All member reviews for Call of Duty: Black Ops II

Common Sense Media says

Extremely violent military shooter with profanity, drugs.

Users say

(out of 349 reviews)
age 12+
Review this title!
Teen, 14 years old Written bypatrickmutch December 15, 2015

Great Game!

Black Ops 2 is a great game all around. It has great graphics, a great storyline about a father and son, and even sparks some emotions. As you may know, you can turn off "Graphic Content" in settings, which takes away all gore and language, and still gives you a great game experience. I would recommend this game, with Graphic Content off, to all kids 12+!
Adult Written byEllen Aged 11 December 9, 2015

Allow your 11+ child to have call of duty! ITS FINE!

Call Of Duty is a game which uses a lot of guns but... You can turn of the disturbing content like the language, blood and gore. Call Of Duty is a great game! I think 11 year olds with no anger issues and who don't swear should be allowed this game.
What other families should know
Easy to play/use
Adult Written byChase Cunitz December 8, 2015

Very good

i think they can be 10+ because it isnt bad if you do what your suposed to do
What other families should know
Great messages
Easy to play/use
Adult Written bythecraftycatgamers November 8, 2015

ok.

its not the best for kids but if time limits are set for under 1hour it will be a bit better for them
What other families should know
Easy to play/use
Too much violence
Teen, 13 years old Written byalaconyo26 November 1, 2015

It's really sad that some parents think that video game violence can have a bad influence on children.

VIDEOS GAMES CANT TEACH PEOPLE TO DO ANYTHING. This game as we all know by the front cover has guns on it and yes, there is lots of violence in this game. But it will certainly not teach children how to shoot a gun, reload a gun, or knife someone because the reality of it is that ITS A VIDEO GAME which means you are pressing colorful buttons on a controller that will simulate something on a TV SCREEN. Lots of people like to discriminate against and assign blame to video games because they have nothing else to. FOR THESE THINGS HAPPENING OUT ON THE STREET WHEN KIDS HAPPEN TO KILL, IT IS A SENSELESS TRAGEDY. Videogames do not have the mystical powers to turn a child until a killer but only society does... https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8kj3Zo3YMCw WATCH THAT VIDEO! ^^^ it does contain language played out by a character on youtube but does have a sensible point worth your time.
What other families should know
Easy to play/use
Teen, 13 years old Written byTheBigRooster October 30, 2015

Okay for kids 12 and up

Black Ops 2 is obviously a Mature rated first person shooter, and there are a few reasons why it is M. However, CSM is making the game sound way worse than it actually is, and they left out quite a bit. The first reason it is rated M is because you're behind a gun ending someone's life for fun. Second, because of the blood and gore, and third, because of the language. The blood, gore, and swearing can be removed with a filter, and most of the bad things are in the campaign, which is pretty graphic, but again, there is a filter. I personally don't use the filter because my parents swear, and if you shoot something, it's going to bleed. The least violent way to play is Multiplayer. With the filter on, you shoot an enemy and then they fall down. That's it. Without the filter it isn't that bad either; you see a cloud of digital blood for a second, and they fall over. The problem still stands that you're using a weapon to kill someone. It's your choice whether you or your kid is mature enough to know the difference between real life and a video game. After playing this game, not once have I had the thought to go out and kill somebody. I feel bad even killing flies, and the sight of real blood makes me sick. So it's your choice parents. I'm only here to help you make the decision. Is your kid mature enough to play?
What other families should know
Easy to play/use
Too much violence
Adult Written byJoshuaK 1 October 29, 2015

User Created Content means-Hardcore Pornography

I don't know if this applies to Xbox360, Wii, PC, or anything else (maybe it's worth looking into)...In the PS3 version if you play online, the players you are playing with are allowed to "draw" there own "emblems" they can draw whatever they want, and many on there are skilled in art, so what I see the majority of the time in online multiplayer is hardcore pornography emblems, yes not typical pornography, hardcore obscene pornography, probably the worst you can think of. For some reason the game company isn't doing a great job of moderating this to say the least, and technically the company isn't the one creating the content, but still. I'm older but I stopped playing this game because of that and bought a different first person shooter, it really is a shame, this game should have a very strong mature rating on PS3.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Teen, 15 years old Written byYolocrackers October 27, 2015
It has an option to turn of blood and coursing and I do understand it is and fps but really your mostly fighting bits and zombies in the campaign some racism is shown but unlike black ops one all races shown are fighting with and against you
What other families should know
Easy to play/use
Kid, 12 years old October 25, 2015

Can someone help me with this?

