All member reviews for Call of Duty: Black Ops II

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

Extremely violent military shooter with profanity, drugs.

Age(i)

NOT FOR KIDS

Quality(i)

 

Learning(i)

Users say

(out of 293 reviews)
AGE
12
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Teen, 13 years old Written byManlyCeo December 1, 2013
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Got to be kidding me

I started playing call of duty at age 10 its not a bad game at all the only problem coming from this game is your kid getting addicted to it this is probably the least inappropriate M rated game it's an excellent starter game for kids who have never had any M rated games personally I think it should be rated T for teen and I wouldn't get any call of duty for any console but the xbox or ps3
Parent Written byjim madison November 28, 2013
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

call of duty for 12 and up

it is OK ya it is violent and some sexy girls but it is a good game and fun
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 14 years old Written byBradley Udziela November 28, 2013
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

good game

you can turn the graphic content off so there isn't much language or blood
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written byVoxel_Marine November 27, 2013
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Please reconsider

One thing that a lot of kids these days do is play video games. One of the more popular is Call of Duty: Black Ops 2. Some parents don't like this game because of language, violence, and people shooting other people. Today I will be talking about different reasons why we kids should be allowed to play. My dad doesn't like the language and humans shooting humans. The language is only in the campaign, which you don't need to play. In multiplayer, when someone dies, it's very animated. The blood just falls and you can turn it off; and the player just falls down. You don't really see their faces. You can call in missiles but all they do is just go boom. I think it's a really cool game, not for the shooting, but for how much you can customize your things. For all you parents out there reading this, please reconsider your choice of not letting your kid play this game. Maybe play it yourself once or twice, but at least consider it. Thank you for your time.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 14 years old Written byMaverick's Reviews November 24, 2013
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

Good Game not bad

Hey everyone if your a kid over 8 and your begging your parents for this game well you've came to the right reviewist. The game has one bad thing and that is shooting and smoking(but everyone knows what smoking is)! The game is a fps and action packed. This game gives your children a education about how wars occur and how tuf it is to be a soldier. When they go to school the wont be like I want to shoot guns and work for milatry because the ysee how hard it is and crule the captain treats you. The game says a bad word every 3 minutes but you can turn off the sound of that. this game is good for kids and very fun. BUY IT!! Ohh AND THERES NO SEX!!!!
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written bySpecial J November 24, 2013
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Know Where Your kid/teen is at.

The story line is very amazing, especially for a video game. It was written by the person who wrote The Dark Night Rises, David S. Goyer. However, there is violence, blood, gore, and language. Blood, gore, and language can be turned off through settings, language completely and blood & gore almost entirely. For certain parts the screen is pixelized or blacked out and voices pause until the cuss word is left out. The violence stays however, you are still shooting guns at computer people. However, if your kid is mature enough and knows the reasoning behind being a soldier and killing others, then it is fine. If your child is easily influenced by media, then the violence is something to be wary of. There is also some consumerism to be wary of. Treyarch offers map packs to buy for multiplayer that cost extra money. These bonuses allows the player to play on more "maps" in multiplayer mode. All in all, know who your kid is in maturity.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Teen, 15 years old Written byDibbleybop3730 November 23, 2013
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Call Of Duty Black Ops 2 Truth

call of duty black ops 2, its a fantastic game, and i dont know what common sense is talking about with the 3 dots for sex, i could see worse at the mall, and i have. the swearing and blood can be turned off by pressing a button, and without those, this game should be rated TEEN, the multiplayer has no swears, but the people playing it...they do. they can all be muted, or you can just turn down the volume. also, zombies, not bad at all im just gonna say that.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written byBulbasaurlover November 18, 2013
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Doesn't live up to predecessors, has some concerns.

Though not as good as earlier games in the series, Call of Duty: Black Ops II is a on - par game. Violence is an issue, with blood squirting out like in every shooter. The profane language is an issue, too, with most 4 letter words, and variants such as "C*cksucker." The language, violence and sexual materiel can be turned off, but, personally, it detracts from the experience. Unless you're reading with the subtitles on, the sentence may be broken up, because the audio cuts out around the swear word, and it not only cuts out the swear word, but some words surrounding it. There's a mission where you have to go through the antagonist's drug bunker, and you can shoot packages, and cocaine powder bursts out of it. It supports online voicechat, but you can choose to mute certain players.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Safety and privacy concerns
Kid, 8 years old November 15, 2013
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

Great game but too much language.

