All member reviews for Grand Theft Auto IV: The Ballad of Gay Tony

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging, great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging, good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging, good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging, okay learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Kids say

(out of 51 reviews)
AGE
13
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Teen, 15 years old Written byphr3shxboi December 11, 2009
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

Ifffy game for any immature person regardless of age. But definatly not for ANYONE under the age of 15 years old

This game is by far the 2nd best GTA game with San Andreas being better by far. But this game is only for the mature audience not for littl3 dumb 14 and younger kids. Especially the ones with absolutely no street smarts. Im only 15 years old. True, but im a very mature 15 year old. I also have ADHD. True, But that doesnt make me do crazy things. I do stuf with out thinking though. But im not no gangster or nothing. Im the average 15 year old african-american male teen. I actually get almost all A's i finished my freshman year with a 4.0. SO you should get my point by now. Although im all the above. This review is very unbiased. Personally my mom doesnt want me playing games like this. But i do because its actually fun.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Educational value
Kid, 12 years old July 22, 2012
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

Misleading but Good Game

This is a violent but satisfying game, even though you play it through the eyes of a bad guy, you know that the game is not real in any way. Also, the title is called Grand Theft Auto, which drops some hints about the game, so dont buy it if you are not going to let your child play it.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 10 years old December 19, 2011
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

GREAT FOR KIDS I WOULD DATE NICO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written bybunnyboy389 May 26, 2010
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Let older ones play this game and let the younger ones play Mario Kart Wii

Alright, I am only 13 and play this game. I learned about this stuff already. I still play it because it is fun. I honestly wouldn't let children under the age of 14 or 15 play. This game is VERY mature. The language is crazy, The Sexxx isn't full on contact but you still have sexual refrences, Drug wars, etc. This game is the s**t but not appropriate for younger children.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Safety and privacy concerns
Kid, 7 years old April 7, 2010
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

i like it

love it
What other families should know
Safety and privacy concerns
Teen, 17 years old Written byChanner February 18, 2010
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

Perfect for everyone

I have no idea why people are saying this game is bad. It's perfect for your kid! It teaches them that talking out your problems is the best way to solve them, because each time you kill someone, the screen displays a message saying what they have done is wrong. The people saying this game is bad for your kids are lying, it's perfect for your kids!
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 15 years old Written byASSASSINator February 1, 2010
AGE
14
QUALITY
 
I have this game and I have to tell you it's a great game however some of the content in this game is pretty rough like the sexual content. They still have there clothes on but they show movement but luckily they can easily be avoided. It's a little bit iffy for 14 year olds but I think that as long as they know what not to do, I'd recommend this game. The only thing that's rough in this game is the sexual content but they can ALL be avoided though.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Teen, 13 years old Written byAscari January 19, 2010
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Good if you are sensible

I think this game will be great if parents trust that us kids wont get the wrong idea
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byReviewerkid13 December 18, 2009
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Too extreme.

Well, in the old GTA, it was simple stealing cars with ok weapons and stuff, no GTA has gone too extreme. RPG's, gatling guns, Urban Assault tanks. It's not even much of a hijacking game anymore. It's more like terrorists so if you want to play a real GTA, play the older versions.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Safety and privacy concerns
Teen, 15 years old Written byarchive360 November 17, 2009
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

a great game for all ages

this game is perfect for your young son, teaching him great things about life. get it!
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 14 years old Written bymad gamer October 28, 2014
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

live the gangster party lifestyle in this game

The game is about a assisstent to a nightclub owner who always gets in trouble with powerful criminals and you have to clean up his mess you have to keep your in debt mother from a dangerous loan shark you have to drug deal with your best friends is this a game you want a kid playing no you have to be a mature teen who understands the dangers of crime and who will not commit crime in real life drug use is also high in one cutscene a group of main charcters are sitting on a couch high laufing their heads off for no reason
What other families should know
Easy to play/use
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 12 years old April 13, 2014
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

i dont think people ever even play the games!

how would you like it if someone randomly beat you up, shot you and then jacked your car?
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 10 years old February 21, 2014
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Fun, open world experience. Second best Grand Theft Auto game.

