All member reviews for Gears of War

Common Sense Media says

Hot sci-fi shooter for adults only.
 

Users say

(out of 150 reviews)
age 12+
 
Review this title!
Adult Written by11BK201 April 9, 2011
age 16+
 

An incredible co-op for mature gamers!

I play this game with the extreme content filter on because of the language and violence. Even with the filter the language still surprised me with plenty of words like sh*t, b*tch, and some more milder profanities. Some of these words are in the script during story development and some are during the actual gameplay. You hear the phrase "Eat sh*t and die!" multiple times throughout the games as NPC's kill enemies. Without the filter it is much worse. The filter does however take out much of the harsher violence. Without the filter you can literaly blow enemies apart with the shotgun or saw them in half with the cainsaw bayonet. All of the violence is extremely bloody often spraying up onto the screen. WITH the filter there is no blood and enemies do not fall apart. The screen still tints red when you are shot but it is not gruesome. Some of the environments can be a little disturbing with or without the filter. Some areas depict the after math of human encounters with aliens. Bodies are strewn about often in very bad shape (dismembered, bloodied, slightly decayed, etc...) However, none of it is very bad if you don't look closely at it. The strong point of this game is playing through the story mode with another player. The level of cooperation needed is incredible. My brother and I spend a lot of time playing this game together. It's a fun way to spend time with a good friend or family member. In the end, this is a great game; great controls, graphics, gameplay and co-op. It is dark and violent but this can mostly be avoided with the filter. It is however, still a game about war so it is best for more mature gamers
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Adult Written bysuperparent99 October 4, 2011
age 11+
 

Overrated

People say that this game is super inappropriate. First off, let me say that the violence is all from the aliens, spewing alien blood. Also, the game is extremely fast paced so you don;t even really pay attention to the violence. The language is bad, but nothing any kid over 12 doesn't hear on a daily basis. And to top all this off, there is a filter to turn both these things off. When that happens, the game easily becomes T instead of M
Kid, 10 years old February 3, 2011
age 12+
 

Great

You can tell by the cover of Gears of War that it is going to be very violent. Even though this game is great the realistic violence is very intense and very gory. At some points you get a chainsaw to cut up your foes. s**t, and the F word are said.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Kid, 12 years old January 3, 2011
age 13+
 

Very good. One of the best games I have.

This game is very fun, but it is pretty intense. When I find a dead body of one of the COG's, there is blood splattered everywhere. And the language is pretty foul. I only heard the f-word like twice and there is an occasional s-word and d-word with there alternatives. Also there is an in-game filter where you can turn of the gore and language.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written byxboxrulerandpcruler July 24, 2011
age 5+
 
Parent of a 12 year old Written byBioshocker March 3, 2011
age 8+
 

Depends on the Family.

I think this is a great game, but it depends on the family. The bad words can be turned down (just turn off your volume on your TV!!) And the gore can be filtered out. This takes this game's rating down to a perverbilal "T." No sexual content, no crude humor. And, it's a fun game.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Teen, 15 years old Written byawinnik January 15, 2011
age 2+
 
sure there is some violence but who could make a better role model that the cole train? WHOOOO!!!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Parent of a 9 year old Written byGaming_Parent April 2, 2015
age 9+
 

its fine

I think that this game is age appropriate for nine year olds because I know there Is a lot of blood in the game but there is this feuture just like in the call of duty games were you can turn off the blood even with the second game so it really does not matter it would be rated teen if that was a permanent thing
What other families should know
Great role models
Teen, 15 years old Written byFishynmn September 4, 2014
age 15+
 

Excellent, unique alien shooter is very gory, but one of the best around.

Parents should know that the critically acclaimed blockbuster Gears of War is no doubt one of the best game franchises in the history of gaming. This intense, fast-paced 3rd person shooter is a must have for any hardcore gamer. There has been a lot of debate on the Violence on the Gears of War franchise, and all those debates are for good reason, because Gears of War is extremely violent in a particularly gory sense of the meaning. There is a lot of gory headshots and chainsaws sawing aliens in half. Despite all of the heavy Gore in the game, in my opinion, it doesn't feel as strong as, say, Call of duty: Black Ops because the Violence Is inflicted on aliens, with the exception of the gory details when your character dies. Please note that there is probably more Gore here then on Black Ops. The language isn't as strong as most Mature rated shooters. There is only a few uses of f--k (about a half-dozen). There is, on the contrast, a significant abundance of Moderate and mild profanity, including s--t, g-d--n, etc. Probably around the range of say, Fifty profanities or more. There is a content filter that cleans up all the Gore and strong language. Even with this filter the game is still violent and has some moderate profanity! If your still unsure about all strong violence and language, I will remind you that at the time gears of first came out, it was unofficially considered the most violent game of its time, and was considered slightly controversial due to all the strong violence. Recommended that parents check out the game before letting and kids or young teenagers play.it.
What other families should know
Great role models
Easy to play/use
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Kid, 11 years old December 7, 2013
age 11+
 

OVER RATED

WELLLLLL this is the best game ever. i play it a lot and find it very awesome. who cares about the gore. the marines are like family. very good game.
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written byYoyosAreWeapons November 27, 2013
age 13+
 

