Common Sense Media says

Violent choices impact ultimate outcome of mature game.

Users say

(out of 50 reviews)
age 12+
Review this title!
Parent Written byizacis October 9, 2012

Amazing

this game is very good, but for the more mature.there is a little splash of blood occasionly when you kill an enemy, and a couple of swear words in there as well.Alll of this can be avoided, in fact it encourages you not to kill anyone. If you kill something it will discourage you by giving you punishments! get this game if your kids dont mind the occaasional s word and splash of blood.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 17 years old Written byJester™ October 13, 2012

Gory, stealthy action game is not for youths.

The biggest issue with Dishonored is the violence. While it is up to the player as to whether or not they will kill anyone, there is still a very menacing atmosphere in the game as the player will witness NPC's (non-playable characters) being killed, sometimes very graphically. I personally love the stealthy aspects of the game as well as the challenge of completing missions without bloodshed. There are references to sex and some language in the game, but it is not super frequent and is relatively mild. The biggest concern for parents and Dishonored is the violence. One of the most disturbing actions the player can take is to summon a swarm of rats to viciously (and realistically) consume enemies, where the rats first eat through the flesh, followed by muscle tissue and finally bone of the enemy, all of which is visible to the player and accompanied by plentiful amounts of blood. Dismemberment is also common if the player chooses to kill enemies. Overall the game is entertaining, but the violence (should the player choose to partake of it) is extreme. (*NOTE* The Australian classification for Dishonored is MA15+ for Strong Bloody Violence) Jester's Rating: 9/10
What other families should know
Too much violence
Adult Written byMrBobbito September 24, 2013

Violence NOT Discouraged

To clarify, at no point does the game tell the player "it is wrong to kill people". When other reviews say it discourages killing, what they really mean is that killing people will change the way the story progresses. There is no immediate benefit in choosing to avoid someone over choosing to kill them, the latter often being easier. Next, in terms of violence, a lot of these reviews are off. Yes, you get the "splash of blood" as some people are saying. However, you can also watch corpses get devoured into nothing by swarms of rats, giving enough time to clearly see a body with all the organs exposed. The game is centered around plague, and your character even has the power to summon rats to kill enemies. Besides all of that, the theme of the game is, simply, revenge. While you can indirectly help others, your motivation through the whole story is to kill off anyone that betrayed you and anyone that might be helping them. It's an excellent story to follow, but you're not going to learn a lot of virtues from this one.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent of a 15 year old Written bynewadult345 October 11, 2012

not for learning

not for learning
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much consumerism
Safety and privacy concerns
Kid, 10 years old June 30, 2014

I would say eleven for most kids but....

listen im a ten year old but that doesnt mean i dont have some good points. im going to start off and say that this game should be most definitely fine for 11 and up kids. BUT however if you have a mature 10 year old it should be fine. Now im a true ten year old and i have it. there is very few curse words so if your child has played call of duty it should be know problem. there is a few s words and bastard in there but not often there is rarely im mean like RARELY any f words. they say it like 3 times in the hole intire game. the main problem is the violence in this game. but the game incourages you to not kill anyone because if you dont kill anyone it gives you allternative endings more coins and cash and achievment (or trophies for you playstation users) witch give you gamer points.so thats that. now for violence this is going to be quick: if your child plays any call of duty (COD) this should be no problem considering i have call of duty trust me ive seen way worse in call of duty. Now i know some people say there is drinking and stuff but i mean really people. theres as much drinking in it as like if your dad throws a super bowl party. in like a couple missions you go to a pub (the hounds pit pub) and theres a couple people have some beers NO PROBLEM. theres is never a part were you phisically drink some beer the only thing you drink are potions that heal your health and mana. there is absalutley posativley no nudity what so ever so dont worry about that stuff parents. so there is some blood not much but like i said if your child plays call of duty this is no problem. thats pretty much it kids if you get this game there is multiple missions side missions and DLC (downloadable content) to keep you busy for a while. i know you will like it it is definitely worth every penny and it is very fun. also there is some learning. your character corvo loves and cares about the emmpresses daughter and her to death literally to death. i hope this helps parents. :)
What other families should know
Great role models
Easy to play/use
Too much violence
Parent Written bymeetthespy863 October 24, 2012

Let's be thankful to science!

This game is an historical reminder that at least rats wont give us the plauge. There was nothing that I was concerned about. Get this for your kid. :)
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Parent of a 12 year old Written byTeren Wopkins June 16, 2013

Get this for your kid!

After watching my son Jack play this title and even playing it my self, the game offers many mind boggling puzzles and some historical things. Yes there may be some violence because you can choose to kill people but trust me your kid wouldn't want to because you actually get punished for killing. The gore when killing is quite minimal. And overall a great game.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Adult Written byPrearistotle January 29, 2013

And overall amazing game.

Dishonored is one of the first single player games to blow me away in the past few years. The gameplay and combat are amazing, the story is easy to follow and fun, and Corso is an amazing hero and savior in the game. The violence in the game can get pretty graphic, though the game actually encourages as little violence and death as possible (alternate endings). There are MANY different ways to complete objectives, some of which effect you later. There are sexual themes (girl in bathtub, girls in brothel), but no sex and nudity is shown. The focus always stays on Corso's goal and doesn't detract for petty side-quests. Would rate this a good game for any adult and mature teenager.
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent Written bytrender August 10, 2013

Not For Kids

dishonored Is a mature game that should not be played by kids. if you are stealthy than the game is far less violent but if you kill everybody it gets pretty bloody. if your kids mature and can take some blood I might be ok but for the most part this game should not be played by kids.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Kid, 11 years old October 9, 2012

Dishonored

this game is really fun and its not really gory you can choose if you want it to be gory or not
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 15 years old Written bykewlbeans March 26, 2014

Potentially violent game discourages violence

Dishonored is a very enjoyable stealth-based game. Although there is some blood and violent deaths, it can almost be entirely avoided. The game encourages players to go through the levels peacefully. Language ranges anywhere from d*** to f***, somewhat seldom, but it can be heard in the background. There is a level in which you go through a brothel, but nothing is really shown; that being said, the prostitutes do wear skimpy clothes/underwear and a few moans and occasional discussion between customer and prostitute. There are a few references to alcohol. The level of maturity required to play this game depends on your patience and determination. If played peacefully, I would say the average 13 year old could play it. If it is played using the "Path of Destruction", I would say it is intended for 15+. Good game, but it requires patience if you wish to take the "Path of the Shadow".
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Parent Written byBobJones21 November 7, 2013

The truth

Dishonored is a fantasy video game. It has violent moments about the same as Skyrim. I think that if you have Skyrim this is okay for them. It has guns, but not that bad. It is a very good game.
Kid, 8 years old October 30, 2013

great

good game ok for kids its fine
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Parent Written byThegamingguy November 18, 2012

One of the most unique games this year.

This game is simply amazing. But, I will get back to that later. First, I will lay down the negatives. Violence: Violence is probably the main issue, as you can stab,shoot,and poison your victims. Language: You may here a few f bombs and other foul language, but not much. If your child has ever played a first person shooter, he has heard alot worse. Sexual content: I'll make this quick. There barely is any. Some of the woman are refered to as wh*&es, but that's about it. Overall, this game is fantastic and suitable for mature 10 year olds and up.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written byged 10010 August 26, 2013

Amazing and unique

amazing game a bit violent but whats unique about the game is that you can complete it without killing a single person which takes the violence out of it completely
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Parent Written byscranton August 10, 2013

play it the stealthy way

if your kids play it the stealthy way than it isn't that violent at all.
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Adult Written byDachristwatcher November 21, 2012

Dishonored Global Review

Well i just got this game for my computer and i think it is really good, now for language there are about 5 to 6 fu*k words in each level, And for violence the game is based on a man who got accused for killing the empress but he was fraimed for the crime, then he breaks out of prison and these people help him out and the character that u play gos on missons for them and they give u money. So ur trying to get back at the people who fraimed u so i would say that u kill about 50 to 75 enemies a level. for violence i give it a 7 and a half out of 10. for language i give it a 5 out of 10.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Parent Written bydachin August 10, 2013

It should be rated T

great action stealth game that should not be rated M
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Parent of a 12 year old Written byKüüe February 21, 2013

Greatest game of 2012.

This game is simply amazing, but here's a heads-up to the other parents: There is a lot of violence, but by using stealth, non-lethal executions, and lots of time, you can beat the game without killing anyone. Language and sex isn't much of a problem, but references are here and there. Just remember the undertone of the game, revenge. Sure, Corvo (the main character) does have his reasons, after being falsely accused for the murder of the Empress, but it is revenge nonetheless.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent Written byNerd Gaming August 10, 2013

awsome game

dishonored has the best stealth I have seen in a video game. the game has a interesting story and the setting is unique and interesting. I loved my time playing this game. there is two ways you can play this game. you can be stealthy or just kill everything. personally, being stealthy is more fun. I think this is a great game and it really isn't that violent.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing

Pages