Common Sense Media says

A great fantasy, but contains many mature themes.

Users say

(out of 50 reviews)
age 12+
Review this title!
Parent of a 17 year old Written byzabriel May 27, 2010

Great game for older players

I think this is a superb game that's all about choices, much like the first. It has a very black and white moral system for the most part, and you do see consequences for acting immorally. The violence is a bit much, but sex is dealt with in a tasteful and mature manner. I think it's a little iffy for younger teens, but for your older teens it's a great game that offers a lot to talk about.
Adult Written byGeoff. January 13, 2009

Extremely Fun

I would personally say that this game is for the teens and or late-childhood, the sexual themes would be a strong "PG-13" rating but a mild "R" rating. the Language is mild, maybe a couple "shits" or two but who are we kidding, humans just have a nag for the curse-language. I give Fable 2 a (T:13+) rating
Parent of a 3 year old Written bymessenger December 13, 2008

close call

the game is incredibly fun and i dont know wheater to give a t or a m m feels to strong but t feels like mabye they left something out the game does have gay and lesbien things but my child should know about that kind of thing it is not like it is offensive while you can kill your wife in front of the child it is your choice you can be evil or good sexy or ugly scary or lovable but it is your choice i doubt that my son would kill his wife but he may i dont know but we have to remeber its a game is my child really going to kill his wife because of this no so in the end just rent it before you buy this one this is your call
Parent of a 6, 9, and 10 year old Written byThis Guy84563 October 10, 2009
I dont get what the big deal is I mean by sixth grade all the kids already know about sex and drinking,ova 90% of parents drink its no big deal and the violence is really easy to hadle, Mario has more blood. Language worst they say is s**t and most kids in school, or evan parents sometimes swear in front of kids.
What other families should know
Great messages
Parent of a 10 year old Written byfable2rocks May 12, 2010

Adults should get fable 2. Kids don`t

Well for starters this game is NOT appropiate for kids but i still let my kid plaay it. I always watch him when he plays so that he dosen`t do any thing innapropiate.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great messages
Adult Written byManic Bulldog February 15, 2009
Parent's should be sure to include thier children's maturity when considering buying this game. It's suggested sexual themes including prostitution makes the game definatly a mature game. The cartoon violance is nothing serious to be concerned about.... either is the language... kids hear worse in the halls of thier own schools. All in all this is a great story game and is one that should be in all older gamer's collection. But I would say that this game is for teens age 15 and up... and that is seriously based on your childs ability to handle adult situations... I know alot of my friends that are 18 who I dont think could handle it... but thats another story... LOL.
Parent of a 13 year old Written bymichelhays December 15, 2014

Well, if you're conservative, this game is probably not for you - but I think it is a great conversation-starter for some tough subjects