Gears Of War Warnings

Gears of War is an extremely violent, but really fun third person shooter! WARNING FOR PARENTS: LANGUAGE IS USED ALL OF THE TIME, IT USES ANY WORD YOU CAN THINK OF. ALSO REALLY VIOLENT. BLOOD AND GORE AND SMASHED HEADS AND RIPPED APART LIMBS AND BODIES. I personally think the story is great and the game itself is really fun. I say that only young kids should not be introduced to such violence.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 15 years old Written byAngrygoldfish3 April 21, 2013
age 13+
 

"T" Rated With Filter On

Ok so lets get this straight, Gears of War is like a third person Halo with a strong emphasis on cooperative multiplayer. There are so many complaints about this game because of language and blood that are compleately false. I hate to be the devils advocate for this sort of thing, but the game has built in filters for both of these issues so the "f bomb" is never dropped, and gore is not shed (combating the website review, enemies are not blown apart, decapitated or sawed in half) all readily accessable through the options menu. Now I do agree that with the filters off, the game earns its "m" rating, with them on it is comparable to "t" rated games like the conduit, and 007 golden eye. If you let your child play Halo or any similar titles it is more than appropriate for them. In short just because gears of war has an "m" on the front of the box does not mean that you should veto the game, it is a great multiplayer experience to enjoy with friends and again as stated (even in the site review) you are fighting aliens not people to save the world
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Adult Written bygoaliemon00mrtc April 13, 2013
age 18+
 

Violent but fun

one of the best shooters out there with no loading screens. There are settings you can turn off the mature gore and language.
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 16 years old Written byshark bait March 30, 2013
age 10+
 

you can turn of gore and strong language so everybody can play it if they want to.

this game is quite bloody, but you can go into the game options and turn off gore and strong language which would then make it rated T. i think anyone could play this game if they wanted to. the only violent thing about it is the shooting and you are shooting alien reptile things(meaning they are not humans or anything related to them).
What other families should know
Too much violence
Parent Written byArc-Demon March 28, 2013
age 3+
 

AWESOME!!

Great for kids. Tell's family's how to repel an invasion. The best thing about this game is, it prepairs people for the real word, such as cutting your way through bad people when things are not going your. Highly recomond for familys.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 15 years old Written byJust a Thought March 17, 2013
age 13+
 

GOW

This game has you saving the world and killing aliens in your path really not for kids but you can turn off the graphic content
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 14 years old Written byanandbasi October 15, 2012
age 13+
 

Very good game!

Gears of war is a shooter based in a dystopic future. The game features enemies called locusts who are giant alien type men who have been planning an attack on humans for years. The game is a Third person shooter which is not easy. You can die after taking about 3 shots in the game and that’s only on the easiest difficulty. It is still a great game to play The game is quite gory. But to be honest, there are gorier and more explicit games out there to worry about. The real only offence in the game is the gore. The swearing is infrequent and there is no sex or drug content. The game is rated M in the USA which means that it has blood and some limb dismemberment. It is rated 18 in the UK because it has blood puddles. (When blood leaks out of an enemy onto the floor) i also forgot to mention you do get a chainsaw in the game which does make some gory moments. But you are'nt killing humans so it is'nt actually to offensive. If you are someone who doesnt care whether you are killing humans or not, just imagine this. if there was a locust invasion which has wiped out the world except from a few survivors. Then you probably would fight the locust. same applies with a zombie apocalypse. If you were inside a house and a zombie was about to break in. you wouldn’t stand there and say “im not going to attack it. That’s violence.” Then you are going to get killed. So you will have to fight to survive. Anyway the game does have blood in it and limb dismemberment but there are WAY gorier games out there. There are games where you kill innocent people (Grand theft auto) and there are games where you kill humans instead of the “locusts” with the same amount of gore (F.E.A.R). This game is superb but is not very long and the multiplayer is a bit uncompelling. For this version of the game I would say rent because you could finish it over a weekend and maybe even finish it in a day (if you play or do nothing else). This review also applies for the other gears of war games. Only difference is that gears of war 2 and 3 have a much better and much more popular multiplayer. So if you want any of them for multiplayer, buy gears of war 3 and rent the others unless you want to keep them. Then buy all of them. The first 2 should be pretty cheap now a days. If you are a parent reading this to see if you should get this game for a child. Id say wait until they are about 13. This is a gory game but again, there are gorier games and you aren’t killing humans in this one. And if you are a dad reading this. I would say you would enjoy this game too. Buy it or rent it now!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Adult Written bydarthsitkur August 20, 2012
age 15+
 

i love this game and i love the graphic novel as well

I have both the game and the graphic novel and they're both really badass, the game and the graphic novel have tons of bloody and gory action
Teen, 13 years old Written byxboxteenwatcher July 5, 2012
age 15+
 

Watch out

I think this game looks cool but you do not need to get to adicted. Reason One: this game contains some very strong language that can be very offenseve. Reason Two: this game has some blood and tons of gore, that may scare any kids about the age of 10 or 11. They may not show it but its true. And finally, Reason Three: No positive messages at all No positive role models either. Game is better suitable for 15 years and up.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Adult Written byBalt.RavensFan2001 January 27, 2012
age 15+
 

One of my favorite games

I am a die hard gears fan i own all 3 games, all the books and am a proud owner of a pair of COG Tags but this is NOT a game for kids under 17, although I have played online with kids as young as 12, However ALL three games have a mature content option that turns the blood and language OFF turning a M rated game to a T rated game. So all in all this is not a game for kids but parents can turn off all the mature content in the options menu.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing

Pages