All member reviews for Dead Space 2

Common Sense Media says

Very scary shooter with severe violence, gore, and cussing.
 

Users say

(out of 59 reviews)
age 14+
 
Review this title!
Adult Written byFiggy66 February 26, 2011
 
This is the most violent and gory game i have ever played it is all around messed up there is like 50 different ways for isacc clark to die all including insane amounts of blood and gore i played a part where guy a goes crazy and slits his throat resulting in blood all over the window next to him
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Adult Written byXboxrules360 February 23, 2011
 
I love the game but its very bloody, very scary,and uses a lot of mature language.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written bycerealkiller189 November 28, 2011
 

THE BEST GAME EVER!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Guide: On:13 up Iffy:12 up Off:under 12 =WHAT DO YOU THINK?? Overall,very violent and atmospheric but awesome fun. Coming from an average American teen who knows what he's talking about. Sources:I play this 6-9 hours everyday??
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 15 years old Written byFatasyfan09 March 12, 2011
 

NO KIDS!!!!!!!!

This is a fun game, buts its way too violent for any one to play really. I mean come on EA its bad enough you reased dantes inferno (HELL IS NO GAME) now this?
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Great role models
Safety and privacy concerns
Teen, 15 years old Written bybig gun January 27, 2011
Parent Written byPakistanPEGI December 18, 2014
 

No one under 18

One of the most goriest games in the world extremely scary and has lots of gore. Extreme Violence Strong Language(f--k,f--ker,sh-t,bullsh-t) Lots of Gore
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 15 years old Written byNo Name, for real. April 25, 2013
 

Supremely gory, scary, and gruesome horror game is off limits for anyone under 18!

Few games feature blood-soaked battles with more severed body parts or gallons of spilled gore. It's gory enough to make even media desensitized grown-up gamers occasionally whistle in disbelief. Scary, terrifying, and supremely brutal horror game. Countless gruesome deaths animations, resulting in your character being decapitated, blow up, dismembered, vomiting himself to death, stabbing, self mutilation, throat slitting, heads exploding, and more. The way to kill your enemies is to impale them on spikes or blunt object such as dismembered arms using telekinesis. You can dismember enemies with pistols, shotguns, machine guns, and more. You can also stomp on your enemies after you've kill them that make them explode. This game is a nearly non-stop series of intensely graphic, highly visceral combat scenes involving zombies, and alien zombies. Players use many weapons and fists to not just kill -- but also eviscerate their enemies. Expect frequent close up and often slow-motion depictions of heads and limbs being dismembered, blood and gore spilling out of heads, arms, chests, abdomens, and gallons of dark red blood spattering all over.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Adult Written bychristian2011 February 17, 2013
 

Very scary sci-fi horror survival game with extreme violence / gore and grotesque images. Not for kids at all.

Dead Space 2 is an extremely gory and frightening first person shooter about Issac (main character) that ventures through a dark and eerie spaceship where you see people graphically transform into grotesque and disturbing creatures that resemble parasitic demonic aliens that lunge out at you unexpectedly and kill you if you're not paying enough attention. Also, Issac sees very horrifying images of his deceased girlfriend and the gruesome fatalities the enemies inflict on you (decapitation, disemboweled, dismemberment, cannibalism, stabbed, sliced in half) all shown close on screen. If you're the squeamish type who doesn't like horror and extreme gore, DO NOT get this game.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 14 years old Written byCole9678 July 23, 2012
 

Violent yet promising

I liked the game. Although i was very shocked about how much intense violence there was. Some scenes scarred me for life. Plus the swearing is intense, but the bloody violence is so intense you barely even acknowledge the violence. And the whole entire game is a giant suspense fest. You are walking around by yourself and just waiting for some kind of strange creature to jump and freak you out. Still though, Dead Space 2 is highly addictive.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 15 years old Written byIlovemovies. July 20, 2012
 

Extreme violence, NOT FO ANYONE UNDER 18!

