All member reviews for Grand Theft Auto V

Common Sense Media says

Crime, violence, sex, drugs, and alcohol = not for kids.
 

Learning

Users say

(out of 450 reviews)
age 14+
 
Review this title!
Adult Written byjsilveronnelly June 9, 2015
 

I am very suprised how many "12 and up" reviews there are. This is NOT for kids. And I'm pretty liberal about this stuff

Since this was re-released recently on next-gen consoles I thought I'd review it. First of all, this is not for children. Period. It is in no way intended to be consumed by children. Would you let your kids - Watch porn? - Watch extremely violent films like Pulp Fiction or The Godfather? (I'm using those examples because this game is as good as those movies, in video game terms) The thing is, this game is cartoony, so at some level, it may be that you will be ok with your kids playing it by some age. Say, 14 or 15. But understand that this game is exceedingly violent and contains sex acts that are pretty close to the real thing. And no, you *can't* avoid the sex and violence. If you play through, you will be *required* to: - Visit a strip club - Severely torture a hogtied victim - Kill dozens of people, often innocent ones, often brutally - Sell drugs Required. As in, they are part of the story, and you will have to do these things to progress the story. Some of the reviews I've read so far don't seem to get that. On the other hand, this is seriously one of the best video games ever made. There is so much depth in story, play, and the next gen graphics. If you have a mature teenage kid for whom you answer "yes" to my examples above, then by all means, get it for them. But I would not get it for a 12 year old. Since this is Common Sense Media, I'm emphasizing the "appropriate for kids" aspects in this review. Summary: - One of the best games ever - NOT FOR KIDS -JDS
What other families should know
Easy to play/use
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written bychuckle-nuts May 7, 2015
 
LEARNING

its fine for mature teens

its fine for teens who have a mature mindset, you can do a lot of other things other than just blow stuff up and shoot civilians. the entire game is so indepth, its just CRAZY! i like to fly jets and explore the ocean using subs and jet skies, i also love BMX freestyling across the city. although the game is great there are two things parents should be aware about. there is a strip club in the game (which is completely optional), and a torture scene. the strip club is pretty pointless, because if teens want to see a naked girl, they'll just go on the internet. but, the torture scene can get pretty brutal. search it up on youtube if your worried about this but its nothing if your child has seen almost any action or thriller movie. my point is that there is soooooooooo much more to do than all the controversial stuff people see in the media. i hope this helped. :)
What other families should know
Easy to play/use
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 15 years old Written byBumbaroo April 19, 2015
 
LEARNING

If you trust your child, then its fine.

Every bad thing is this game is avoidable. for example, you can turn the volume off if you want to avoid cussing. Cussing actually isn't a problem as you hear the F word at least 20 times a day in middle and high school. The nudity is completely avoidable. you don't ever have to go to those places. And plus, everyone over the age of 14 has seen this stuff already. We learn about it in school. Drugs aren't a problem as long as your child isn't a complete retard that gets influenced by everything. I mean, you are walking down the street and you see people smoking every day, so whats new? The violence in this game is strong, but seriously, who hasn't seen violence before? The only problem is the nudity, but as long as you trust your kid, buy the game! Great game btw.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 11 years old April 19, 2015
 
LEARNING

Depends...

Alright... I am 11 years old and my parents let me try it out, but, I was forced to return it because my parents are a little over protective. So, If you are O.K. with violence, this is an O.K game for your child, but if you're not, don't get it. There is one required mission where you are robbing a bank and shooting civilians and police officers. You are not required to steal cars if you don't do missions, but there is a lot of crime going on. And a cornucopia of language. Nudity and sexual content can be avoided easily but it is very tempting even for me. Drugs are also very tempting because you go in to your houses kitchen, it will have a icon saying "Drink a beer" and also, you can take a hit from your sons bong in this game. If you are being nagged every second by your child, but don't approve of the game, I would let them try it out from Gamefly or Gamestop, and see for your self if you want this game or not.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byPokabou April 1, 2015
 

Ignorance isn't always bliss

This game is about money, sex, and drugs. Yes, you can play golf and tennis mini games but those are just add ons. It's more violent than any call of duty game. Do not buy for children or teens
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written byTetra March 23, 2015
 

Are you serious?