I'm a 12 year old kid and I've been asking my mom for this game. She said "no" but when I went to commonsensemedia.com, I found all of these good reviews that you can turn off the blood and language. I know this is true because I've played it at my friend's house before. I don't know if my mom believes me even though I'm really mature and I've gotten straight A's every quarter for 2 years in a row. The point of this is, can someone write an amazing review that will definitely convince my mom to let me get it? Thanks for your support if you do. This is also an amazing game that parents should let their kid buy.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Easy to play/use
Teen, 14 years old Written byMasterCommentator October 19, 2015

A usually misunderstood game

Okay, first I need to put a disclaimer. Please don't dismiss this review because it's by a teen. The biggest worry about parents is violence in the Call Of Duty series, specifically Treyarch's entries into the series, mainly because Treyarch is the developer who makes the darker entries, (storywise mainly) the story kicks off with a cutscene (as many shooters with campaigns will.) The game centers around two timelines, one in the 1980's and one in the near future. (around 20-30 years from now.) And what I find interesting about this story, is that both timelines interconnect. The people in those story lines are Alex Mason (1980) and David Mason (Future) There is violence found in the game, however you can disable mature content (Profanity, and Blood And Gore.) However if you do allow your child to play without that setting then there is blood, mostly red mist that comes out of enemies. Unless you use a high powered sniper rifle or shotgun, the sniper rifle is capable of taking off limbs (as well as heads) off without much trouble, same goes with the shotgun. However if you turn it off it's not possible to see. There is no sex included in the game (aside from 1 level where you go to a club and there are woman dancing suggestively and a teem mate makes a remark however it's nothing explicit. There is also one thing I feel obligated to mention. In one level you go to an underground base (1980's era) and you go to apprehend a drug dealer. In one section of the area, there are bags of what seem to be cocaine, there are enemies in the area and when you shoot, a white powder (likely cocaine.) goes in the air. However nothing happens.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written byEnglishPenguin October 17, 2015

Tactical Warfare similatror, requires skill, gile, and the abilty to not care if you die twenty two times in one game.

Black ops two is a excellent military first person shooter, unlike some where it takes several grenades to take out 1 person, a couple of bullets is a kill. The multiplayer experience is fantastic, though if you ever use gamechat with any one, 2/5 of the words they say are going to be R rated. The campaign was frankly horrible, an endless boring storyline full of F bombs (language and blood can be disabled) and gory cutscenes. So long as you stick with multiplayer and zombies, the game play is superb. Multiplayer is very fun, though it takes some getting used to since most players are old veterans. Zombies is also quite addicting, it presents a temptation to buy all the DLC's though. Overall if you disable gore the game is defiantly T rated.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Parent Written byShust28 September 8, 2015

It's not bad.

To everyone who said this game is 18+... It doesn't matter weather or not you turn off the gore and language, 75% your child around 12 years of age most likely knows all of the swear words in this game (F--k, s--t) and I've played the entire campaign, and there's only one scene in the beginning to be worried about for your child where someone is shown burning alive. They're body is just burnt and bloody, nothing your child can't handle if they aren't sickened by stuff like that. I'd say once your child hits puberty, then they are probably old enough to play.
Teen, 13 years old Written byCutekittylover316 August 23, 2015

Why is it good

In this game there is three diffrent modes. There is multiplayer,campaign and zombies. Lots of parents would look on the back and see it's rated m bc of blood and Gore,swearing,use of drugs and not so good scenes. All of this is true but it depends on the mode u want to play on. For example, multiplayer only has blood and Gore so basically if zombies and campaign weren't one of the modes the game would be for teens. But that isn't the case. Zombies isn't that bad. In zombies there is blood and Gore and sometimes arms or legs can fall off the zombie if u shoot or blow it up. But there is one map pack in zombies called buried. Now buried has this one girl zombie that kind of looks inappropriate bc she has a push up braw and u can see a little cleavage. Also there is beer in buried. The only time u can use the beer is when ur giving it to a big drunk guy named Leroy. He drinks the boos to knock down unlocked stuff. Also one of the players in the game named misty has a little cleavage showing but u can barley tell. In the game mode campaign there is lot of bad things . Campaign is the reason why the game is rated M,in campaign there is themes that aren't so good and there is use of drugs like cigarettes.campaign is so brutal so I would stay away from that game mode and there is swearing in campaign. BUT there is a way to TURN OFF BLOOD and GORE And SWEARING. U can go on options to mute the whole game and in the beginning there is a thing where it ask u if u want to see the blood and gore. I recommend multiplayer bc there is only blood and Gore which u can turn off in settings. So with out campaign and zombies the game could be rated t for teens. So parents I would let ur kids play multiplayer and zombies. Ps buried isn't that bad. I would check the game out as well.
What other families should know
Easy to play/use
Too much violence
Adult Written byanthonyr1 August 9, 2015

