All member reviews for Call of Duty: Black Ops II

Common Sense Media says

Extremely violent military shooter with profanity, drugs.

Users say

(out of 349 reviews)
age 12+
Review this title!
Parent Written bymikai999 January 13, 2013

for 11 year olds

its cool and doesent have any sexual content.its more violent assassins creed.you can turn off the cussing.but on line people can say what ever they want.but you dont have to talk omline you can just talk with friends .you can turn off the blood
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Parent of a 13 year old Written byTracey1945 December 12, 2012

Not as violent as Common Sense says it is.

Chances are, whenever a new Call of Duty video game comes out, your child is going to beg for it. Even though Common Sense says that it is Not For Kids, this is one of the games that warrants an exception. Your child most likely wants this game for it's online multiplayer. I have watched my son play, and have played a little myself, and I can say that this is nothing worse than what children are exposed to by the media or at school. If your child has XBOX live or a playstation online account, you should get the game for them. If they don't have one, I don't think you should buy it. The campaign itself, which I don't think my son has played before is rather violent, but the gore can be turned off in the options menu. There is also a zombies mode, but the gore can be turned down on that as well.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 17 years old Written byHomerug November 17, 2012

IS BLACK OPS II RIGHT FOR YOUR KIDS

Call Of Duty:Black Ops II,Is A great game I love it But IF YOUR KID IS ON VIDEO GAMES ALL DAY i dont think this is a goo game for him and Theres NO SEX OR SEXUAL THEMES OR NUDITY There IS strong Language And violents And blood,Gore But i think only 11 or up should play this game but theres not sex or anything like that no killing random people [ENEMIES DONT COUNT] And its for people that arn't addicts to these things so mybe You should play it first OR :Prob look at other peoples revies
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Parent Written bymegastaraxe January 20, 2013

Here is the real review

Every time you shoot someone blood flys out of there body there are some graphic scenes like when menendaz stabs a solider in the neck with a glass shard when you shove a blade halfway threw someone's throat and also when you see someone burn alive if your kids have played past call of duty games then they can play this one there is very strong language from f--k to c--ksucker but if your kids have played other m games its nothing they haven't heard before and zombies mode is more scary than gory
What other families should know
Too much violence
Kid, 12 years old November 25, 2012

5 stars

C.O.D balck ops ll is for 11 year olds because it DOESN'T HAVE SEX OR DRUGS OR DRINKING. it only has smoking in 1/4 of the game. so i think its for 11 year olds. it does have blood and bad language but you can turn the blood of in settings and the bad language you should turn off the subtitles and mute the voice.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Safety and privacy concerns
Teen, 13 years old Written byThe Real reveiwer May 15, 2013

My first common sense angry rant

Are you seriously going to let a stupid website rule your kids? I mean really people If you ask me this site is full of bullcrap. I have played this game before and really it isn't as bad as they say, I mean its like they see the M on the cover and they say "op! Too bad Let's go make a few more thousand kids miserable. Maybe they should add a counter "How many kids hate us Now" Im beginning to doubt the fact that they actually play the game or if they just look at the content descriptors. Common sense editors if your reading this Maybe youll realise that you need to rethink things and let this site become a democracy and not a dictatorship. Or at least take input from people who have actually played the game. Thats all i have to say... For now
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Teen, 17 years old Written byShooter913 December 13, 2012

You can buy this game if you trust your son or daugther

Hi I am a 17 year old boy. I think Call of Duty Black ops 2 is not a bad games for kids. If you are free going parent like my father you can let your sons or daughters play. My youngest brother is 6 1/2 years old and he still plays Call of Duty Black ops Two on Xbox, any how we can turn of blood, gore, and swears in the parental controls of the game. It say that it has "SEX" in it but really doesn't for that I've seen. I would say go easy on your kids and buy them Call of Duty Black OPS 2 Note: Sometimes bribery and swear words will be said in the Online Gaming so yu can turn that off to :) :D DOCTOR 17 SHOOTER 913 :D
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Parent of a 12 year old Written byThe Master0404 November 26, 2012

Black Ops= Good for learning

Teaches Mature Teens about the ruth of war.
What other families should know
Safety and privacy concerns
Teen, 16 years old Written bysarcasticpeanutoil November 23, 2012

go to options

set graphic content to reduced. now everything the reviewer wqrned ypu about is gone!
Parent Written byMr.Scheawrsz June 21, 2013

NOOOO NO NO NO NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO

NOT FORKIDS TOOO MUUCCHH SEXXX AND VIOLENCE TOOO GORYRYYYYYY AND BLOOOOOOODYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYY
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Safety and privacy concerns
Parent of a 1 and 6 year old Written bybrettyd December 30, 2012

its a war game, what do you expect

for mature gamers! ok, most of these war games have an age rating on them, fair enough no-one takes notice of this , as previously stated this is a war game, so, expect war, this one has a bit of a sci-fi twist in the campaign mode too, you do have the option to turn off graphic content, so that is a good bonus, but at the end of the day, you are still a man on a mission armed with guns, grenades, booby traps etc, over all a great game, but not for kids, an as for the zombie add on, well maybe a 15? quite a spooky ambiance is created with the noises and graphics, could easily scare 13/14 year olds, talk to your kids about war and what they think it is all about and what it means, happy gaming, know your childs limits!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent Written byJoe Blockk May 10, 2013

Trust your child, but make sure they're responsible.

