Common Sense Media says

Crime, violence, sex, drugs, and alcohol = not for kids.

Users say

(out of 630 reviews)
age 13+
Review this title!
Adult Written bynahiemm February 7, 2015

This game isn't as bad as it's made out to be.

Grand Theft Auto 5 isn't a murder simulator, it's a life simulator. In this game, you can do practically anything that you know you'd never do in reality. Yes, this includes the negative things too, like murder, prostitution, drug use, theft, and more. But, people need to realize that everything in this game is optional, the point of the game is never to go out, kill as many people as you can, and get rewarded for it. As a matter of fact, committing crimes in this game is actually highly discouraged, as the police force in-game is realistic and not afraid to shoot. There is a strip club, but you're never forced to go there, there are prostitutes, but you don't have to pick them up to progress in the game. Every single thing in this game is optional. There are things you can find in the game's world that may be deemed inappropriate, like a weed farm, but it only adds to the realism of the game. GTA 5 can also discourage kids from following the actions of the three characters. The characters aren't made to be heroes of the game;throughout the whole game you're playing the role of the villain. So if you feel that your child is mature enough to distinguish bizarre fiction from reality, they should be able to play this game. Don't listen to what the media tells you, it will not make your child a murderer. Playing Cooking Mama doesn't make your kid a chef, playing Madden doesn't make your kid a pro football player, playing Call of Duty doesn't make your kid a soldier, so why would playing GTA make your kid a criminal?
What other families should know
Easy to play/use
Too much swearing
Parent of a 4, 9, 10, 12, and 13 year old Written bygrumpbutt1981 January 27, 2015

Not For Children

The game has nudity, drugs, alcohol, and lets not forget the name of the game GRAND THEFT AUTO. Children under 17 should not be playing this type of game. If a parent buys it and allows their children to play knowing the base of it then they shouldn't be a parent at all. Alot say 13 is fine but i would never allow my 13 yr old son play this game. That is telling your kids its ok to do all that stuff. Let the kids stick to minecraft.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written bybarca_csv January 18, 2015

VERY INAPPROPRIATE!

Very inappropriate, not for kids 15 and under. Swearing, drinking, stealing, sex, violence=No kids.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written byDimeTree December 29, 2014

A masterpiece that should not be missed by anyone

Upon purchasing this game, my expectations for it weren't really that high. I'd played past games in the series and I'd always thought they were okay at best. I was a bit excited since I didn't appreciate the dark and gritty path the series seemed to be taking with Grand Theft Auto IV, and this game looked like it took itself a bit less seriously. I was prepared for an okay game that I would enjoy enough to justify the $60 purchase. What I got was the most enjoyable and polished experiences I've ever had with a game. I really can't find much bad things to say about the game, it's near perfect in almost every aspect you can think of. Gameplay, graphics, story, sound, etc. Before I knew it, I had finished the main story over the span of 5 days. Simply put, this is an amazing game that everyone should play. As for the kid-friendliness: there is none. I'm a strong believer that video games do not cause violent tendencies in anyone (except the tennis minigame maybe), but I do think that this should under no circumstances be played by any child under 13. Hell, even I was offended and disturbed on multiple occasions. Most of the inappropriate content takes place in the story missions. I mean, running over pedestrians is nothing compared to Trevor's fully exposed man banana. Most kids understand that the citizens in the game are not real people, and can't feel emotions like sadness, pain and hunger. You can run over enemies and innocent bystanders, shoot people with guns, punch them in the face (which is hilarious), and much more. Upon shooting or hitting someone, blood spurts from their wounds. You know, the standard affair. As far as I know, there is no dismemberment of any sort in the game. The most violent part I can remember is a mission where you torture some guy. You can also do good deeds, such as stopping robbers, returning stolen items and driving inebriated people back to their home. Those are things that you're not going to hear about on the news, though. There are strip clubs, but you can avoid them and are never forced to enter one. In the strip clubs there are topless women. Although their breasts look like something from the Nintendo 64 era. As for the drug and alcohol use, both illegal and medical marijuana are consumed, as well as alcohol. Finally, the swearing. There's a lot of it, and pretty much every swear word you can think of is in the game somewhere. My final conclusion is that this is a great game, but I don't recommend it to children under 13.
What other families should know
Easy to play/use
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent Written byGaming dad October 16, 2014