Have to say I'm a little surprised that CSM rated this "not for kids." Fable II isn't really about morality as much as it's about the social consequences of your actions; it presents them in very, very broad strokes but I think provides food for thought. I also am surprised this game is rated so high for violence: I consider Arkham Asylum to be considerably more violent, yet that's rated T and approved by CSM for older kids. Yes, there is swordfighting and shooting and blood (though it's usually overshadowed by the glowing orbs that indicate XP) but as long as you are killing "bad guys" and not electing to take the safety off and kill an innocent bystander, I don't see this game as terribly violent. This game can be played co-op, and is a great conversation-starter if you've got a kid who is ready to talk about sex, alcohol and other choices that have consequences. For instance, if your character engages in extramarital sex, not only do you risk or an STD, you will also find that you can't easily get rid of your lover. If you dismiss them, they will follow you around crestfallen, or consistently bring up marriage or presents in public. The sex itself is considerably more sanitary that sex on prime time TV, although it's interesting to see how it changes depending on your gender (another great topic; it's supposed to be a gender-neutral game but the male and female characters don't act the same and aren't treated the same.) Condoms are a common "prize" and to have sex, you have to choose protected or unprotected sex; unprotected sex can lead to pregnancy as well as STDs. Once your character has a family, he or she will be expected to pay their upkeep and pay attention to them, whether or not you married your partner. There are also characters of many different sexualities including one transgender/drag queen (hard to tell which) Some quests involve helping NPCs untangle romances, some quests deal with NPCs sexual preference (A farmer asks you to find a wife for his son, who turns out to be gay) These issues make the game inappropriate for smaller children, but at a certain age this game can be a good jumping-off place to discuss how complicated sex can be. Likewise, drinking will make you vomit and lose control of your body. There are lots of drunkards in the game who look pretty stupid; it's not glorifying bad behavior by any manner of means. Your choices also reflect on your face in a kind of Dorian Grey sort of way: the more evil you are, the uglier you get. Evil acts tend to be selfish and hedonistic: eating meat and pie, drinking alcohol, overcharging, taking slaves. You also have to make amends even if you do something wrong unintentionally: it's pretty easy to accidentally use magic or draw your sword when talking to a villager, but it takes a considerable amount of time to get them to stop running away from you and screaming - and if you need their assistance, you won't get it. You will also be shunned socially if you don't alter your behavior to suit your audience: prudes don't like belching, and free spirits get bored by polite gestures. All in all, it's not a bad way to open discussion between you and your teen. If you don't plan to talk about it as they play, however, I think it is probably best to wait until your child is an adult. Even the scarier parts of town offer a lesson: it's clear that prostitutes, thieves, assassins, and beggars are not living happily, and again is a good opportunity to discuss privilege and choice and the role it plays in offering life choices. I recommend playing this game with your child or playing it through on your own and then asking him or her about different areas and scenes. I'm hesitant to put an age recommendation on this review, because it does require a certain kind of maturity from your child - some kids get there sooner, and some later.
Parent Written byparentskill July 6, 2011

Great for 10+

This should be ok for kids ages 10 and up, you never see the sex, the violence and blood is not that bad, and you can choose to be good or bad. My child wanted the game very badly and I kept saying no, but after a while I just got it for him and he loved it!!! I even watched him play it, and it really wasnt that bad.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Parent of a 12 year old Written bynameo March 27, 2010
Violent can lock onto heads and shoot them off but it is all in a fantisy setting. Amazing graphics in a fantasy style. You can have sex but you cant see it with prositutes. Overall nothing extreme but amazing my f
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Adult Written byTrojianmaru July 14, 2009

Good for all

Regardless of what the review says, this game is good. Although there are sexual acts, the most sexual things that happen is trying to get your wife into the sack (which is mostly done by using flirty emoticons like thrusting your hips saying "come onn" or saying "heyyy" and when it comes to the actual act, all you'll hear is the wife or husband commenting on your flabbyness or muscles or beard or whatever. There are prostitutes but only in the realllly bad lawless towns and if you aren't careful, you can get STDS from them, which can then be passed on to the wife or husband (teaching teenagers that if they must have sex, that they risk STDS). There are, as is popular today, choices of good and evil, as will as pure and corrupt. Things like raising the rent on your properties will make you more corrupt and eating too much meat makesy ou fat. it is very tempting to be evil just to enjoy the cool horns but then you have to put up with everyone running away from you. The violence is minimal, though there is swords and ases and guns, only one of two things will happen. either they fall over, or they lose their head in a comical fashion. Also There are chances for having more than one spouse but it's hard enough to keep one husband or wife happy. Infact in all my plays through, it seems the only way to keep a wife from leaving you is to give up the rest of the game for good. (proving that marrigae isn't easy when your travelling the world, even if you are a hero)
What other families should know
Educational value
Adult Written byGamePlayer12 March 19, 2009

