All member reviews for Fallout 3

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging, great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging, good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging, good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging, okay learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

An outstanding role-playing game -- for adults.

Age(i)

NOT FOR KIDS

Quality(i)

 

Learning(i)

Users say

(out of 176 reviews)
AGE
13
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Adult Written byOo XxX COD XxX oO April 8, 2011
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Fallout Is a Must Have

Fallout 3 is a must have... Probably even better than New Vegas because it doesnt require as much time to keep your character alive... Parents should not be concerned about this game because most of the game requires exploring
Teen, 13 years old Written bycod4fan January 16, 2011
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

every one should play

this game is perfect for kids it shows how to shoot with percise accuracy and survive in the wilderness. and to go expore the real world then stay locked up in a bunker
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Adult Written byFacebones July 30, 2010
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Perfect for older audiences. will captivate you.

The game is set in the future that was expected in the 50s nuclear powered cars, old dress styles, and old family values. but when war struck in 2077 only few made it to the Vaults. bomb shelters only to be used by those who were accepted in. You were living in one in 2277 when one day your father goes missing and you must leave the vault or be killed. The game world is filled with Raiders, mutants, and violent psychopaths. The game represents positive messages like being evil and killing a drifter can be fun but it will cost you karma and though you can achieve awards for that, regulators or "police of the wastes" will stalk and attempt to kill you. In the end the players action will be shown. The storyline has you save the wasteland by sacrificing your life to activate the water purify and save the wasteland from the Enclave who wants to kill every impure humans. Many people should not play fallout 3 but it is truly a great game and voted 12th best game of all time.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 11 years old May 9, 2010
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

A great game for a kid/adult who understands it isn't real.

I love this game! I go to my friends house and he showed it to me and it's fantastic. I don't have an xbox, I have a Wi, but this game is worth playing for hours and hours. There is a lot of violence, so I would understand why my parents might not get it for me. I love it.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Kid, 12 years old September 19, 2009
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

AWSOME

I GOT THE GAME ITS EPIC IF U TRUST UR KIDS U SHOULD ALLOW THEM TO PLAY
Teen, 14 years old Written bymusicluvr7 July 8, 2013
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Great game with LOTS of language

The game Fallout 3 is an excellent game with wonderful game play, but it does take a while to get the hang of things. As far as the violence goes, it is not as appalling as the other reviews are saying it is, but that might just be because I am not very sensitive to violence. The main problem with this game is the LANGUAGE. Most people in the game curse frequently, dealing out anything from (first letters only) f, s, h, d, gd, etc. On the other hand, the game does give you a chance to either be a good or a bad person, so it adds an element of good decision making. If you have a child that is into the violent-type RPG, then it should be fine, but use your best judgement. Overall, it was a great game with a solid and interesting storyline that was a blast to play. Note-----VERY MUCH LIKE OBLIVION AND SKYRIM
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written bychrome352 June 8, 2012
AGE
13
QUALITY
 
LEARNING

It's ok

Ok so let me start off by saying I'm 14 I've beaten this game and I loved it! First things first the violence: yes you can blow people up and such but your kid has probably seen worse on tv or in movies, some of the killings are pretty gruesome but it is not as a bad as some other games like GTA or red dead redemption. The language: ok there is a lot of swearing in this game whether its F**K A** S**t or P***y your kid probably hears all this at school and I wouldn't doubt that they have also said some of them. The drugs and drinking: yes you can do fictional drugs like "med ex" "jet" or "psycho", you can also get addicted to them witch causes blurry vision and depletion of your health over time. and that’s about all the bad things in this game Oh and 1 more thing before I go Have fun and enjoy the game!
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written bySilent_Dogwood November 16, 2011
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Fallout 3 - An RPG suitable for kids?

