All member reviews for Grand Theft Auto V

Common Sense Media says

Crime, violence, sex, drugs, and alcohol = not for kids.

Learning

Users say

(out of 509 reviews)
age 13+
Review this title!
Adult Written byJakePreece July 21, 2015
LEARNING

Not the Full Game

When you ask many players about GTA V they will tell you about the single player campaign with tons of sex and swearing and drugs. What many people don't realize is that GTA Online is much better. First of all there a very few cutscenes, so the only time you hear swearing is when you shoots someone and everyone yells and runs away. The most sex you can get is at just one strip club where the girl doesn't even show you her nipples or take her bra off, same with hookers. Now that doesn't mean that you can leave this game with a Five year old while you go off to work though. It is filled to the brim with violence. With the violence it’s less physical and more get a gun and shoot some dudes in a mission so you can deliver a briefcase to a lawyer. And finally drugs. Finally there’s rugs. Drugs in GTA Online consist of smoking weed, smoking cigarettes, swallowing Cyodine to kill yourself, drinking beer, or as the game calls it "Pisswater", using steroids and delivering methamphetamines and weed to a drug dealer for money. It is to be noted that these products do have a lasting effect for a time depending on how much is used and can severely enhance or Decrease the performance of the avatar. For example if you drink Pisswater beer before you drive you will have very little of your control and will likely ram off a bridge into the ocean and die. So in all as long as you or your child doesn't have any psychotic problems GTA Online is fine.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written byjacobgamingeye0 June 27, 2015
LEARNING

great

very good game and is very violent but should be alright for 12
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Adult Written byrebecca96 June 21, 2015
What other families should know
Easy to play/use
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent of a 9 year old Written byaxl1 June 15, 2015
LEARNING

Not that bad

Ok I have a 9 year old son Xavier, I bought this for him for his birthday. I was hesitating a lot. But I already gave him "The Talk" when his friend talked to him about it. So after he popped in his xbox I noticed it wasn't as bad as I thought. Blood yes. Gore somewhat. But has he ever watched the walking dead. If so he or she is fine with the blood issue. Sex only happens twice in the game from what I recall. I played the game to the end so... I should know there's not a lot of sex. But teamwork is involved. Drugs yes. Hookers yes. Drinking yes. But if they have had the talk and knows there rights from wrong they have no problem getting this game
What other families should know
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written byjsilveronnelly June 9, 2015

I am very suprised how many "12 and up" reviews there are. This is NOT for kids. And I'm pretty liberal about this stuff

Since this was re-released recently on next-gen consoles I thought I'd review it. First of all, this is not for children. Period. It is in no way intended to be consumed by children. Would you let your kids - Watch porn? - Watch extremely violent films like Pulp Fiction or The Godfather? (I'm using those examples because this game is as good as those movies, in video game terms) The thing is, this game is cartoony, so at some level, it may be that you will be ok with your kids playing it by some age. Say, 14 or 15. But understand that this game is exceedingly violent and contains sex acts that are pretty close to the real thing. And no, you *can't* avoid the sex and violence. If you play through, you will be *required* to: - Visit a strip club - Severely torture a hogtied victim - Kill dozens of people, often innocent ones, often brutally - Sell drugs Required. As in, they are part of the story, and you will have to do these things to progress the story. Some of the reviews I've read so far don't seem to get that. On the other hand, this is seriously one of the best video games ever made. There is so much depth in story, play, and the next gen graphics. If you have a mature teenage kid for whom you answer "yes" to my examples above, then by all means, get it for them. But I would not get it for a 12 year old. Since this is Common Sense Media, I'm emphasizing the "appropriate for kids" aspects in this review. Summary: - One of the best games ever - NOT FOR KIDS -JDS
What other families should know
Easy to play/use
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written byll2 June 8, 2015
LEARNING

Idiotic parents

That any parent would come on here and depict such a lowlife game as lovely or not that bad -- saying asinine things like "if you trust your kids to not go into the strip club it's okay," I need not look any further to wonder what is wrong with the world. The last boy I knew who loved playing grand auto theft was expelled from school. Its called too much too soon people and someday your children are going to question your judgment as I do right now. Why not share your cigarettes and beer with them, too.
Parent Written byGamerDad3 May 19, 2015