Not much nudity, if you tell your kids not to go to the strip club which is featured in the game, there is no sexual content, period. The violence is your choice. You don't have to. The language is only if you're taunting or playing the campaign. All of these things don't have to be in the game. No violence, sex or swearing. You can parachute and ride helicopters. Drugs and drinking are also optional.
What other families should know
Easy to play/use
Too much violence
Teen, 13 years old Written bydrdeafult October 5, 2013
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

overated

Its not as bad as they say , beacuse most peapole want this game so they can blow up stuff and jump off of buldings not have sex
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 10 years old September 18, 2013
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

very bad

This game is worse than saints row because there is a glitch where you have sex with a girl
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Safety and privacy concerns
Kid, 12 years old August 12, 2013
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Hmm, I would think before playing

I bought GTA IV for PC in December of 2012 mainly to play LCPDFR, a popular modification that allows players to be a police officer. Just recently, I played Grand Theft Auto IV: The Ballad of Gay Tony as well as the main GTA IV, and they are both very obscene. Even my uncle (when he and I were playing and taking turns) said the language was just outrageous. My uncle does not know that I am educated about sex and he doesn't feel right when characters make sexual references. Which they do, A LOT, and that is the reason this game is slightly more obscene than the main GTA IV. Let's just go over some points here: Violence: There is a lot of violence in this game. However, I would not be concerned about violence, as there is not too much gore, and come on, with all that's going on in the world, you have to educate your child about violence and the way things work now. I, personally, am very against guns, and take no interest in them, however this game happens to use them. The graphics are not as realistic as some of the newer games, but some missions do involve a lot of gore, especially one mission in the main GTA IV, where the main character (Niko Bellic - a Russian who has come to Liberty City to live with his cousin) has to kill another character. When Niko Bellic pulls the trigger, the character is shot in the head, and blood does come squirting out of his eye, but if your child is mature enough, they should know that killing is a serious offense to religion and the law. Drugs: So far, The Ballad of Gay Tony isn't too bad with drug references. I'm on one of the missions slightly into the game and it doesn't look like there are many drug references in this iteration of Grand Theft Auto IV, and that's always a good sign, but again, you do need to educate your child on these things in life. If you are playing this, you are probably around 12-13+, so eventually you will have to be educated on those types of things. Language: This is AN IMMENSE issue with The Ballad of Gay Tony, I mean, it even says a slightly inappropriate word in the title! Of course, inappropriate for younger children. Characters in this game act like the only words they know are obscene ones. They also make lots of sexual references when speaking. For example, there is a mission where you need to take someone and his girlfriend back to where they live. Let's say the guy's name is Dave and the girl's name is Lucy. While they are in the car on the way to the house Lucy says "What the f**k is up with Dave? He bangs any p***y he can find!" or something along the lines of that. I just do not understand what Rockstar North were thinking when developing this game, even my uncle was saying he couldn't stand it! Otherwise, it's usually the normal swearing, but as long as your child doesn't get influenced then that's fine. I have not been influenced by the language in this game at all. I'm just how I was and I've been playing this for a while now. Sexual Content: Not too much other than language. There's more in the main GTA IV. Other than that, not too much to say!
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 11 years old June 7, 2013
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Awesome, but NOT for Kids

It's a very addicting game, since you can do what you want. Though, you can blow people's heads off, and get girls to *woo-hoo*. If you don't understand what I meant, this game isn't for you, kid (twerp, teen, whatever). But, if you are THE mature kid and can handle it, go ahead and play it; it's a great open world experience.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written bygameboy12 April 21, 2013
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

GTA Eps from liberty city is o.k for 12 or 13 year olds

I think its a cool game. but i definitely think that the sex and the #! is bad, so what i do is make my son turn the volume way down and i get him through the sex and odd parts or make him come in the other room until its over. i say 12 or 13 year olds are o.k to play this game.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byadz13 March 23, 2013
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

take the route 101, which is reading this review.

awesome game. i like the story and gameplay. i have played it before and i recommend it for kids 15 and above. only let them have it if theyre mature. also think of the sex and some of the languge ( eg- mother******). In terms of which is more appropriate, call of duty is less filled with the content.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Teen, 15 years old Written byBeavisandButthead March 16, 2013
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Iffy for 13+ (teens)

I love this game
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking

Pages