A solid Western RPG, the next installment in the Fallout series revolutionizes the genre. It's not really for kids, but there are a few positive messages that can be taken away from it. Messages - Players get rewarded positive karma for 'good' actions, such as saving a victim or helping a town. They get given bad karma for performing negative deeds such as killing someone or destroying a town. Although this could potentially tutor some kids on the finer points of right and wrong and show them moral dilemmas, some may remember the slight problem remains that Fallout 3 is, in fact, just a video game, and purposely aim for negative karma 'for the fun of it'. Violence - bloody and violent, Fallout 3 is not for the weak hearted. Language - the player doesn't actually talk but NPC's will engage in conversation, some with some rather crude dialogue options. Overall not for kids, but certainly for those 14 and above who are mature enough to handle it. Visuals - 7/10 Gameplay - 9/10\ Sound - 10/10 Multiplayer - None Overall 9/10
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written byMudaquil4ever October 18, 2011
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Not so bad under certain conditions.

Fallout 3 is a very bloody game, I can tell you that. But only if you use the VATS, which makes it more gory. But I can tell you, there are some positive messages in the game. It sort of teaches you that if we keep abusing the world, this may happen. It's a very addicting game, and fun. You can choose to be good or bad, which like in real life, being terrible to people may give you small rewards quick, but incredibly bad things will happen to you. On the other hand, if your good, you may not get what you want, but it's like a long term investment You'll eventually get rewards, and you may even bond with the characters. I think it's a fine game. Your opinion though.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written byxJustifiedd July 10, 2011
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Fallout 3 is a MUST PLAY!

This game is incredible! Amazing graphics, amazing storyline, this game is just beyond perfect! You have a bunch of secrets to unlock in this game it is honestly one of the best games I have ever played in my entire life. The whole Fallout series intrests me so much. To the families out there, you MUST play this game (if you like RPG's) You have the choice of being Evil or Good each Karma Choice has its own story to it. It has a various amount of choices in dialouge. Amazing game don't miss out on this one.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent of a 5, 12, and 12 year old Written byLady Kataana March 23, 2011
AGE
16
QUALITY
 

can be played in front of kids, but only if discretion is used.

I LOVE this game. I can play in front of my kids, but I only aim for the torso and avoid the scary places (dunwich building, etc) while the kids are awake. Avoid the bloody mess perk (obviously) if you don't want to give the kids nightmares.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Educational value
Safety and privacy concerns
Adult Written byanewman109 March 3, 2011
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

An amazing RPG for adults/mature teens

**SPOILER ALERT*** From Bethesda Studios comes yet another extremely amazing RPG. Fallout 3 begins with the player's birth. We don't see anything inappropriate here. As the game continues, the player grows from child to adult in Vault 101--an underground safe-haven, hidden from the nuclear wastes outside. This portion (like every portion) of the game was done wonderfully. Not only did I become overly attached to my character's Dad (who put aside, we later learn, his entire life's work to make a life for his child, free from the dangers of the Wastes, and is voiced by Liam Neeson), but I became so immersed in the Fallout world there was no way I could quit playing right away. Years pass. Your dad has left the vault. He didn't tell you about it. After escaping an angry Overseer with help from a friend, you see the Wastes for the first time. There is nothing green on the surface. House frame still stand, covered in rubble. Crumbling overpasses collapse. Animals--emaciated and vicious--prowl the grim landscape. You set out on a mission to find your Dad. Your quest takes you to the nearby town, where you quickly gain other quests from other quirky, memorable NPCs. My summary? Graphics: Amazing. Action: Engrossing, but very gory (which doesn't bother me, personally.) Language: Sometimes intense, (I turn down the voices, and skip over certain parts of subtitled dialog.) Characters: Extremely well done, memorable, and worth loving. Storyline: Awesome, with several add ons packs to purchase in the Game of the Year edition. Re-Playability: Definitely re-playable. Don't miss out on this game.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Adult Written byDKR725 February 2, 2011
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