Not for Kids

For those parents who have said that this is fine for kids obviously haven't played the game. Especially where Trevor, the third character is introduced. He is introduced having sex with a friends girlfriend who catches them in the act. He then proceeds to stamp on the man's head over and over whilst shouting C*** everytime he stamps on his head. You can't tell me that this is fine for kids.
Teen, 15 years old Written bychuckle-nuts May 7, 2015
LEARNING

its fine for mature teens

its fine for teens who have a mature mindset, you can do a lot of other things other than just blow stuff up and shoot civilians. the entire game is so indepth, its just CRAZY! i like to fly jets and explore the ocean using subs and jet skies, i also love BMX freestyling across the city. although the game is great there are two things parents should be aware about. there is a strip club in the game (which is completely optional), and a torture scene. the strip club is pretty pointless, because if teens want to see a naked girl, they'll just go on the internet. but, the torture scene can get pretty brutal. search it up on youtube if your worried about this but its nothing if your child has seen almost any action or thriller movie. my point is that there is soooooooooo much more to do than all the controversial stuff people see in the media. i hope this helped. :)
What other families should know
Easy to play/use
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Kid, 10 years old April 20, 2015

NOT GOOD FOR ANYONE!!! By a gamer 10 year old.

This game is terrible for everyone! Don't think I don't think it's awesome! It could be the best game of today! But it's not appropriate for anyone 17 and under. No accept ions. Oh all my friends have it and it's so good an- IT DOESN'T MATTER! Here are some reasons. You do sex. You kill cops. You torture civilians. The words F*ck A*s Sh*t Sl*t, and many more can be heard.Sure sure sex and killing is optional. Don't buy that noise! To play story mode you MUST kill. It is optional to have sex but you can't trust anyone 17+ with this. Sure your 12 year old is mature. Who cares? If you want a fun game with great view, a big town, and cars go buy Forza Horizon 2. Don't get this game for kids. Please! And don't even get me started on the online mode...
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Safety and privacy concerns
Teen, 15 years old Written byBumbaroo April 19, 2015
LEARNING

If you trust your child, then its fine.

Every bad thing is this game is avoidable. for example, you can turn the volume off if you want to avoid cussing. Cussing actually isn't a problem as you hear the F word at least 20 times a day in middle and high school. The nudity is completely avoidable. you don't ever have to go to those places. And plus, everyone over the age of 14 has seen this stuff already. We learn about it in school. Drugs aren't a problem as long as your child isn't a complete retard that gets influenced by everything. I mean, you are walking down the street and you see people smoking every day, so whats new? The violence in this game is strong, but seriously, who hasn't seen violence before? The only problem is the nudity, but as long as you trust your kid, buy the game! Great game btw.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 11 years old April 19, 2015
LEARNING

Depends...

Alright... I am 11 years old and my parents let me try it out, but, I was forced to return it because my parents are a little over protective. So, If you are O.K. with violence, this is an O.K game for your child, but if you're not, don't get it. There is one required mission where you are robbing a bank and shooting civilians and police officers. You are not required to steal cars if you don't do missions, but there is a lot of crime going on. And a cornucopia of language. Nudity and sexual content can be avoided easily but it is very tempting even for me. Drugs are also very tempting because you go in to your houses kitchen, it will have a icon saying "Drink a beer" and also, you can take a hit from your sons bong in this game. If you are being nagged every second by your child, but don't approve of the game, I would let them try it out from Gamefly or Gamestop, and see for your self if you want this game or not.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byPokabou April 1, 2015

Ignorance isn't always bliss

This game is about money, sex, and drugs. Yes, you can play golf and tennis mini games but those are just add ons. It's more violent than any call of duty game. Do not buy for children or teens
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written byTetra March 23, 2015

Are you serious?

I got on here just curious of what the parent rating would be,expecting them to to 17 and up, but then to my surprise I find that parents seem to believe that, oh this game is WONDERFUL for our kids!! I mean it honestly coudnt be worse , I bet your child has killed atleast 400 people on that game , because that is literally the whole point of the game. Ok let's sum the game up. Steal cars , get away from cops by blowing up their cars with sticky bombs , go get a lap dance by a stripper , or perhaps walk to the beach on a nice , sunny afternoon and blow a hole through some teenagers chest open with a shotgun!!! And then take a selfie of you and the dead lifeless bodies, and show all your friends so you can have a good laugh!!! I mean there is only one word for this game, PHYCOTIC. This game is absolutley nOT appropriate for any one under the age of 17. I couldn't even believe that the parents thought that 12 would be a good age for this game!! I mean really?!?!? this game is a disgrace to our society and who ever honestly thinks this is a appropriate or even intolerable of a game for ANY one under the age of 17 then you are a bad parent, in my oppinion. I read in the comments that the parents said its ok if your child understands the difference between right and wrong . So tell me this , if my 12 year old child knows that killing is bad, then I should by him agame to where anything that we would think would bring us to disgust and try to keep kids awayfrom.like sex , drugs, murder, stealing, swearing , alcohol , shall I continue? We are so blinded that you allow your children to do all of this . Do you think that this isn't hurting them. I played once at my friends house and when I played my heart was so hardened that I didn't feel a single ounce of guilt when I stabbed a cop to death with a broken beer bottle . I never got on again because when I came to my senses , after I got done I realized how this game has hardened my heart so much that I would carelessly stab someone to death for my own pleasure I understand it's an AI or it's just a game but this game took five minutes for me to be that cold hearted and that's exactly what it's like with a murderer or a phyco . Have you ever watched the news and seen " father kills baby" or perhaps " son stabs mother to death" ect. And you think to your self how could they possibly be so cold hearted to murder someone like that well believe it or not that's what this game is doing its hardening children's hearts. I am only 13 and I have more responsibility and maturity then half these adults I am not trying to be disrespectful to my elders , but I am just being honest . I hope this review changes a lot of your minds about this game. But I assure you my children will never play this game as long as I live and niether will I!!!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent Written byawesomegamerdad March 11, 2015
LEARNING

