All member reviews for Gears of War: Judgment

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging, great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging, good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging, good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging, okay learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

Bloody sci-fi shoot 'em up is laced with profanity.

Age(i)

NOT FOR KIDS

Quality(i)

 

Learning(i)

Users say

(out of 10 reviews)
AGE
13
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Educator and Parent Written byyomama123 July 18, 2013
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

rated e

amazing not violent at all it should be rarted e
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Safety and privacy concerns
Kid, 12 years old June 10, 2013
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Very good game with some bad attributes

First off very gory body parts will be dismembered easy by a close range shotgun or cutting some one in half with a chainsaw gun, The language isn't too bad. Lots of violence. Very entertaining story that you son or daughter will like.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Parent Written byFRELL89 April 1, 2013
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

A mild game, if you turn the blood off.

Gears of war has blood, but the great thing is about this game is that you can take away any of the swearing or blood if you're uncomfortable with it. When you turn everything off, it reminds me of halo, which is a very mild game. as you all know common sense blow things out of proportion, so no, you cannot hear the aliens shriek in pain if they die. the grunt, like in every other shooter.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 16 years old Written byshark bait March 30, 2013
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

very fun game

it is a great game, it is bloody and there is occasional strong language but there is an option to turn of gore and strong language so kids 10 and up should be able to play this game.
Teen, 13 years old Written byleakingrye May 5, 2013
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Lt.baird arrested for nothing

Really good it's sutible for some teen's but not all I love it. The launge in this os not bad compaird to gears 3. This game has not a lot of launage.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Parent Written bykeith7198 September 19, 2013
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

Great action, story, & content filter

"Gears: Judgement" is an interesting installment into the "Gears of War" franchise. It features two seperate stories - one brand new and the other a continuation from the "Gear of War 3" storyline. The new story is fantastic with an amazing new look to the graphics. The gameplay is also crisp and fun. Multi-player verses and co-op is back making this a nice package for Gears fans. CONTENT SUMMARY: I've always applauded the "Gears of War" games for offering kids and adults CHOICE. There is a blood and gore filter and a strong language filter which allows for you to tailor the game to your preferences. It has been a work in progress since the first Gears game and this may be the best one. Why more companys don't do this is beyond me. The filter works wonders. Without the filter be warned. There is plenty of strong profanity and the blood and gore is heavy. Body parts fly from grenades and chainsaws and blood flows from the barrages of bullets. It earns its "M" rating. But again, if that's not what you want you can turn it off in the options menu. It's a great feature.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Parent of a 12 year old Written bysupermom111 September 2, 2013
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

fine

like most common sense users i realized that the initial review given by the common sense admins is usually pretty farfetched and makes all mature games sound much worse than they actually are. So, when I read the review on this game I decided it my motherly duty to inform parents of what they should actually be concerned about in this game, nothing. If your child owns Halo or Skyrim (2 other sci fi first person games) they should be informed that Gears of War Judgement is another great way to avoid having your child kill humans in their favorite game. Gears of War has some language but this problem can be avoided by turning the volume down when your child plays. Also, the only time there was any language was during the story mode, so if your child likes playing multiplayer you shouldn't have to worry about language. Sex and drugs is not an issue in this game making it a great game to add onto my 12 year old son's OK to play list. For other common sense users here are some other games that should be fine for your 12 or older: Skyrim Halo Starwars battle front
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Kid, 11 years old January 4, 2014
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

Think Twice Before Letting Little Jimmy Play This One!

I have beaten all GOW games, including Judgement. I think that it is suitable for kids 10+ if you turn swearing and gore off! but that basically takes the whole fun out of it. It is ok for people 15+ with gore and language on. There isn't a lot of language as you may think, but the violence is non-stop. You stick a chainsaw into an alien and watch guts and body parts fly everywhere and on your screen!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Kid, 12 years old January 27, 2015
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Changing setting

On this game you are able to go into the setting and turn violence and swearing of. It is then rated a 12. And over.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Easy to play/use
Teen, 15 years old Written bySaad1Khan December 26, 2014
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

Great game

Cool game as violent as Battlefield series and Call of duty series and contains cussing words f---,sh-t,as----e,f----r which I usually hear at my high school
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing