All member reviews for DJ Hero

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Kids say

(out of 14 reviews)
AGE
10
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Kid, 11 years old December 28, 2009
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

Fun, With Language

very fun! the crossfading is almost impossible but practice makes (close to) perfect!!!!!
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Kid, 9 years old February 19, 2014
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

My personal favorite!

OK, so the dancers in the background are a bit inappropriate, but I honestly think that once you learn how to play, that wouldn't matter! The crossfading and stuff is hard to learn how to do along with the taps and scratches, but the songs are good, the game itself is fun, and you will not be disappointed! (I still think the T rating suits it well.)
What other families should know
Easy to play/use
Too much consumerism
Kid, 10 years old November 10, 2012
AGE
9
QUALITY
 
LEARNING

Depends on the person because it does have a bit of swearing.

I think there may be some swearing.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Kid, 11 years old May 23, 2012
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

awsome

fun better than 2nd one 2nd one sucks
Teen, 13 years old Written bySpielberg00 July 28, 2011
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Some incredibly "iffy" lyrics...but pretty fun otherwise.

My rating: T: lyrics; sexual themes
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much sex
Too much consumerism
Teen, 17 years old Written byMixk July 16, 2011
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Turn it up!

This game is really fun when you get use to it.
Kid, 9 years old January 30, 2011
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

music game is cool

well i do have it on xbox360 i won like 6 7 less or more achivements tho i wont the 2 1 with lady gaga and more and the turn table u can play more games but not sure about war games but u can try it
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Safety and privacy concerns
Kid, 10 years old November 15, 2010
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

i hate what they rate it its so for 10 year olds not for 8

i dont see why they say 13 its iffy for 8 but 10 its perfect its not good on the play station becouse it wont save inless you have card in it but its five stars
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written bygreykangaroo September 16, 2010
AGE
10
QUALITY
 
This game is so sick! Easier and cooler than Guitar Hero and insanely addictive. You get to play as famous rapper and other musicians and play great songs. Really fun!
Kid, 12 years old September 11, 2010
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Very Fun.

This game is really fun. i like how all the songs are mash ups of 2 songs. the only problem i have is that i think there is too much hip hop. i would perfer for them to have more techno. they are adressing this in the new dj hero 2 which is coming out tho.
What other families should know
Educational value
Kid, 9 years old June 18, 2010
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

MAD FUN!!!!=]

it is so fun!!!i picked up how to play it the day we got it.i wanna go play it now.i got it for the wii
Teen, 13 years old Written bySethlapod February 14, 2010
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

It's like a Hip-Hop Guitar Hero. Pretty cool, but kinda hard to play.

This game is pretty sweet! Hip-Hop isn't really my style of music, but this game makes it fun for me! Sure, if your used to Guitar Hero or Rock Band (especially if you play on Expert), like me, it'll be kinda hard to start on a new controller and controls. There are some pretty nice remixes with playable characters, like Daft Punk, and some of my favorite songs are "I Want You Back" by The Jackson 5 and "Bring the Noise 20XX" by Public Enemy feat. Zakk Wylde. Plus, I'm workin' on a hard rock remix of the song "My Name is Slim Shady" by Eminem, which is another cool song in the game. I recommend this for the new generation of kids that were born in, like, the late 90's cuz those are the kids that are interested in this kind of music.
What other families should know
Educational value
Teen, 13 years old Written bykjinho February 14, 2010
AGE
12
QUALITY
 
"Sh"(just that way) can be heard in the song "Hollaback Girl".
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Kid, 12 years old December 29, 2009
AGE
7
QUALITY
 
first off, this game rocks!!!!! You can customize you're own dj and play the latest songs. you have to tap the notes when they come on screen. Be careful, you have to match the correct notes with the correct colors. like i said THIS GAME ROCKS!!!!!
What other families should know
Too much sex
Great messages
Kid, 11 years old December 22, 2009
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

Best for older kids

this is a fun game I palyed it in Best Buy.
What other families should know
Too much swearing