Under rated

I am 12 I have call of duty bo2 (black ops 2) because I had an option to turn off the language and gore off. This also works for MW3,black ops, MW2 an 1, ghost.
Teen, 13 years old Written bySuper Gojira 2001 August 3, 2015

Great and addicting game for kids!

BOII is a great game for kids. This game should of gotten an E10+. A 17+ rating is very extreme. The violence is tame. In multiplayer, you'r constantly running around the map, so you don't have too much time to look at the 5 oz. puddle of blood that disappears in 2 seconds. The swearing is as much as what your kids hear at school. Players with mics online can be muted. However if your kid is younger than 11, I wold not allow hm to have a mic. Little kids screaming about how they died in the game online can be very annoying. Overall great game for kids. Parents who think otherwise are out of touch with modern technology and reasonable thinking.
What other families should know
Easy to play/use
Adult Written byLuke Macia August 3, 2015

This game is to overrated

First let me start by saying that 13 and up is a good age. I am 11 years old and this game is great. The game mode with the most gore and blood is zombies. You can shoot a zombies head off and blood will keep squirting out of the neck. The multiplayer has the most cuss words but all game modes say some bad words. Their is apsiloutly no sexual content and their is some drugs and drinking. You can use a microphone and talk. I would recommend muting everyone because that is where you will hear most cuss words.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written bymatty7890 August 1, 2015

Good but violent game

This game is fun if kids understand the violence isn't real. It is not remotely educational but it is enjoyable.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 15 years old Written byJustRelax July 26, 2015

Really?

OK so before you say, "Its Rated M So It Has to be BAD" just read this, when you first start of just go to the pause menu and turn of the graphic content and BOOM, no blood of language. and honestly, I think CSM is over reacting saying that there's sexual references, I mean think about it, look at the cover and read the description, do you REALLY think there's going to be any sexual references in this, and finally drugs, thay may smoke a cigar once or MAYBE twice but no real DRUGS, Just take it from me because I beat the game 3 times,
What other families should know
Too much violence
Adult Written byJohn Halsey July 16, 2015

CSM didn't look into this game enough.

CSM obviously did not explore all of the features of this game. If your kid uses no settings to play this game, then it should be M and don't let them play it. But you can turn off blood AND language with the Graphic Settings and before you start the game it will ask if you want to remove graphic content, like blood. It also cuts out violent scenes with darkness. With all of this taken out, the game deserves a spot in the T rated section. Just make sure your kid has adjusted to these settings. Like I said, CSM really did not explore the options on this. This can all be taken out with a few button clicks. Plus, it can lead to some great family times. My whole family (2 sons, and a wife) all love playing Zombies together. And their grades have gotten better and they've become more responsible if you put down guidelines on the game. Treyarch, thanks for giving us family fun and getting our kids to do better in school. Common Sense Media, I said it twice in this review but, you really need to revise this, making me go through all this trouble because I believed you guys when you said it. I rate this for kids 13+ because when adjusted, it fits as a T game, and it is the age of my sons.
What other families should know
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written byJohn Halsey July 16, 2015

CSM didn't look into this game enough.

CSM obviously did not explore all of the features of this game. If your kid uses no settings to play this game, then it should be M and don't let them play it. But you can turn off blood AND language with the Graphic Settings and before you start the game it will ask if you want to remove graphic content, like blood. It also cuts out violent scenes with darkness. With all of this taken out, the game deserves a spot in the T rated section. Just make sure your kid has adjusted to these settings. Like I said, CSM really did not explore the options on this. This can all be taken out with a few button clicks. Plus, it can lead to some great family times. My whole family (2 sons, and a wife) all love playing Zombies together. And their grades have gotten better and they've become more responsible if you put down guidelines on the game. Treyarch, thanks for giving us family fun and getting our kids to do better in school. Common Sense Media, I said it twice in this review but, you really need to revise this, making me go through all this trouble because I believed you guys when you said it. I rate this for kids 13+ because when adjusted, it fits as a T game, and it is the age of my sons.

Pages