What other families should know
Too much sex
Parent Written byMegaTankSlayer June 1, 2012
 
LEARNING

A Decent Game

While this game can be innapropriate on the language and gore, all that matters is how well you know and trust your kid. if you trust him enough to not use that language then I don't see a big deal, But if your kid says words they don't understand or accedently uses bad language then maybe hold back a year or two, this includes if they get scared easily or not . As long as you trust them it' not going to be a problem and they'll be happy.
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Kid, 11 years old May 20, 2012
 

Fine but scary game.

This is a shooter game but a very game that kids teenagers would like. IT HAS FREAKY ENEMIES and alot of blood. But would be appropriate for kids 15 and up.
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Teen, 14 years old Written byMINACprime March 13, 2012
 

Scariest. Game EVER.

I got this game from my friend and when I played it I nearly sh*t my pants. Just that scary. What makes it scary are the numerous pop up scenes and parts where ALL the lights go out momentarily and swarms of Necomorphs try to get you. NOT recommended for light hearted and people with bladder promblems.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 14 years old Written byGrimms-Dragon July 20, 2011
 

Not for most kids.

I love this game. It has the best graphics and fresh ideas of any game I have. I do not think children under 17 should play it, unless your kid already plays games with strong violence. I'm 14 and I started with violent games with Call of Duty: Modern Warfare. If you are willing to let your kids play violent games, do not start with this one. The violence, gore, and frightening scenes make it too intense for most people I know.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Parent Written byduddy199 May 25, 2011
 

OK for some 12 year olds

This game, while fairly violent, is not really all that bad. You can shoot the limbs off necromorphs, the monsters in the game, but they hardly even look like humans anymore. The cursing only comes up when the main character talks with someone else, which really doesn't come up that much. Overall, this game is ok for some 12-year-olds, and if they played any other game where you fight zombie-like monsters, this will not be much different.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written bysmashwolf88 April 18, 2011
 
if u want the best horror 3rd person game out there here it is if not want to peep your pants i wouldn't buy it but over all good game.
What other families should know
Great role models
Kid, 9 years old April 10, 2011
 

No one under 18+

I'm usally fine with gory games but this is just TO MUCH, could scar a child for a long time, but you have to admit it is amazing how much work EA put into it.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written byalexander1997 March 11, 2011
 

(wiper,scream,gore)

if you buy it you will want bars on your window and you will want to sleep with a shotgun but all good fun
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Parent of a 8 and 11 year old Written byBoxbox February 9, 2011
 

Big fun but also big scares.

Although it is great, it is not a kids game. It has lots of violence, blood, gore, and langauge all displayed in an over the top, distubing enviornment.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 15 years old Written byMichael Ryan Metzger August 13, 2015
 

Dead Space 2: Violent, gory, and very scary

Dead Space 2 is the second game in the "Dead Space" franchise. It starts with flashbacks from the first game. Dead Space is fun and challenging, but it is NOT for kids younger than 16 or fifteen. Maybe 14 at most, depending on the parent's expectations. The game contains severe violence, language, and gore, but no sexual content. In the game, the player can be decapitated, blown up, crushed, stabbed, impaled, bitten, or vomited on. Yet, the player can shoot, crush, or dismember monsters as well. The game's story line is similar to the first. You play as Isaac Clarke, and you are held in medical treatment for your last encounter with the "Necromorphs" on the Ishumura. Like the first, an alien artifact creates a virus that takes over and mutates crew members of a ship, turning them into ferocious monsters. You must survive and escape the terror. The game does not only focus on killing. You need to read computers, unlock doors, help crew members, and Etc. Dead Space 2 delivers a few good role models, such as bravery and the help of others. But, the message is to survive hideous creatures on a "nearly" abandoned space ship. Also, the monsters are very gruesome and disturbing, and will jump out at you from time to time. And, the fact of being sliced by these creatures or having them vomit acidic bile on your face will be too much for kids under 15 or 16. Dead Space is a good game, with amazing graphics and story. But it still brings out the scare factor. Dear Parents, I would highly recommend taking a look at this game before letting your child experience it, depending on their age.
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism

Pages