This is a truly great game. However, I think your child should be responsible when playing a game such as this. You shouldn't think that by playing this video game your child will grow up to be a murderer, I've often heard things like this. If your child is 11, this is probably a good age to play a game such as this, as long as they understand that killing is bad. I do, however, think that this game shows fighting in the war well, and helps them better grasp the concept. Other than that, there is no much educational benefit (aside from learning about various types of weapons). If your child is above 11, I think it is very acceptable for them to play this game. There is a zombie mode in this game, which isn't scary, but is more of an arcade-type game that can teach cooperation in multiplayer. If you do not want your child to talk with others, it is optional to mute all players. If your child has a friend who also plays this game, they can join together online and speak though. I don't think this game should be rated "M", many of the things listed on the back are at a minimum or barely even exist, so don't just tell your child "no" when they ask to get it. Overall, a fun game that many people enjoy, but does include weapons and guns, but they shouldn't be a major problem for your child. Do note that gore and/or language can be taken out if you are very uneasy about your child being exposed to it, but again, it shouldn't be a problem.
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Adult Written byWREN345 March 23, 2013

Blown Away

Amazing game for ages 8 and up! You can turn the bad language and blood off (common sense!) and then sit back and enjoy an amazing game for 8 and up
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Teen, 17 years old Written bySnudDatzEpic November 20, 2012

How bad is it?

Well lets start out by saying that this is not an educational game. I know you probably thought that it was, but let me tell you it isn't. There. Good to get that out of the way... Now lets start with violence. You can turn it off as a lot of other people have said. Single player has more gore (if you don't turn it off) than the multiplayer. It's brutal, kind of gross, and realistic. If you don't want that, turn it off. It isn't hard. The language is also censored with the filter. If you don't censor it, it is pretty excessive. The zombies mode is really gory (I'm not sure if you can turn that off). You don't have to play it though. The zombie mode isn't really themed on scaring the player to be honest. It isn't realistic (it's arcade-ish) and that's actually a good thing. It doesn't take itself seriously (the zombie mode). As for the overall, I like the game a lot. I'd suggest it for kids that can handle it. If they don't want it, there isn't any need to get them to want it. I'd suggest talking to kids about why they want it. Chances are it's cause their friends all have it. There's nothing wrong with doing the same thing as your friends, but this is teaching them to be susceptible to peer pressure. That kind of thinking can lead to a stupid consumer (or the AVERAGE consumer). Call of Duty relies on this kind of person. No, I'm not bashing the series, I like it. It's just that kids need to remember that when they buy something for their enjoyment (like a video game), that they need to buy it for THEIR enjoyment, and they need to make sure to get their 60 bucks worth. Thanks for reading.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Parent of a 12 and 13 year old Written byjarrto7 February 3, 2013

Good for most teens

This is an addicting game to play. There is all around violence, gore, and strong language in the game. This is from the undoubtedly biggest franchise in gaming so there is no way to keep your kids from begging you for it. There also is a setting to turn off language in campaign and zombies mode.
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 14 years old Written byalvinchimp January 6, 2013

fun game not as bad as they say

my favorite game i play it with brothers and friends and they all love it you can turn off blood and language. campaign is the most violent reccomended 14 and up multiplayer rocks love playin it with my dad zombies by far the best not that scary if you have played the original zombies you will learn that they were made in a lab and that the zombies are being controlled by a mad scientist guy not realistic at all overall reccomended 13 or 14 and up though my ten year old brother plays
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 13 years old Written byGenericUsername November 18, 2012

Seriously Common Sense!?

Once again, they over exaggerated when it come's to video games. To be honest, this game isn't that bad of what kid's will actually play. Kid's sometimes just skip the campaign because of it's bad past (plus you can censor the graphic content at the beginning of the game). I didn't play the game without graphic content, I didn't fell more violent, I didn't want to watch it. As for multiplayer, people swear, rage, scream, and troll (internet harassing, usually against someone that's taking the game to seriously). Just mute them, now you can mute all with one click. Blood is limited, there's like a splash of blood and they drop dead, nothing graphic As for zombies, it's actually the least violent mode, your killing zombies for one thing, splash of blood and there dead like multiplayer, and it's requires cooperation. Yes there's the online community issue again, but I've found them nicer in zombies because you require cooperation. Nothing too graphic except for campaign. So overall zombies is the least violent. Same with multiplayer.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Parent Written byProtecterMom January 15, 2014

GET IT!

Hi i am a protective mom and usually don't let my kids play m games. Halo and Call of Duty are fine and should be rated T. trust me get this for your kid. I recommend from 11 and up. This game is the least violent i have ever seen! There is hardly any! in the game you can also turn of the language and the blood. You never even see blood in this game. As you may now this game use to be rated T. But they wanted to be cool just like all the other cool m games. Some many more people buy this game just because it it M. but i assure you they only rate in that for show. There is no sex drugs and really no language in this. If you don't want your kids to hear language don't let them go to school. they probably hear the f word 20 times an hour. And you can turn it off in this game. And seriously if someone says this game is bad there talking about campaign mode which really no one plays. and again in campaign mode you can turn off language and violence so this game is really not bad. trust me buy it for your son or daughter. There is also good positive role motels and messages in this game. you know someday when you grow up you will probably need to go to war. and this game can teach you tactics and strategy. This also lets you talk to your friends and spend a good time talking and hanging out. trust me GET IT!
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Parent Written byTheRealReviewNow December 22, 2013

The Real Review of Call of Duty: Black Ops II

Hello other families you probably wondering if Call of Duty: Black Ops II is appropriate for your child .well to start off it is not as bad as common sense media says it is...the violence is not "Extremely Violent" and the blood is able to turn off along with the swearing if your cild is 10 and up this game should be appropriate
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much swearing
Parent Written bygodofwarqoota October 25, 2013

1oo out of 100

this game is the best game ever i love it the zombies are the best i brought it midnight realease i played zombies so much
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking

Pages