All member reviews for Far Cry 2

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

A violent but graphically superior shooter.

Age(i)

NOT FOR KIDS

Quality(i)

 

Learning(i)

Users say

(out of 28 reviews)
AGE
12
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Teen, 17 years old Written bySpotlight Sunny D July 28, 2009
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Good for teens...on the mature side

This game is really great. there are many different vehicles to drive including jeeps dune buggies even hand gliders. many different realistic weapons. very long story line. But very graphic. Most of the missions are assasinations, sabotage etc. the most gruesome parts are while restoring your health at the critical, the charachter will pull bullets out of the legs, arms hands etc. sometimes will pop the broken bone back into place. even cauterize bullet wounds closed with a lighter. Great for older kids but if your against blood and gore not right for you. occasionally some swearing but not too bad...
What other families should know
Too much violence
Adult Written byimconcernedblah... February 22, 2009
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

This was gold

A truly great game.
Parent of a 12 and 14 year old Written bythunder1 February 4, 2009
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

Ok for kids 11-12 and up.

This seems fine. Most kids these days are exposed to these words cause of older kids on the bus or kids in the hall swearing about a bad grade on their test. Simply put, kids don't tell parents when they're exposed to this cause they don't want them to worry. Also. Whenever you do hit someone with anything well usually if you stab a knife into someone nothing more than a little blood. If you hit something and someone catches on fire usually they fall over and you don't see it. You shoot them a little blood comes out. I would be much more worried about TV shows these days. So again kids 11-12 should be able to play the game. There are no sexual themes as far as I know. And I've played this before. And just a big FYI to parents! In these games they only say swears once or twice.
Kid, 10 years old July 2, 2014
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

The underrated gem

This game is truly a gem the age rating suggestions are no 1 they are learning about the savannah[which by the i come from Africa]no 2 the swearing is rarely heard the only heard is s--t and very unoccasional f--k no 3 the violence is rarely disturbing the meat locker is a bit though i hope this helped u decied
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Easy to play/use
Safety and privacy concerns
Kid, 11 years old March 12, 2010
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

yes for tweens 9-14 +

i'm a 11 and i think is the best game,i would let my kids play it (if i had some) cause i know it's a good game.there is some swears but they probaly have heared them from there parents
Teen, 16 years old Written byLevi Tupper February 10, 2013
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

Great Plot, Mediocre Game

The storyline of the game is absolutely thrilling and spectacular, and really makes you want to find out more and progress. However, the mechanics of the game are... less than spectacular. The combat system is archaic and underdeveloped, and since the entire game is combat based, it ruins everything. Online play is mediocre as well. I would personally rather read a book called Far Cry 2 than play this game.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 16 years old Written byiamJMAN00793 September 2, 2010
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

Boring M-rated shooter

Far Cry 2 is a mediocre shooter with constant violence and blood shed toward soldiers and civilians alike. Many of the characters in the game use frequent fowl language including the f- and s-words. There is also some drug reference such as you having to take pills when you catch malaria and inject yourself with some drug to heal you wounds. Now let me say that when I start a game I usually finish it, I didn't finish Far Cry 2. There was nothing fun about the game, the guns were no fun to shoot and jam frequently if your not using your own, the vehicles are boring to drive and there was a lot of 'go here and talk to this guy then go over there and shoot these guys so you can go back and tell the guy you just left that you did what he asked'. Overall Far Cry 2 is a very shallow and repetitive FPS.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 11 years old July 1, 2010
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

great intense game for 1+

there is blood in the game but its not disgusting like a slasher movie the gun fights are very intense you can not cause post Morten damage. the payer has to take prescription drugs but that is a good thing suitable for 11 year olds
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 15 years old Written bycross_breed April 3, 2010
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Fun 1st Person Open World

Far Cry 2 is made by possibly the most graphically centered company to date, Crytek. Crytek also manufactured the game with the greatest graphics of all time, a PC exclusive called Crysis. So, needless to say, Far Cry 2 is extremely impressive, graphically. The gameplay is fun, although the controls can be extremely overwhelming at times. As for the content, the violence is easily the most prevalent bit of questionable content. The game is not gory, but it is bloody. Corpses never really disappear and shooting corpses causes more blood to come out. Lots of explosions, shootings, and some pretty graphic finishing moves with the machete. As for the language, I don't know what game some of you are playing, but, while it's not Grand Theft Auto, there are reasonably frequent F-bombs. I'd say if you aren't offended by language, it'll be fine. Fourteen plus.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Adult Written bymooseman May 25, 2009
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

