All member reviews for Grand Theft Auto V

Common Sense Media says

Crime, violence, sex, drugs, and alcohol = not for kids.
 

Learning

Users say

(out of 449 reviews)
age 14+
 
Review this title!
Parent Written byJim12345 November 26, 2014
 
LEARNING

Farther of 3 kids

i have 3 kids , two aged 12 and one aged 13. They were all nagging me about this game for ages , but from what I had seen and heard it was too violent. I finallybelt them have it and it's fine ! It's quite unrealistic and it's really no worse than call of duty. My kids like to do the races and fighting and that's harmless and there's not much gore. If you children are 12 or above let them have it ! P.s I don't let them near the strip club and there is no need for them to go there.
Kid, 9 years old November 13, 2014
 
LEARNING
I have not played this game but by watching videos online I think in my opinion you have understand it is just a game you would not go and shoot someone :0
What other families should know
Great role models
Easy to play/use
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 17 years old Written byFootballluva33 September 24, 2014
 
LEARNING

Don't worry parents.

Most people will tell you it a game about drugs and violence. The truth is, if your kid is in middle school, he probably gets exposed to worse every day. (The same goes for High School.) I said that it is also a decent learning game due to the fact that it shows the struggles of Los Santos California. If your kid plays Just Cause 2, Batman Arkham series, or anything along those lines, they are mature enough to play it. The secret to not having your child be exposed to anything bad is to not go to any strip clubs. (Why would they want to anyway???) If your child is a good kid, then it's extremely likely that they won't. The average 12 to 13 year old can handle this game. I know that you are worried, but all I can say is to just let them get it. If they can't handle it, they can turn it off. Most people think that if you even walk through the streets, people will cuss, do drugs, etc. The truth is, that doesn't happen. Your kid by now probably already knows what's in the game. Just have them play as a decent person in the game. (This does NOT include Trevor.) Thanks for reading, be safe, and let them buy it.
Teen, 15 years old Written bysteven109 September 10, 2014
 
LEARNING

message to parents

this game is amazing im a teen who likes video games and IF you turn down the volume on the tv and make sure your kid dose not go in the strip clubs its fine
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 15 years old Written byTheyKilledKenny August 15, 2014
 
LEARNING

Definetly not for 12-13 yr olds, 16+

I see many parents rating this game with low child ratings. Well, maybe you should actually play the game. First the game has no morals, shooting random innocents is actually not discouraged. It follows with a fun police chase. Cursing and middle fingers are seen and heard. The game has a lot of sexual content, including a strip club where strippers will strip and prostitutes that players can have sex with in the car.(Not really clear visuals, silhouettes sorta, but sounds are heard such as *** in my mouth.) You may trust your child not to go and do those things but trust me if they are a teenager they will do it anyway. With hormones bouncing around, there is no stopping them. Skyrim and Assassins creed are more appropriate m rated games and roleplaying. You parents saying ok for 10 and up should be ashamed, even us kids know it should be rated higher than 13. Smh.
What other families should know
Easy to play/use
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written byTheTrillonaire July 26, 2014
 

Good for Teens Bad for Kids

What other families should know
Easy to play/use
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Safety and privacy concerns
Teen, 15 years old Written byMidnightNinja15 July 7, 2014
 
LEARNING

My thoughts on GTA 5

First off, the game is not for everyone. There will be some who hate it and some who love it. Just about every adult theme you can think of can be found in this game. However, it is a masterpiece. Rockstar is well known for their critically acclaimed triple A titles and this is the best example of them. The story focuses on 3 main characters. Michael, a retired bank robber who has issues with his wife and two children. Franklin, a former gang member who is looking to move past the gang life while his best friend Lamar wants to keep him in the hood, and finally, Trevor, the most iconic of the trio, a complete psychopath and most likely one of the most amoral video game protagonists in recent history. Despite this, he is fiercely loyal to his friends and shows a softer side around Michael and his family, Franklin, and Lamar. Without giving away too much the story is very well written and I often couldn't pull myself away because I wanted to see what happens next. As for adult themes, there is a lot of foul language, sex, violence, drug use and much more. While the sex and drugs for the most part generally avoidable, the violence and language are not, as in the very beginning of the game, Michael and Trevor, who were actually partners in crime before the events of the game, engage in a heated gun battle with the local police after a heist gone wrong. Foul language is heard in nearly every cutscene and the word c**t, a word not heard in many games, is used about 20 times throughout the story, though not nearly as much as f**k or s**t which are heard much more often. Like I said before about sex, Its not a part of the story but is referenced many times. Trevor can be seen having sex in one cutscene, though both of the characters are wearing clothes. Body parts are sometimes shown such as Trevor penis and at the strip club, the strippers breasts can be seen. You can also have sex with prostitues, although this has been a feature since GTA 3 and is really nothing new. As always, the game never forces you to have sex and these features are completely optional. As for Drugs and alcohol, Trevor is a methanphetamine dealer and user ocassionally, which is one of the reasons for his psychotic personality. Michael is an acoholic and can be seen drinking in some of the cutscenes that take place in his house. Michael can also smoke weed in his sons room and Franklin can also smoke weed. However, unlike Trevor, neither of these characters ever do any hard drugs such as coke or meth. Trevor is the only one who is a drug dealer as well, although most of there income is gained from taking scores. Despite all this, there are some recreational minigames such as tennis and yoga, however, most players will often ignore these and wreak havoc on the open world of missions. Despite all of these things, GTA 5 offers a brilliant story with great characters, gameplay and graphics. The open world can also be explored with friends through the online mode, which holds up to 16 players per lobby. If you are mature enough to handle foul language and other adult themes, tell the difference between fantasy and reality, and love to explore a vast living breathing open world then Grand Theft Auto 5 is for you. The also game acts as social commentary of American culture. However I would not recommend this game to anyone under the age of 14.
What other families should know
Easy to play/use
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written bySchizophrenicHyena June 25, 2014
 