The seedy side of...well, everything

An amazing game for graphics, gameplay, humour and action but the game takes a definite lurch to the wild and darkside when we meet Trevor. His murderous, self-righteous rampages are truly psychotic and really, really shocking. Bought it for my son, 12, but said I would check it for content.Let's just say it's daddy's game now and will remain so for at least another 3 years.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 17 years old Written byVideogamefreak17 July 22, 2014

Good game, NOT FOR KIDS

This is by far the best game I have ever played. However, kids beg there parents to buy it for them and the parents don't realize that this game is for ages 17+ ONLY.
What other families should know
Easy to play/use
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent Written byEmily Paul April 11, 2014

Trust your kid!!!

My 11 year old son asked for GTA 5 and I was against stealing and shooting so I said no but He said everyone had It and he couldnt play with them. I said you have plenty of other games to play with friends. He said these game is better please Mom I said no later on He wanted to show me a clip of a game on youtube I said ok he showed me and he said what game do you think this Is. I said I don't know what game Is It He replied GTA 5 I said your not getting It he said but Mom. Later that month we went to our cousins house one of the cousins was playing a game I was watching I said this looks fun what game Is that GTA 5 he said Oh Ok I replied. Later that game I went to my son and said do you really want GTA 5 YES He answered. I said what do you do in the game I asked he said do missions drive , jump out of a plane , play tennis and make go on rollercoasters He also said I am gonna admit GTA 5 Is rude and has bad things It is R 18+ for a reason but Its your choice you can make it M , MA or R you can choose to go to a strip club or you could drive off a cliff you can choose to run over someone or kill someone. So I thought maybe hes right maybe the game Is not so bad because I remember watching being forced into watching a R movie and I thought it would be rude and horrible but I was wrong it was one of my best movies I watched so I thought If you can choose what to Do I will trust him not to I think I can Trust Him Its all about Trusting so other parents think to yourself do I trust him or do I not trust him. Hope this helped!!! (:
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Parent Written bytoddmalcolm April 7, 2014

the truth

I(unlike most parents that review this game) actually played it, and thoroughly enjoyed it. Most people will tell you to steer clear of this game, due to the violence, nudity, etc. However, in this day and age, your child is exposed to much worse just going to school. Also, as far as nudity goes, its few and far between. Although your child can skip\avoid the nudity, let's face it. They won't. Just let them be. Also, age isnt a huge factor; maturaty is. If you think your child is mature enough to enjoy this game, then let them! If not, then say no. The characters are layered, and give variety to the story. It also has an overarching sense of friendship and trust. If you want better review regarding gameplay, there are plenty on amazon and Youtube.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Easy to play/use
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byt.clipse December 21, 2013

GTA V

Its not that bad of a game as long as your children are mature enough to handle it.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byZejjboss April 4, 2016

Not as bad as review sites say

The game itself is not that bad. You can skip all sexual content and play with the volume down for the swearing. Drug use is rare and can stay away from it. Alot of violence but isnt that bad.
What other families should know
Easy to play/use
Too much sex
Adult Written byLeakedcar1 February 24, 2016
Adult Written byjsilveronnelly June 9, 2015

I am very suprised how many "12 and up" reviews there are. This is NOT for kids. And I'm pretty liberal about this stuff

Since this was re-released recently on next-gen consoles I thought I'd review it. First of all, this is not for children. Period. It is in no way intended to be consumed by children. Would you let your kids - Watch porn? - Watch extremely violent films like Pulp Fiction or The Godfather? (I'm using those examples because this game is as good as those movies, in video game terms) The thing is, this game is cartoony, so at some level, it may be that you will be ok with your kids playing it by some age. Say, 14 or 15. But understand that this game is exceedingly violent and contains sex acts that are pretty close to the real thing. And no, you *can't* avoid the sex and violence. If you play through, you will be *required* to: - Visit a strip club - Severely torture a hogtied victim - Kill dozens of people, often innocent ones, often brutally - Sell drugs Required. As in, they are part of the story, and you will have to do these things to progress the story. Some of the reviews I've read so far don't seem to get that. On the other hand, this is seriously one of the best video games ever made. There is so much depth in story, play, and the next gen graphics. If you have a mature teenage kid for whom you answer "yes" to my examples above, then by all means, get it for them. But I would not get it for a 12 year old. Since this is Common Sense Media, I'm emphasizing the "appropriate for kids" aspects in this review. Summary: - One of the best games ever - NOT FOR KIDS -JDS
What other families should know
Easy to play/use
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byPokabou April 1, 2015