I got on here just curious of what the parent rating would be,expecting them to to 17 and up, but then to my surprise I find that parents seem to believe that, oh this game is WONDERFUL for our kids!! I mean it honestly coudnt be worse , I bet your child has killed atleast 400 people on that game , because that is literally the whole point of the game. Ok let's sum the game up. Steal cars , get away from cops by blowing up their cars with sticky bombs , go get a lap dance by a stripper , or perhaps walk to the beach on a nice , sunny afternoon and blow a hole through some teenagers chest open with a shotgun!!! And then take a selfie of you and the dead lifeless bodies, and show all your friends so you can have a good laugh!!! I mean there is only one word for this game, PHYCOTIC. This game is absolutley nOT appropriate for any one under the age of 17. I couldn't even believe that the parents thought that 12 would be a good age for this game!! I mean really?!?!? this game is a disgrace to our society and who ever honestly thinks this is a appropriate or even intolerable of a game for ANY one under the age of 17 then you are a bad parent, in my oppinion. I read in the comments that the parents said its ok if your child understands the difference between right and wrong . So tell me this , if my 12 year old child knows that killing is bad, then I should by him agame to where anything that we would think would bring us to disgust and try to keep kids awayfrom.like sex , drugs, murder, stealing, swearing , alcohol , shall I continue? We are so blinded that you allow your children to do all of this . Do you think that this isn't hurting them. I played once at my friends house and when I played my heart was so hardened that I didn't feel a single ounce of guilt when I stabbed a cop to death with a broken beer bottle . I never got on again because when I came to my senses , after I got done I realized how this game has hardened my heart so much that I would carelessly stab someone to death for my own pleasure I understand it's an AI or it's just a game but this game took five minutes for me to be that cold hearted and that's exactly what it's like with a murderer or a phyco . Have you ever watched the news and seen " father kills baby" or perhaps " son stabs mother to death" ect. And you think to your self how could they possibly be so cold hearted to murder someone like that well believe it or not that's what this game is doing its hardening children's hearts. I am only 13 and I have more responsibility and maturity then half these adults I am not trying to be disrespectful to my elders , but I am just being honest . I hope this review changes a lot of your minds about this game. But I assure you my children will never play this game as long as I live and niether will I!!!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 16 years old Written byTHEHALOMASTER117 February 6, 2015
 
LEARNING

Great very open game...lots of iffy content.

GTA 5 is a great game if you enjoy open world games...but it got lots of iffy stuff like: language if you have your TV volume really loud you WILL hear f**k-f**k-motherf**ker-a**hole-f**er-and so much more. violence: you can kill whoever you want however you want in this game...nuff said. sex: you can have sex with h00kers and go to strip club but its entirely optional there is nudity in the story but not online. overall this game is good for MATURE 15-16 yr olds who now reality from fiction.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Safety and privacy concerns
Parent Written bykrall February 4, 2015
 
LEARNING

Very good game

This game is very educational and is very fun
Parent of a 4, 9, 10, 12, and 13 year old Written bygrumpbutt1981 January 27, 2015
 

Not For Children

The game has nudity, drugs, alcohol, and lets not forget the name of the game GRAND THEFT AUTO. Children under 17 should not be playing this type of game. If a parent buys it and allows their children to play knowing the base of it then they shouldn't be a parent at all. Alot say 13 is fine but i would never allow my 13 yr old son play this game. That is telling your kids its ok to do all that stuff. Let the kids stick to minecraft.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent Written bynoahg1 January 14, 2015
 

This game isn't that bad.

