All member reviews for Grand Theft Auto V

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

Crime, violence, sex, drugs, and alcohol = not for kids.

Age(i)

NOT FOR KIDS

Quality(i)

 

Learning(i)

Users say

(out of 416 reviews)
AGE
13
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Kid, 12 years old December 20, 2014
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

bad

This game is full of sex, swearing, drugs, smoking, and violence. I wouldn't play this game until your 17 its very inappropriate for kids so don't bother wasting your money on this game for your kid when your just going to have to take it back.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Safety and privacy concerns
Teen, 17 years old Written byHorace Williams December 7, 2014
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

I LOVE this game!

GTA 5 is off the hook. Great levels, awesome action, and once again so much fun. Cool characters too.
Teen, 16 years old Written byThe game breakdown December 3, 2014
AGE
16
QUALITY
 

Best GTA yet, also the most mature

I played this game for the first time about six days ago, and so far, this game is extremely enjoyable, especially in first person mode, this is extremely immersive, the voice acting is great, the game is actually lighthearted for what it is and most of the content discussed here is played for laughs. This game has been targeted by conservative parents and is a scapegoat for programs like Fox News, but they always exaggerate the content, so I'm going to say exactly what this game has Violence: Most violent GTA to date, yet not that strong, this game only gets really graphic when you either progress into the story, or get a shotgun, when you get a shotgun, you can see the innards of the person you just shot and in the story, there is some strong gore including brain matter, but some of those deaths are actually played for laughs. Sex: You can go to a strip club and get a private dance, in these, exposed breasts are shown and you get into a mini game where you have to fondle the dancers and not get caught by the bouncer, if you win, you can either go to your house and have sex with her or get a double dance for twice the money, if you fail, you get kicked out and shot (the getting shot part might be a glitch in my version of the game), there is also some graphic non sexual nudity, including genitals, a parody of anime on the tv in Michael's house which contains tons of innuendo, you can get prostitutes to have sex with you in the car, but you are both fully clothed throughout the entire event, even in first person mode and a sex tape mission in which pubic hair is shown, this is the content that I have encountered so far, there is probably more. Language: Every swear word imaginable is thrown at least 10 times. Alcohol and drugs: You can get drunk after taking too much alcohol, you can casually smoke and do drugs, there is a mission where Michael takes a very strong drug and thinks that he is killing aliens with a mini gun, Trevor has a meth lab. Overall amazing game, highly recommended for ages 16+.
Parent Written byActualParent December 1, 2014
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

NOT FOR MINORS ANYTIME ANYWHERE EVER

I was really horrified to see that the average age people recommend letting kids play this is 12. What??!! Then I read a bunch of the reviews, and just by the way they're written, I believe strongly that many of these are not legit reviews. My guess is that they are probably young gamers posting fake parent ratings because they know their mom/dad checks CSM. My kids know I do. It's not like it's difficult to set up a parent profile - CSM's policy is to trust the community, they don't police it. As for this game, you have a choice between being a thief, a gang member or a drug dealer. This game is the definition of glorifying violence. There is no scenario in existence that justifies a child under 18 playing this. You cannot say 'if your kid is mature enough then it's fine' - that is simply false. Kids' brains are not wired to handle this type of game until they are older. Their brains are physically not able to process the full consequences of this type of violence/criminal activity/cruelty. Look it up. I will absolutely not let my 8 or 12 year old kids play this until they are old enough to vote. There are PLENTY of other games they can play.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Kid, 11 years old November 16, 2014
AGE
10
QUALITY
 
LEARNING

ITS NOT THAT VIOLENT

Seriously, stop overreacting. It's just a video game, just let your kids play it.
Parent Written bythomask1 October 28, 2014
AGE
12
QUALITY
 
LEARNING

Open your eyes.