Great Call Of Duty game but a lot of bad language. But if the graphic content option is off it is for 13 and up. And I wish the graphic content button did not turn off the blood and gore.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Parent Written byAlusivebee November 12, 2013
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

Let your kids play this game

I think it is a great game but there is violence and some language but when you first start the game you can turn both of those off and then there is not alot of blood anymore and It is a game that would help your kids communicate but keep your kids oflline because the people online can say any ord they want
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Kid, 12 years old November 11, 2013
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

Call Of Duty

My Father lets me play the multilayer version as it isn't as violent and dosent swear but says words like a** but my dad says i cannot under any circumstances play campaign or zombies so i think kids can play call of duty with the right boundries!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Kid, 12 years old November 9, 2013
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

stop playing this game.

this game, neigh the whole series is an overhyped, overdone mess of a game that tries to suck every last penny out of your wallet. every single game features an overpowered weapon that the scum over at infinity ward don't try to fix, every map and environment is bland as cream cheese sandwiches, and everybody online seems to want to "#### your mom." don't even think about playing this game if you don't want your child to learn how to cuss. stay away from Call of Duty if you are a child or have any taste of what "fun" means.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 12 years old October 22, 2013
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

great game!!!

This is a great mmo/fps game hat can be played over and over. There is a lot of language and blood, which can be toned down on the filter. The only part I dislike is the zombies.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Kid, 11 years old October 21, 2013
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

Please Read Parents

This Game Contains Very Strong Combat Violence And Bad Language. To Me Its Really Good Game.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written bySelrak20 October 17, 2013
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

13 and up, But Know Your Child

Like other reviews, CommonSenseMedia doesn't tell you the whole story. Now, for the blood/gore/violence, when the game is first put in, like other CoD titles, you can chose to enable or disable graphic content, so simply be there when he/she unboxes it and puts it in the console. This eliminates any "red liquid" coming from killed players. However, red stuff still is part of the maps and still comes up on your scree when you are injured, but it is not nearly as graphic as before. Now to the concerns. There is one word of language in Multiplayer (probably what you kid wants it for). Whe playing as the team "Mercs" a man will say in your ear at the start rarely, "keep your head up and a** down, it's go time". Also there is open throwing around of bad words such as f***, s***, d**n, d**k, and even in some cases, c***. However, there are parental controls on the Xbox itself's settings to disable open chat to random players. ( I don't know about PS3, but I assume so). Campain is littered with bad words, but so is Middle School. If you think you child is mature enough to handle this, then by all means, it is a fun game that I enjoy playing myself. Thanks for Reading
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Safety and privacy concerns
Teen, 14 years old Written byKRSHGAMINGPRODUCTION September 30, 2013
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

TREYARCH v TROLLARCH

this game is really cool and fun and it has only 2 glitches the nuketown grisly gun glitch and sniper screamer glitch
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Safety and privacy concerns
Kid, 10 years old September 25, 2013
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

First Person Shooter has made a legendary comeback!!!

Call of duty black's ops 2 is a great first person shooter, with Ok campaign, good zombie mode and a perfect multiplayer mode. Although good, foul mouthed violence is an issue but scenes can be turned of. Some intense decisions must be made by the player in missions but worth your money!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written byDMidnight September 25, 2013
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Black Ops 2 opinions

This game is a great game, I have played it myself. I have to say, the content filter is there for low age children who like this game. What you must know is that it has a "Zombies mode". Zombies is way more violent than multiplayer, when you kill those zombies, it shows a lot more blood than multiplayer, you can shoot body parts off, that won't be censored. It's better to let 14+ yr to only play multiplayer. I am not sure about single-player, never played it, let your 14+ years old child just only play multiplayer. Child(ren) of the age of 16 years old can be allowed to play all three of them, depends on the maturity of the child.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Safety and privacy concerns
Teen, 13 years old Written byjohn653 September 19, 2013
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Get it

This game is extremely fun. All kids are getting it. Any blood or gore can be turned off. Most shooting is against zombies in an unrealistic campaign mode. Let your kid buy it. If you are still unsure, restrict how many hours a day your kid can play it.
Teen, 17 years old Written byThe arbiter September 16, 2013
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

Good game, but beware

This is a good game, but it is definetly the most violent CoD game to date. However, since the primary focus is multiplayer, the violence is far less intense and the feeling of unrealism is notable. So, this is suitable for those who already have experience with m rated games

Pages