Now I am sure, if you are reading this, it is because your child keeps begging for this game and is complaining because "there friends have it" and "it's not that bad" and they say "why are you so mean!". Now this game, while it may be M and is rated M for good reasons, it really isn't that bad. In this game there is a strip club and prostitutes and sexual themes, jokes, and reffrences hidden inside the conversations between the characters, it can be avoided and isn't that bad. The strip club is probably the main reason I put this review on "iffy" but don't worry, this club can be completely avoided through out the game. If you play through the whole campaign there are 1 or 2 missions where you have to go to it. But when you go there, you don't have to do anything sexual, you just have to walk into the back to meet with the other characters to plan your next "heist" The nudity is that you can have a stripper give you a lap dance, and she is topless. But this is never required in the game, so if you trust your child, it shouldn't be to much of a problem. The prostitutes are also, completely optional and again, shouldn't be too much of a problem. The violence in this game is extreme but if your child plays Call of Duty or any other shooter, it shouldn't be much of a diffrence. The only thing that is a little disturbing is that you don't actually kill bad guys, because you are the bad guy. You gun down civilians and cops. You can run people over, light them on fire, blow them up, mug them, stab them, shoot them, and really anyway you can think of killing, you can do it. There are lots of drugs in this game, there are missions where you have to pick of the drugs and deliver them and it often turns into a gang fight. The swearing is over the top, constant use of every word you can think of, including the N word and F word. Even though this may seem extreme and you probably don't understand, after all those reasons, understand why I would get this for a 13 year old, is because when I watch my thirteen year old play, he isn't constantly murdering people or doing things I don't approve of, he is driving around and customizing cars, doing stunts, parachuting, flying jets, and just having a good time. The only thing that is a little dissapointing is that the only way to make money is to do "missions" or "odd jobs", drug deals, heists, stealing, assasinating, but nothing to extreme. So I think this game would be okay for a mature 13 year old, no younger.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Teen, 15 years old Written byNintendoFan_ January 1, 2015
 

Why Kids Shouldn't Play Grand Theft Auto V.

GTA 5 is an amazing game, but it should only be played by adults. Video games aren't kids toys as they are largely viewed, and this proves why. The game is a satire on American culture today. You play as three characters (in story mode): a washed up thief trying to get back on his feet, a psychotic murderer, and a young gang member trying to earn his place in the city of Los Santos, San Andreas. There is a large amount of violence, nudity, drugs, sex, and swearing that might not be suitable for kids. It won't make kids violent (an absurd idea politicians who don't know anything about video games), but that doesn't mean kids should have access to this game.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 12 years old December 20, 2014
 

bad

This game is full of sex, swearing, drugs, smoking, and violence. I wouldn't play this game until your 17 its very inappropriate for kids so don't bother wasting your money on this game for your kid when your just going to have to take it back.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Safety and privacy concerns
Teen, 17 years old Written byHorace Williams December 7, 2014
 

I LOVE this game!

GTA 5 is off the hook. Great levels, awesome action, and once again so much fun. Cool characters too.
Teen, 16 years old Written byThe game breakdown December 3, 2014
 

