to be kidding me

I started playing call of duty at age 10 its not a bad game at all the only problem coming from this game is your kid getting addicted to it this is probably the least inappropriate M rated game it's an excellent starter game for kids who have never had any M rated games personally I think it should be rated T for teen and I wouldn't get any call of duty for any console but the xbox or ps3
Teen, 14 years old Written byBradley Udziela November 28, 2013
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

good game

you can turn the graphic content off so there isn't much language or blood
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written byVoxel_Marine November 27, 2013
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Please reconsider

One thing that a lot of kids these days do is play video games. One of the more popular is Call of Duty: Black Ops 2. Some parents don't like this game because of language, violence, and people shooting other people. Today I will be talking about different reasons why we kids should be allowed to play. My dad doesn't like the language and humans shooting humans. The language is only in the campaign, which you don't need to play. In multiplayer, when someone dies, it's very animated. The blood just falls and you can turn it off; and the player just falls down. You don't really see their faces. You can call in missiles but all they do is just go boom. I think it's a really cool game, not for the shooting, but for how much you can customize your things. For all you parents out there reading this, please reconsider your choice of not letting your kid play this game. Maybe play it yourself once or twice, but at least consider it. Thank you for your time.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 14 years old Written byMaverick's Reviews November 24, 2013
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

Good Game not bad

Hey everyone if your a kid over 8 and your begging your parents for this game well you've came to the right reviewist. The game has one bad thing and that is shooting and smoking(but everyone knows what smoking is)! The game is a fps and action packed. This game gives your children a education about how wars occur and how tuf it is to be a soldier. When they go to school the wont be like I want to shoot guns and work for milatry because the ysee how hard it is and crule the captain treats you. The game says a bad word every 3 minutes but you can turn off the sound of that. this game is good for kids and very fun. BUY IT!! Ohh AND THERES NO SEX!!!!
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written bySpecial J November 24, 2013
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Know Where Your kid/teen is at.

The story line is very amazing, especially for a video game. It was written by the person who wrote The Dark Night Rises, David S. Goyer. However, there is violence, blood, gore, and language. Blood, gore, and language can be turned off through settings, language completely and blood & gore almost entirely. For certain parts the screen is pixelized or blacked out and voices pause until the cuss word is left out. The violence stays however, you are still shooting guns at computer people. However, if your kid is mature enough and knows the reasoning behind being a soldier and killing others, then it is fine. If your child is easily influenced by media, then the violence is something to be wary of. There is also some consumerism to be wary of. Treyarch offers map packs to buy for multiplayer that cost extra money. These bonuses allows the player to play on more "maps" in multiplayer mode. All in all, know who your kid is in maturity.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Teen, 15 years old Written byDibbleybop3730 November 23, 2013
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Call Of Duty Black Ops 2 Truth

call of duty black ops 2, its a fantastic game, and i dont know what common sense is talking about with the 3 dots for sex, i could see worse at the mall, and i have. the swearing and blood can be turned off by pressing a button, and without those, this game should be rated TEEN, the multiplayer has no swears, but the people playing it...they do. they can all be muted, or you can just turn down the volume. also, zombies, not bad at all im just gonna say that.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written byBulbasaurlover November 18, 2013
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Doesn't live up to predecessors, has some concerns.

Though not as good as earlier games in the series, Call of Duty: Black Ops II is a on - par game. Violence is an issue, with blood squirting out like in every shooter. The profane language is an issue, too, with most 4 letter words, and variants such as "C*cksucker." The language, violence and sexual materiel can be turned off, but, personally, it detracts from the experience. Unless you're reading with the subtitles on, the sentence may be broken up, because the audio cuts out around the swear word, and it not only cuts out the swear word, but some words surrounding it. There's a mission where you have to go through the antagonist's drug bunker, and you can shoot packages, and cocaine powder bursts out of it. It supports online voicechat, but you can choose to mute certain players.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Safety and privacy concerns
Kid, 8 years old November 15, 2013
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

Great game but too much language.

Great Call Of Duty game but a lot of bad language. But if the graphic content option is off it is for 13 and up. And I wish the graphic content button did not turn off the blood and gore.
What other families should know
Too much swearing

Pages