Faaaaaaaaaaaaaallout 3

Bethesda is back with another open world RPG. This one is unique in that it's setting is the post-apocalyptic world. It is great fun, even though not as good as oblivion. There is much blood (enough that there is a targeting system pretty much based on making bloodier kills) and sexual innuendoes. I think it's good for mid and older teens.
Parent of a 10, 12, 13, and 16 year old Written byPluap1 July 26, 2010
AGE
15
QUALITY
 
Violence/Gore: This is not a game for young childeren. During the course of the game, You WILL encounter many violent sequences, and countless bodies being reduced to piles of flesh and blood. V.A.T.S. is a great gamplay tool, yet a spawning ground for gore. Sex: nothing. I had to search for any sexual content, and when I found it, it was merely a misguided girl talking about it. Language: There is strong language,and it's used frequently. But, then again, if your kids have set foot in a public school, this is nothing new. If your child really wants this game, they must be very mature. Or you could check out it's less-mature-content counterpart, Oblivion.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written bytommy18 January 16, 2010
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

Eh its violent. Pretty much like every game on ps3.

Yeahhh. Sure its violent. BUT. Its designed to be violent. So if it doesn't exactly look appropiate. YOU don't buy it. Headshots in slo mo are wicked and gore galore. Don't like violence. again DO NOT BUY IT. Simple as.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Adult Written byManic Bulldog February 15, 2009
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

Decisions... Decisions!

PARENTS: Do not allow your "children" to engage in this game. It's definatly not for them. Teens (15+) can handle the sexual themes along with the violence... and the language is no worse than a high schools "colorful" vocabulary. Definatly a must have for any (adult) gamer.
Parent Written byTrueReveiw January 23, 2015
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

Amazing!

This game is amazing if you have a kid that constantly askes for games this will shut him up it has so many hours of gameplay it's just amazing. Now to rating part my kid begged me to play this he just turned eleven a little bit ago but I wasn't sure about it so I got home and played it, I realized it wasn't so bad there is violence but If your kids play any of the Bethesda games like skyrim oblivion or dishonored it should be fine. There is a lot of swearing but I trust my kid not to say them so that's not an issue. I don't think sex is a problem at all in this game there are references and some people wearing revealing clothing (no nudity just under garments) but once again not as bad as Skyrim oblivion and dishonored. I believe if you have a mature eleven year old or one that plays any of those game he or she should be able to play fallout 3,
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Adult Written byShaydoge January 21, 2015
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

Wonderful

This game is wonderful but I didn't wright this to talk about how amazing it is I came to tell you if its right for your child I have an eleven year old kid named jany and he has been wanting this game so bad but I was concerned so I got it and played it it can be violent but if your child plays stuff like Skyrim dishonored or oblivion all made by the same company or even black ops 2 witch can get very bloody on campaign they should be able to play this game, the cussing I wasn't concerned about as long as he didn't say the words plus nothing he wouldn't hear at school. Sex isn't an issue at all in my opinion there is small amount of references (once again not as much as Skyrim or dishonored). So once again I feel like esrb had made a M game like halo that should have been teen.
Kid, 12 years old January 18, 2015
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

A great RPG for teenagers

A really good RPG, but not a kid's one. If you kill an enemy, sometimes it goes into slow motion as their body parts are blown off. Not as graphic as it sounds, quite comically executed. Swearing is moderate to strong depending on what dialogue options you choose. You can also take drugs off screen, however no drugs in the game actually exist. You are able to have sex with prostitutes (off screen), however you never have to, it's purely a choice of the players. All up, should be fine for MATURE 12 year olds, otherwise get your kids the original Fallout.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written byNolabird September 14, 2014
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Fallout

This can be a great game for your kid. I love the 1950's feel the game has. The game has a few odd moments ex the first time you see a deathclaw or when you find the town of andale. the game has drugs and drinking but they will make your character sick and die. the cursing is a little much at times,but mostly isn't that bad. overall good for kids 13 and up
What other families should know
Easy to play/use
Too much violence
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking

Pages