LEARNING

An Average Teen's POV - Grand Theft Auto V

Though I may be a 15 year old, meaning I'm one of the kiddos making "excuses", I am here to make a point. Keep in mind that I am a fair person, I won't make this review one-sided. Grand Theft Auto is rated M for good reasons. There're strip clubs, there's alcohol, and there's more than one way to get stoned in Los Santos. However, this is no different than the real world that we live in. When your kid grows to the age of around 14, they're well aware of these things in life. These things in the game are very real, and they always will be in our country. No matter how good your town is, there's no escaping vulgarity. Let's start with violence. In Los Santos, even if you simply stare at someone, you might as well be challenging them to a Yu-Gi-Oh match after you insulted their Blue-Eyes-White-Dragon. They will try to break your jaw, and the cops will pop you in the head and arrest you. Now, here's a fact. In Los Santos, you need to survive. With corrupt cops chasing you and pedestrians trying to rip you out of your car randomly, you need to know how to defend yourself. If someone comes around and starts shooting at you, I guarantee that not even parents who are playing will just stand there. The blood levels are not extreme. In fact, compared to other games, they are at a very low level. When it comes to sexual content, there's always a way to get out of it. You are never FORCED to go into a strip club. You can decide not to go in even if there is a mission. There are prostitutes on street corners, but the only way to pick them up is deliberately. Swearing is a thing of life, as we all know. People are swearing in the most popular songs, people are swearing while in cars after being cut off, people are swearing around town, people are swearing in school, people are swearing EVERYWHERE. When drugs, drinking, and smoking come into play, that is all a choice as well. There's only one mission where you get high, where you play as Trevor. Which was made more for the humor. Everybody was a clown and when you shot them you saw a nuclear explosion cloud that was colored purple. The game itself is beautiful. The animation and style of the landscape is absolutely top, and I would never want to fly around in a military jet anywhere else. Anyhow, I personally think that you could give this to your 13-14 year old as long as you knew that they are mature enough to handle it and won't go around getting Michael drunk and blowing crap up for no reason. Oh, and another reason why this game is great, you can get a DLC called "I'm Not a Hipster" in which you get scarves. FREAKING SCARVES, PEOPLE.
What other families should know
Easy to play/use
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written byDuck Norris June 20, 2014
 

Okay...

Since when is it okay to imagine to murder innocent people? Or to let your kids see nude strippers? Just let them watch porno i guess, not a big difference. And let them hear all of these swear words, like a dozen times in each sentence. Including all these sexual slang words and moaning when you pick up random women? WOW. YOU THINK THATS OKAY???
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Safety and privacy concerns
Teen, 17 years old Written byzissou59 June 17, 2014
 
LEARNING

Great but definitely not for kids.

The game is great but full of violence/sex/profanity/drug use. There's a mission where you need to torture someone pretty violently to advance through the story. If I'd played through that mission when I was younger it probably would've freaked me out pretty bad. Please don't listen to anyone who says this is okay for kids. It's not.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 11 years old April 27, 2014
 
LEARNING

Really people ?