Great game for kids in their late teens

Right off the bat i'm just gonna say the alleged "sexual content" the ESRB put in the rating is non existant. I don't know if using the F word constitutes this for the ESRB but through the hours and hours i've played this game, i have not seen or heard any mention of sexual content. The game is a little bloody, but like the commonsense review said, its bloodiest moments are when you extract a bullet from your arm or pop a limb back into place. i suppose their are some ethical issues in the fact that you fight for both sides of an African civil war and you get paid in diamonds. the language is strong, but not excessive or gratuitous. there is one reference to Khat in it. I would say it's appropriate for kids 15 and up.
Adult Written byvader123 November 25, 2008
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

great bloody game

this game is amazing but has a lot of blood and grusome moments they say the f word and s word
Kid, 12 years old January 18, 2015
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Great FPS, little bit bloody

Farcry 2 is an FPS, so there's blood. It's not too bad though, there's no mutilations or dismemberment. You only ever have to kill enemies, but you can shoot anyone you wish to. Healing is quite bloody, pulling bullets out of arms, etc. A few swear words, lots of F bombs, about 5 uses of c*nt. Some minor drug references, no drugs are used though. No sex at all. Should be fine for 11-12+
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 14 years old Written bykhylejparkour August 1, 2014
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Great for its time

This is a stunning game, not the best but in 2008 when it came out I was impressed. It has no real parts of intense violence. It has some difficult missions, 3 maybe four. But this game would be acceptable for a kid 12 and over.
What other families should know
Easy to play/use
Kid, 9 years old July 4, 2014
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

It's not horrible age 12 and up is ok

if there 9 and its good you can set people on fire but it's ok.But there are privacy conserns for me on multiplayer
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Safety and privacy concerns
Teen, 16 years old Written bycoltsrock18 January 18, 2013
AGE
14
QUALITY
 
LEARNING

Good game for mature teen.

This video game portrays an environment in Africa during war between rival factions. The game, of course, is violent but nearly not as bad as other M rated video games. The language is not the best, but this can be avoided by turning the subtitles off in the menu, as well as the voices of characters. In all, this is a great game for teens 14+. This game is educational in a sense as well, giving you a realistic feel of warring Africa.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Kid, 10 years old December 2, 2012
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

FAR CRY 2

DO NOT BUY THIS GAME !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Its extremely violent and has strong sexual content. Its not for ages under 17 and they use words like f*** and d** NEVER EVEN PLAY IT!!!!!
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Safety and privacy concerns
Teen, 13 years old Written bycerealkiller189 March 18, 2012
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

Good for 12s and up.

I have this for my Mac and Gamecube.Its very fun and immersive.ai love the FC series and knew I just had to get this.And it wasn't a bad decision either.In fact,I think the only bad thing about the game was the quality of the action-and the copious blood and gore.You can blow enemies up and see showers of crimson mists erupting.And your character is very sailor mouthed.But if you aren't sick in the head and are above 12,this game is for you(unless,of course,you don't have a console or don't like Far Cry,in which case Halo is recommended.)
What other families should know
Too much violence
Parent Written byTaCTiCaLxReFLeX March 7, 2012
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

No sexual themes, just some language

No sexual themes whatsoever in the whole game, I have no idea why it is rated for that. not a lot of cussing but 1 or 2 times f-bomb is dropped. its nothing compared to what kids hear at school or out in public.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 13 years old Written bywestertin January 29, 2011
AGE
12
QUALITY
 
this game is better than far cry 1 because you can pick the character,buy guns,jam and degrade guns,heal yourself,make every one know who's boss,a great online mode,and just play around.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Safety and privacy concerns
Parent of a 17 year old Written byGore Guy December 18, 2010
AGE
11
QUALITY
 
this game was fun but it gets very boring after 2 days and it is also very short but the graphics and realisim is epic

Pages