Fun RPG But Not For Kids

Fable 2, Well its a fun RPG Explorer game. Lots to do and you choose your path (good or evil). Evil has one mission where you can trick villagers to go into a death trap and you spin this wheel where it chooses there fate, Pretty sick huh? The Sexual Content, This game has alot of sexual content.. Lets start shall we? You can have sex with your spouse (nothing is shown) and can have a child. There is hookers in the game which you can have sex with and they follow you to your house and you choose to have protected sex or unprotected sex. You can have gay and lesbian marrage. The Violence, You can kill anyone you want, villagers in the citys you go to, guards,creatures, animals. Also, (something i thought was sick in the game) You can kill your own spouse infront of your child. You can buy beer from bars and drink it right there. This game is for mature 16+.
Adult Written byStarZero October 4, 2009

It all depends

Fable 2 leaves a lot up to the player. Drinking? Yeah, if you go buy 'em and drink 'em. Sexual content? Yeah, if you go after it. Good or evil, too. It's up to the parent to decide what the kid can handle. However. The previous reviews, from kids who can't buy the game, but say it's okay for someone even younger? That's a problem.
Parent of a 8 and 12 year old Written byBrandi44 November 6, 2010
Great game. Has some iffy parts parents might not like but nothing over the top. The worst part in this game is the sex parts, but those aren't even bad if your mature.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Educational value
Great role models
Parent Written byPlague December 4, 2009

Fable ll

Great game, but I personally like the first one more. I like it that you can personalize your character a bit more in this game and the storyline is longer. But there is just somthing about Lost Chapters that I love more than this sequel.
What other families should know
Great role models
Adult Written bygamr July 29, 2009

good game but mature kids only

Fable II is a very good game and it's easy to pick-up. IF your child wants to get this game then set boundaries, such as no having sex or no getting drunk. Then if you are concerned that your child is breaking these rules then most of these things can be checked in the in game logbook.
Adult Written by19surf96 June 24, 2010

Not a kiddy game, but not M worthy.

Thiugh you can be good or evil and be a major sinner, the game demotes that, people run in fear and ignore you. When you act with the good moral decisions, then people love you, welcome you with open arms and you basically become their idol, which always make you feel better. This is no worse than what is talked about in a schoolyard. Yes there are drunken characters, and you can I toxicate yourself, but no one does that. The game demotes such acts as public violence and alchoholism. There is sex implied, yet they never show it, the screen fades to black and only the noise makes it through. I can garuntee you that if your child can get to a computer while home alone, they've looked at something their not supposed to. Yes gay and lesbian sex is an option, yet what is wrong with that? If that's your choice then you have to live with it, theyres nothing wrong with it it's who you are. Let me make one thing clear HOMOSEXUALITY IS NOT A CHOICE IN REAL LIFE! With the rise in technology, Amish people are the only people left in America that hasn't viewed or talked about sex and pornography. There is almost no blood when an enemy is killed, no more than in a needle. All the forms of violance are way undertoned compared to some teen games like GRAW(2) where you're a counter-terrorist against REAL people along the Mexico-USA border. The language is, once again, no worse than 6th grade playground whatnot. Trust me I played the first game when I was 10 and played this when it came out, it's not a baby game, but it's definitely NOT M worthy. If your teenage kid is begging you for it, look at some gameplay videos, try it for yourself, and trust me you'll see it air that bad.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great messages
Great role models
Parent of a 1 year old Written byMamaPricness May 4, 2009

I have and play this game!

I would let my kid play.Its up to us that our kids know right from wrong even for a game. On this game if you are bad you do and can get in deep sh*t. Like if you kill someone a "cop" comes to take you away you either pay gold or do a good deed because you were bad.Kids see worse in real life than on this game.
Kid, 12 years old September 13, 2010

good game

it is a good game as rpg games go i want the sequel
Parent Written byTheboss412 November 6, 2011

ok for 12 and up only

i think this is an awesome game but there is a few bits of sex in it for example there is a mission where you have to seduce a mans wife and prostitutes do roam the streets in one area but not often there is a local gambiling pub and a bar but there is no beer it is mostly juice
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written bySource144 July 13, 2010
This game is very good. I love everything about it. There are very little bad parts of this game. This game you have the choice of being good and evil. I would recemmond this game for children.
What other families should know
Too much violence

Pages