Best GTA yet, also the most mature

I played this game for the first time about six days ago, and so far, this game is extremely enjoyable, especially in first person mode, this is extremely immersive, the voice acting is great, the game is actually lighthearted for what it is and most of the content discussed here is played for laughs. This game has been targeted by conservative parents and is a scapegoat for programs like Fox News, but they always exaggerate the content, so I'm going to say exactly what this game has Violence: Most violent GTA to date, yet not that strong, this game only gets really graphic when you either progress into the story, or get a shotgun, when you get a shotgun, you can see the innards of the person you just shot and in the story, there is some strong gore including brain matter, but some of those deaths are actually played for laughs. Sex: You can go to a strip club and get a private dance, in these, exposed breasts are shown and you get into a mini game where you have to fondle the dancers and not get caught by the bouncer, if you win, you can either go to your house and have sex with her or get a double dance for twice the money, if you fail, you get kicked out and shot (the getting shot part might be a glitch in my version of the game), there is also some graphic non sexual nudity, including genitals, a parody of anime on the tv in Michael's house which contains tons of innuendo, you can get prostitutes to have sex with you in the car, but you are both fully clothed throughout the entire event, even in first person mode and a sex tape mission in which pubic hair is shown, this is the content that I have encountered so far, there is probably more. Language: Every swear word imaginable is thrown at least 10 times. Alcohol and drugs: You can get drunk after taking too much alcohol, you can casually smoke and do drugs, there is a mission where Michael takes a very strong drug and thinks that he is killing aliens with a mini gun, Trevor has a meth lab. Overall amazing game, highly recommended for ages 16+.
Parent Written byActualParent December 1, 2014
 

NOT FOR MINORS ANYTIME ANYWHERE EVER

I was really horrified to see that the average age people recommend letting kids play this is 12. What??!! Then I read a bunch of the reviews, and just by the way they're written, I believe strongly that many of these are not legit reviews. My guess is that they are probably young gamers posting fake parent ratings because they know their mom/dad checks CSM. My kids know I do. It's not like it's difficult to set up a parent profile - CSM's policy is to trust the community, they don't police it. As for this game, you have a choice between being a thief, a gang member or a drug dealer. This game is the definition of glorifying violence. There is no scenario in existence that justifies a child under 18 playing this. You cannot say 'if your kid is mature enough then it's fine' - that is simply false. Kids' brains are not wired to handle this type of game until they are older. Their brains are physically not able to process the full consequences of this type of violence/criminal activity/cruelty. Look it up. I will absolutely not let my 8 or 12 year old kids play this until they are old enough to vote. There are PLENTY of other games they can play.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Kid, 11 years old November 16, 2014
 
LEARNING

ITS NOT THAT VIOLENT

Seriously, stop overreacting. It's just a video game, just let your kids play it.
Parent Written bythomask1 October 28, 2014
 
LEARNING

Open your eyes.

Seriously. I see all the reviews saying : SERIOUSLY? YOU LET KIDS PLAY THIS? Please, just open your eyes. At first, i'll admit, i was skeptical. However, all the sex scenes, strip clubs, treating women like dirt, killing, drugs etc. is completely OPTIONAL! Moreover, it teaches kids about money and its value. They can play sports, enjoy scenic views, drive, fly, do yoga, play golf etc. Please parents, if you trust your kids, let them play this game. The multiplayer is great, and if you seriously don't want to let your kid play this, just let them play multiplayer with friends.
What other families should know
Easy to play/use
Adult Written byfishman112 October 25, 2014
 
LEARNING

Not as bad as everyone thinks.

As long as you know your child, this game is fine. All of the bad parts of this game are skippable, you don't even have to kill people! I got a good laugh from playing this game, and I think MATURE children will too. Plus, your child will forever be in debt :D
What other families should know
Easy to play/use
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written byIvanTLHammer October 6, 2014
 
LEARNING

A great game that kids should NOT play

Grand Theft Auto V is one of the best video games ever made. Definitely worth the money... if you are over 16. This is a game that is NOT suitable for children... at all. From the violence, to the story, to the characters, to the themes, etc... this is a game for adults. There is one positive message in the game, and that is about family and how living in a life of crime when you are a family man can screw things up big time. Keep in mind though that despite that, this game is not meant to be taken seriously in a lot of cases. The story and setting is pretty much a parody of modern America and the humor throughout the game is hilarious. I laughed really hard in more than one occasion while playing this game. The violence is also pretty ridiculous and some of it is straight out of a Rambo movie so the game isn't super dark and gritty but still, not for kids 16 and under.
Parent of a 11 year old Written byslartibartfast September 12, 2014
 
LEARNING

gta crazy

epic game good for kids to learn about the harshness of life
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Easy to play/use

Pages