All member reviews for Final Fantasy XIII

Common Sense Media says

Gorgeous fantasy RPG with combat & some suggestive scenes.

Users say

(out of 36 reviews)
age 11+
Review this title!
Parent Written bysherlock1701 November 19, 2014
This often-underrated game is a good choice for most ages. In spite of the combat-centric gameplay, it's blood-free, and the language is pretty mild. The story is enjoyable, with good characters and profound lessons that can positively influence young and old alike. Top it off with beautiful graphics and an amazing soundtrack, and a simple but nuanced control system (some complain it's too simple: the fact is that the controls are designed to be as simple or complex as your individual approach to gameplay, melding to the user's preferences). A few thematic elements and disturbing creatures are perhaps the biggest concerns, but if you let your kids play Zelda or the more recent Mario games, there's no reason they can't play this.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Easy to play/use
Parent of a 9 year old Written byShizuko November 26, 2013

Final Fantasy XIII

My only main problem with Final Fantasy XIII may just be that younger children may find it incredible difficult to follow and the characters chemistry and relations throughout their Journey, Others may simply find it too difficult or slow paced for their liking. Final Fantasy XIII yes is combat heavy but it does not dwell on violence or detail in anyway and defeated enemies simply disappear off the battle ring, Cut scenes feature some suggestive acts implied within the games dialog but is nothing more than brief talk. Final Fantasy XIII is nothing to worry about your Children playing it may just appeal to a little slow for their liking. Rated –G… Mild Fantasy Violence and Themes
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 11 years old December 11, 2010
it has profenty like he-l da-n and a-s
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 17 years old Written bydavidguitar15..... March 9, 2012

perfect for tweens and up

This game is really fun, but it's boss fights are extremely hard....there really isn't much sex...the most you will see on the girl characters is skin and thats it....the volience is bloodless and there is very little language. i recamend it.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written byairborneali98 February 26, 2012

Final Fantasy XIII

The story line is really good, and for a rated T game, it's about as clean as your gonna get. The profanity is mild and infrequent. The message of fighting against a corrupt government and saving people's lives can definitely be seen as a positive message. All around, this game is good for kids 12 & up, and, depending on the child, maybe even 11-year-olds, too.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written bydarkangle September 29, 2011

ffxlll

like 3 dam- 3 hel- thats all
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Teen, 14 years old Written byrockrgrl637 February 6, 2011

Great game, but a little mature for tweens

There's lots of violence and a bit of profanity, but, other than the annoying sounds that come out of one of the character's mouth, there is really not much that could pass as being too sexual. Otherwise, it is a really fun game and it presents a good message of fighting against a corrupted government. Also, it has quite a diverse cast... not all the characters are white.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Great messages
Great role models
Adult Written byMr. Kitsune May 9, 2010

Great for teenagers and up.

First of all, i don't care that the critics say about it being too linear and not true to the series. I actually Liked the mostly linear parts of the game because the story and characters are the most important parts of any Final Fantasy. Secondly, there is a reason the game holds your hand through the first half: it's easily the hardest Final Fantasy game to date! I couldn't find anything that would deter a perent from preventing their kids from playing this game apart from some mild language and violence, which is a given in any T rated game, however, most people without fast reflexes and a comlpete understanding of the battle system may have your kids crying in your lap eventually.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Great messages
Great role models
Parent Written byPlague April 6, 2010

Final Fantasy XIII

Epic and highly entertaining. You'll be playing this game for hours.
What other families should know
Great role models
Adult Written byAmirshaw March 10, 2010

Perfect for tweens.

This game is a pretty good game, little bit of violence but not too bad, overall is it it fine for about tweens.. Won't even cost a thing to get the game if you did what i did, I signed up at this link gifts4points.com/home?ref=amirshaw and did a few surveys and got the game free, but overall this game is great.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Kid, 9 years old August 31, 2015

Awesome!

Ok, This game really isn't that bad, i wolud rate it 8 and up there is not many swear words and if they do swear there's the words, H*** Da** that all and the Sexual Themes and suddel SO yeah xDD
What other families should know
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written byAbbyetta June 8, 2015

Interesting Storyline

Final Fantasy XIII is very easy to play. The controls are simple. It has a very interesting story line. it is very much like watching a movie. There isn't very much profanity. The thing I dislike about this game is that the female characters, including a teen/tween character are dresses very scantily.
What other families should know
Easy to play/use
Adult Written byChrisH. November 25, 2014
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 15 years old Written bySaad1Khan November 19, 2014
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written byRedmage July 7, 2014
Teen, 17 years old Written byGirlGamerReviews22 February 25, 2014
LEARNING

Great For Anyone!!

I really enjoyed this game and I think the kids will love it too!!! When I played the game I barely heard any bad words the only words I heard was damn and for all the parents who don't like their kids to play call of duty and other shooting games this one is for you all you do is kill and fight robots yes the boss battles are hard but you get the hang of it eventually... The game has a great story and lots of positive role models.. The only thing O would find kinda iffy for kids is the women's clothing some of it is kind shows skin and the thigh and stuff but is not bad.. I think you should buy it great game!!
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 12 years old July 18, 2012

I dunno. Entertitlehere xD

I'm 12 years old and I really love this game. At first it's a bit confusing; like Inception only less confusing xD It's just sort of hard to follow for young kids. But it's really fun and the storyline is really interesting- if you can find it. However, it is pretty violent- one of the characters being a VERY violent ex-soldier and being an RPG game all you do while playing is run around and fight people. You may not want to let your kids play this if you don't want them exposed to violence and such. Also, it does have suggestive themes- as it says in the description- so that's something to keep in mind. As totally wicked as this game is, I wouldn't recommend it for children under the age of 10.
Teen, 15 years old Written byhusker97 March 3, 2012

one of the best games ive played

its a realy good game. Tweens and Teens will both love it.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 10 years old February 21, 2012

Not very good:(

Not as great as i thought.Its kind of like pokemon:(.DO NOT RECOMED TO ANYONE WHO HATES POKEMON OR GAMES LIKE THAT.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Teen, 14 years old Written bypitatron February 12, 2012

GREAT GAME WITH FEW FLAWS...

This is the best RPG on XBOX-360 and PS3. The violence in this game is actually pretty mild. The battles are flashy, fun and can get very fast paced and intense, but nothing bloody or gorey ever in this game. When an enemy dies it fades away. The story is pretty good, but kind of lame and this game has an over abundance of pointless cutscenes. When you hit an enemy, it makes a noise, depending what enemy and weapon your holding. The sounds are bit unrealistic though. The language is pretty mild, just a few d*mn, h*ll, and a*s. The suggestive themes is pretty mild too. There is a scene where you see a naked teenage girl, but it is obscured with lighting and clever camera angles, no actual nudity is shown. Many girls wear mid-driffs and have some clevage. One character has a revealing top, but she seen, on just 3 occassions and it is not that revealing in the first place. It is a little bit educational because, of how you have to see what character and roles fit the enemies you are fighting. The character are positive role models, because they fight for there world, even if it risks their own lives. Characters fight some humans, but more evil blobs, robots and bird things. Overall the game is not that inappropriate, just some minor things, if you want some thing to do, then I suggest trying this out.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing

Pages