Seriously. I see all the reviews saying : SERIOUSLY? YOU LET KIDS PLAY THIS? Please, just open your eyes. At first, i'll admit, i was skeptical. However, all the sex scenes, strip clubs, treating women like dirt, killing, drugs etc. is completely OPTIONAL! Moreover, it teaches kids about money and its value. They can play sports, enjoy scenic views, drive, fly, do yoga, play golf etc. Please parents, if you trust your kids, let them play this game. The multiplayer is great, and if you seriously don't want to let your kid play this, just let them play multiplayer with friends.
What other families should know
Easy to play/use
Adult Written byfishman112 October 25, 2014
AGE
10
QUALITY
 
LEARNING

Not as bad as everyone thinks.

As long as you know your child, this game is fine. All of the bad parts of this game are skippable, you don't even have to kill people! I got a good laugh from playing this game, and I think MATURE children will too. Plus, your child will forever be in debt :D
What other families should know
Easy to play/use
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written byIvanTLHammer October 6, 2014
AGE
16
QUALITY
 
LEARNING

A great game that kids should NOT play

Grand Theft Auto V is one of the best video games ever made. Definitely worth the money... if you are over 16. This is a game that is NOT suitable for children... at all. From the violence, to the story, to the characters, to the themes, etc... this is a game for adults. There is one positive message in the game, and that is about family and how living in a life of crime when you are a family man can screw things up big time. Keep in mind though that despite that, this game is not meant to be taken seriously in a lot of cases. The story and setting is pretty much a parody of modern America and the humor throughout the game is hilarious. I laughed really hard in more than one occasion while playing this game. The violence is also pretty ridiculous and some of it is straight out of a Rambo movie so the game isn't super dark and gritty but still, not for kids 16 and under.
Parent of a 11 year old Written byslartibartfast September 12, 2014
AGE
11
QUALITY
 
LEARNING

gta crazy

epic game good for kids to learn about the harshness of life
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Easy to play/use
Adult Written byRJH731 September 11, 2014
AGE
14
QUALITY
 
LEARNING

Fantastic storyline, innapropriate gameplay

This game is fantastic. Yes, it is very violent and full of profanity, but the storyline is amazing. By far the best GTA game. So, Grand Theft Auto, that disgusting, awful video game, right? Kind of, but you do not actually have to play any of the missions, or do any of the activities. If you are a mature player who enjoys good quality video games, this is the one for you. There aren't many sexual/drug references in the missions, just in the skippable cutscenes. The dialogue is funny, but maturely funny. The swears are frequent, but nothing they don't hear in music.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byDarksouls444 September 5, 2014
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

Good for older mature teens and adults

Its a real masterpiece for the gta series I have played a lot mostly trevor since he is my favorite bit it is a NO for kids there is kids on online that rage over nothing and teens that do the same if you want a good online experience play with someone that is mature and can play the game right and be friends with him.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written byaypom August 7, 2014
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

The Truth

This game has allot of bad stuff in it, i will not lie. But this is a game of choice, and you can do whatever you want. If you trust your kid to use the computer without you watching then you should trust them with this game. Anyone can choice to go to a strip club or not to. To kill a cop or not too. If you trust your kid enough to make mature decisions in this game, you should let him/her. Most kids want this game for the free roam, which is just driving around and doing what they please with no arrows pointing them in any direction. If your worried about the swearing if they are 13 and up (As i suggested) they hear far worse at school. There friends curse at school and nothing is new.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written byJersey Rettam August 5, 2014
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

Open your eyes

It's downright absurd how lightly the themes in this game are taken. First, think of the title: "Grand Theft Auto".Just the title alone is a crime, no pun intended. Committing grand theft auto in real life can cost upwards of $10,000 or at least 2 years in prison (in the state of California, where the game most likely takes place), and we aren't even batting an eye at it? If that hasn't set off any red flags yet, look at the reward system. The quests your character ventures off on are generally performed to fulfill someone's desire of lust or greed. And you, as a character, think no different of killing someone's ex-boyfriend than taking a trip to Walmart. You are rewarded for avoiding the police and killing celebrities. Plus, in the game, going to a strip club is almost encouraged. In fact, one of the past installments of the series, San Andreas, was bumped to an ADULT rating, or +18, because of the famous Hot Coffee mod (you can look it up for yourself). The game itself is a masterpiece, providing a spot-on depiction of urban gang life, but it should not, by any means, be exposed to teens under the age of 17.
Parent Written byOMGWTFBBQ August 2, 2014
AGE
2
QUALITY
 
LEARNING

Aproprite

Kids are gonna learn this stuff sooner or later...
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Easy to play/use
Teen, 15 years old Written byPapatheodorou July 20, 2014
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

GTA V - 2013's Biggest Game, Not at all For Kids.