this is not a bad game

it is not inappropriate!
Teen, 14 years old Written byNathaniel7300 February 28, 2015
LEARNING

cool

not violent
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Easy to play/use
Safety and privacy concerns
Teen, 16 years old Written byTHEHALOMASTER117 February 6, 2015
LEARNING

Great very open game...lots of iffy content.

GTA 5 is a great game if you enjoy open world games...but it got lots of iffy stuff like: language if you have your TV volume really loud you WILL hear f**k-f**k-motherf**ker-a**hole-f**er-and so much more. violence: you can kill whoever you want however you want in this game...nuff said. sex: you can have sex with h00kers and go to strip club but its entirely optional there is nudity in the story but not online. overall this game is good for MATURE 15-16 yr olds who now reality from fiction.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Safety and privacy concerns
Parent of a 13 year old Written byChrisMiller101 January 4, 2015
LEARNING

For early teens - you need to trust your child

After relentless convincing, I brought my child this game however I allowed it on a trial basis because of its bad reputation. Although it is on the rare side, I think you really need to see it to really know what its like. Sexual content can be avoided and the language is no worse than a 15 film. There needs to be an element of trust but I for early teens it is probably suitable.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written byDimeTree December 29, 2014
LEARNING

A masterpiece that should not be missed by anyone

Upon purchasing this game, my expectations for it weren't really that high. I'd played past games in the series and I'd always thought they were okay at best. I was a bit excited since I didn't appreciate the dark and gritty path the series seemed to be taking with Grand Theft Auto IV, and this game looked like it took itself a bit less seriously. I was prepared for an okay game that I would enjoy enough to justify the $60 purchase. What I got was the most enjoyable and polished experiences I've ever had with a game. I really can't find much bad things to say about the game, it's near perfect in almost every aspect you can think of. Gameplay, graphics, story, sound, etc. Before I knew it, I had finished the main story over the span of 5 days. Simply put, this is an amazing game that everyone should play. As for the kid-friendliness: there is none. I'm a strong believer that video games do not cause violent tendencies in anyone (except the tennis minigame maybe), but I do think that this should under no circumstances be played by any child under 13. Hell, even I was offended and disturbed on multiple occasions. Most of the inappropriate content takes place in the story missions. I mean, running over pedestrians is nothing compared to Trevor's fully exposed man banana. Most kids understand that the citizens in the game are not real people, and can't feel emotions like sadness, pain and hunger. You can run over enemies and innocent bystanders, shoot people with guns, punch them in the face (which is hilarious), and much more. Upon shooting or hitting someone, blood spurts from their wounds. You know, the standard affair. As far as I know, there is no dismemberment of any sort in the game. The most violent part I can remember is a mission where you torture some guy. You can also do good deeds, such as stopping robbers, returning stolen items and driving inebriated people back to their home. Those are things that you're not going to hear about on the news, though. There are strip clubs, but you can avoid them and are never forced to enter one. In the strip clubs there are topless women. Although their breasts look like something from the Nintendo 64 era. As for the drug and alcohol use, both illegal and medical marijuana are consumed, as well as alcohol. Finally, the swearing. There's a lot of it, and pretty much every swear word you can think of is in the game somewhere. My final conclusion is that this is a great game, but I don't recommend it to children under 13.
What other families should know
Easy to play/use
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 12 years old November 29, 2014
LEARNING

GTA V

Fun, but lots of crime
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Safety and privacy concerns
Educator and Parent Written byjuniorlopezm November 26, 2014
LEARNING

junior lopez musayon

junior ola ver juegos nos ven si feliz de 2014
What other families should know
Easy to play/use

Pages