Ignorance isn't always bliss

This game is about money, sex, and drugs. Yes, you can play golf and tennis mini games but those are just add ons. It's more violent than any call of duty game. Do not buy for children or teens
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written byfootedfaun March 17, 2015

a 11 year olds perspective of gta

When I first played it I was amazed. But when my friends told me reviews about it they said "do not play campaign" and I listened. First of all the campaign has swearing and violence. But the online can be totally skipped and the violence strip clubs and swearing is totally avoidable. But as long as your kid knows what's not to do and do you are ready to play online PS: tell them no campain .
Adult Written byGamelover23 January 19, 2015

Good game

I think if your child doesn't want to do the story mode, with killing drugs and alcoholism, and wants to explore, it is fine as long as he is supervised. It is good because if you hurt someone an ambulance will try to save them. Pedestrians are always swearing when you are being reckless.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Parent Written byJohnsmallcool November 22, 2014

The Grand Theft Auto five

I have been wary of this game, as it has a bad stigma surrounding it for being a bad influence and generally not suitable for persons under 18. But I was supprised to find this game is not all it is meant to be. Yes, it has a bit of violence but nothing gory and the drugs and sex are not a predominant feature. When I was a teen, I watched television shows and films with sex and drug-use worse than in this game. Yet no one commented on how people my age would 'grow up to be violent' due to the films I watched as a child. My child is a mature 13 year old and I believe this game to be perfectly suitable. Perhaps the only problem is the excessive swearing but I know my child well enough to know he won't repeat them.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Parent Written bythomask1 October 28, 2014

Open your eyes.

Seriously. I see all the reviews saying : SERIOUSLY? YOU LET KIDS PLAY THIS? Please, just open your eyes. At first, i'll admit, i was skeptical. However, all the sex scenes, strip clubs, treating women like dirt, killing, drugs etc. is completely OPTIONAL! Moreover, it teaches kids about money and its value. They can play sports, enjoy scenic views, drive, fly, do yoga, play golf etc. Please parents, if you trust your kids, let them play this game. The multiplayer is great, and if you seriously don't want to let your kid play this, just let them play multiplayer with friends.
What other families should know
Easy to play/use
Parent Written byChrisCader October 24, 2014

Gta 5 review

This is not for kids it is for 17 and up. It has some scenes that kids shouldn't watch. 17 year olds are okay. It is a good game, but i don't recommened it for children. Like sex scenes.
Teen, 17 years old Written byFootballluva33 September 24, 2014

Don't worry parents.

Most people will tell you it a game about drugs and violence. The truth is, if your kid is in middle school, he probably gets exposed to worse every day. (The same goes for High School.) I said that it is also a decent learning game due to the fact that it shows the struggles of Los Santos California. If your kid plays Just Cause 2, Batman Arkham series, or anything along those lines, they are mature enough to play it. The secret to not having your child be exposed to anything bad is to not go to any strip clubs. (Why would they want to anyway???) If your child is a good kid, then it's extremely likely that they won't. The average 12 to 13 year old can handle this game. I know that you are worried, but all I can say is to just let them get it. If they can't handle it, they can turn it off. Most people think that if you even walk through the streets, people will cuss, do drugs, etc. The truth is, that doesn't happen. Your kid by now probably already knows what's in the game. Just have them play as a decent person in the game. (This does NOT include Trevor.) Thanks for reading, be safe, and let them buy it.
Adult Written bymneilan September 19, 2014

a really good game

this is a really good game that has a great story but it is not for anyone under 17-18 as there is nudity in it and there is a lot of swearing in it and violence but overall a great game offline and online
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking

Pages