I'm seeing this and I'm like blaw blaw blaw too violent this too much gore that...LISTEN gta 5 is a sandbox game. Witch means you don't have to do everything and chose your choices. And there are some side missions were you can HELP the cops. So I say to you just give in all ready! I'm seeing stubern parents like:uh!my kids are bagging to get them this and I say no. Look it's fun to play with my friends and play the story. It has the n word but just go outside and you'll hear that.
Teen, 13 years old Written byHockeyRules13 April 18, 2014
 
LEARNING

Definately mature.

Well, this game has way too much sexual content for kids. My parents don't allow me to play the game myself. But when I played it at my friends house I realized that is is targeted for adults and due to all the innapropriate content should only be played by ages 15up. That's my opinion.
Kid, 10 years old April 7, 2014
 

this game is sex driven

this is basically devoted to have sex with strippers or women that to shake there breasts like mad. you should at least be 21 before playing this game.
What other families should know
Easy to play/use
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Safety and privacy concerns
Adult Written byHailState2014 February 12, 2014
 

Are You Kidding Me?

I find it astonishing that parents on here are justifying allowing their children ages 17 and under to play this game. I will not judge any parent or bash any of them. Just make sure you are aware that your children will do those things you think they won't. If you for one minute believe your child will choose between right and wrong on a video game, especially this one, then you might want to take a step back and rethink that. The game is littered with sex, drugs, and alcohol. As a person that has played the previous games, GTA 5 takes it too far. Your children can enter strip clubs, elect to touch the strippers, and then talk them into returning home with you to have "video game sex". Not to mention they can pick up a hooker on the side of the road, engage in sex that they can see and hear, then run her over and get the money back. In the game you can get drunk off alcohol, smoke weed, and partake in other drugs and it shows you the effects. Your child has the "option" to kill innocent civilians and cops. I could maybe see allowing my child to play it if I was supervising them while they played it. But come on people... even if you trust your child 100% and think they are perfect they will do things on this game that are not appropriate for their age. Not issuing judgements here, just trying to help. There are plenty of other games that teach them money skills...
What other families should know
Easy to play/use
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent of a 11 year old Written byDeborah Flintchester December 23, 2013
 

Not as Bad as you Think

It's not that bad, you can stay away from all of the bad things but the swearing is no worse than at school. It's not bad for teens if they have a grip on reality and know that it is not real life.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byt.clipse December 21, 2013
 

GTA V

Its not that bad of a game as long as your children are mature enough to handle it.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 16 years old Written bywillman72 November 28, 2013
 

NOT FOR KIDS

at last a game i can agree with common senses decision this game has many words to describe it but for kids no way drug dealing bank robbery prostitution sex violence and lots and lot of swearing there is a strip minigame were you must touch the stripper as much as you can without getting caught to get the pleasure meter up and when its full you can take her home thats definitly not a kid minigame ( aint it funny how kids are more honest on this game than adults) if your kid wants a game like gta get hin saints row 4 it is less realistic than gta and more humorous
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Safety and privacy concerns
Adult Written bylavc June 28, 2015
 

Good game but inappropriate.

This game is like saints row 3 but worse!!! the game has all the swears , and if you think this game has sex it doesent . It has blood but not in the beginning the end,it has some rape , and also prostitutes. So I think its okay for a ten year old.
What other families should know
Easy to play/use
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Safety and privacy concerns
Adult Written byrebecca96 June 21, 2015
 
What other families should know
Easy to play/use
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written byjsilveronnelly June 9, 2015
 

I am very suprised how many "12 and up" reviews there are. This is NOT for kids. And I'm pretty liberal about this stuff

Since this was re-released recently on next-gen consoles I thought I'd review it. First of all, this is not for children. Period. It is in no way intended to be consumed by children. Would you let your kids - Watch porn? - Watch extremely violent films like Pulp Fiction or The Godfather? (I'm using those examples because this game is as good as those movies, in video game terms) The thing is, this game is cartoony, so at some level, it may be that you will be ok with your kids playing it by some age. Say, 14 or 15. But understand that this game is exceedingly violent and contains sex acts that are pretty close to the real thing. And no, you *can't* avoid the sex and violence. If you play through, you will be *required* to: - Visit a strip club - Severely torture a hogtied victim - Kill dozens of people, often innocent ones, often brutally - Sell drugs Required. As in, they are part of the story, and you will have to do these things to progress the story. Some of the reviews I've read so far don't seem to get that. On the other hand, this is seriously one of the best video games ever made. There is so much depth in story, play, and the next gen graphics. If you have a mature teenage kid for whom you answer "yes" to my examples above, then by all means, get it for them. But I would not get it for a 12 year old. Since this is Common Sense Media, I'm emphasizing the "appropriate for kids" aspects in this review. Summary: - One of the best games ever - NOT FOR KIDS -JDS
What other families should know
Easy to play/use
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking

Pages