All member reviews for Darksiders

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging, great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging, good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging, good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging, okay learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Kids say

(out of 12 reviews)
AGE
12
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Kid, 11 years old November 23, 2010
AGE
13
QUALITY
 
my mom will probably say no even when im 17 because she is cristain and believes that if a game is not for 1 and up its not for no one freaki- strange right
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 17 years old Written byjgsaw August 22, 2010
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

rubbish, bad, boring, hard, hateful

I hate this game the reasons the main character looks kind of emo I have never liked hack n slash games. only reason why you should not give it to your kid
Kid, 12 years old January 15, 2010
Teen, 13 years old Written byzoliva2499 March 27, 2012
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

you all are wussys

this game may be agenst christians in every way and im catholic but come on im never offended by this i always play this, and my xbox clan is named after this plus its a good way to learn about the four horsemen of the apocolypse plus war is being charged by causeing a battle when he really didnt plus he's a good horsemen
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written bySpudling July 10, 2011
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

A great but short game.

Darksiders is a fun and occasionally challenging experience that places you in the boots of War. This game is a bit gory and the blood is plentiful, but the blood is very stylised and there is NO language.
Kid, 11 years old April 28, 2011
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Blood but no language.

This is a very cool Hack and Slash game that is good for everyone but does introduce Blood and Gore but not as bad as some M Rated games like Dragon Age 2 and Mortal Kombat. Overall a Great Game for 11 - 16. I would not recommend this to young children as some scenes can be Frightening not for Under 10 , Good for Teens.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 13 years old Written byleakingrye May 15, 2013
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

This game is on the brightside

A really cool game it has a God of war style and a zelda Ai fighting style. It's a great game kid's 13 and up should play this game
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Teen, 13 years old Written byDjxAwesome121 November 23, 2012
AGE
13
QUALITY
 
LEARNING

Pretty good game!

Nothing really wrong with this. It goes against Christianity and i'm christian but m not bothered by it. I say it should be rated T for teen. I hope my parents get me darksiders 2.....
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 13 years old Written bytman13 August 8, 2012
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

good but a little violent

i think that this game is very good for teens but there is a little violence but that is to be expected after the armegeddon it aloso seem's that there is going to be a lot of demons in your way so you will have to conqure. it is a very hard game but it's very good game for kids 13+ i hope yu like my revew i have been asked about this games by every one in my naberhood because i am the only one that played and they have whatched me play and they all aprove
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 15 years old Written bynarrat0r August 22, 2011
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Does CommonSense even play the game to see what's in it?

Yes, it does have foul language. Near the end of the game, you'll hear a character being called a wh*re, and there is some use of "piss off". But that's as far as it goes. Cut long story short - this is a great game. Story is kind of far-fetched and half of the time you won't know what's going on, but it gets pretty clear at the end. The game obviously takes inspiration from such classics as Zelda and Devil May Cry, with some influence of God of War. The violence in this game is accompanied by massive amounts of blood, but nothing that a teenager couldn't handle. Overall, very good and long action-adventure/RPG game.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 15 years old Written byXeNo123 July 23, 2011
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

What I think

Me and my little sister played this game and it's like a horror flick cuz yeah the demons are scary as hell (no pun intended) and yeah it's gory and ya know it's just my oppinion that 9 year olds are good with it but then again my little sister laughs at the alien popping out of the guys chest in AVP. but any way I think it is a good game with parental supervision oh and the guys who write this site are full of it. there are no bosses with boobs they pulled something out of Dantae's Inferno and put it in Darksiders. So all in all good game for older kids.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Kid, 11 years old April 29, 2010
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

What I think

This is not really that bad, no causing AT ALL. Just it is really violent and bloody.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Great role models