Grand Theft Auto V is 2013's masterpiece. Winner of numerous awards, and full of explosions, it's bound to spark a child's eye. But don't let them play this. There are grand amounts of brutal violence (including a hands-on, graphic, and brutal torture sequence that cannot be skipped.) Of top of that, every curse word in the book is used more than a hundred times, with the strongest words, f*ck and n**ger being used non-stop. C*nt is also used multiple times. There is also a strip club mini-game, in which you get an up-close view of different women's unclothed breasts, with the option to have your character touch them. The game itself, however, is outstanding. The story, dialogue, and moments feel like a real crime movie, and puts you in the centerfold of all the action. 10/10, but not at all for kids.
What other families should know
Easy to play/use
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Safety and privacy concerns
Teen, 13 years old Written byJust_a_person July 6, 2014
AGE
13
QUALITY
 
LEARNING

Gta 5

It is a very entertaining third person open world game that has a good story. There are many Easter eggs in the story mode and online to be found. This game is a masterpiece of rockstar's skill (rockstar is the gaming studio that created the gta franchise) Also if you sign up to gta online and the rockstar social club, your game progress is tracked. Parents! You can view your son/daughter's progress or achievements by looking at their profile. This will allow to to see for example if your teen has been visiting the strip club or how many people he has killed online. This is a very useful tool for monitoring. As long as your child is mature enough for the sexual content and most are than it is fine. If you are unsure what your teen knows about this subject, just ask them!!
What other families should know
Easy to play/use
Safety and privacy concerns
Teen, 17 years old Written bySyndicationReviews July 5, 2014
AGE
12
QUALITY
 
LEARNING

Lives up to the hype, not as bad as people say

I have played this game extensively since the day it came out. My 17th birthday a few days before the release, and I was very excited. Using money I got from family, I spent $60 to buy the game. That was the best $60 I've ever spent. The game is a masterpiece. It is very entertaining and engaging, there's a ton of stuff to do, and may be the best game I've ever played. As for the inappropriate content, people exaggerate. The violence isn't that bad at all really, as there is very little blood. As for sex, the mini game in the strip club is 100% optional, it's not part of the story, and is completely avoidable. Language isn't much of an issue either, as I've personally heard worse in not just high school, but even elementary school (as an example, I learned the word f--k when I in kindergarten from one of my classmates), so it likely won't be anything they haven't heard before. Taking drugs and alcohol is optional, with the exception of one mission. However, the consequences of these are shown as the controls get messed up and the screen fades and gets blurry. Now, while I wouldn't recommend it for anyone under about 5th or 6th grade, I think any mature 12 year old should be able to handle it no problem, as long as they know the difference between right and wrong.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written bycommon game media June 21, 2014
AGE
12
QUALITY
 
LEARNING

It is not as bad as you think

this game has no worse violence than call of duty or watch dogs or something like that and all the sexual content is skip able so if you really trust your kids you will let them get this game if desired but be sure to tell them to skip all the bad content.
Teen, 15 years old Written byDuck Norris June 20, 2014
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

Okay...

Since when is it okay to imagine to murder innocent people? Or to let your kids see nude strippers? Just let them watch porno i guess, not a big difference. And let them hear all of these swear words, like a dozen times in each sentence. Including all these sexual slang words and moaning when you pick up random women? WOW. YOU THINK THATS OKAY???
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Safety and privacy concerns
Teen, 13 years old Written byloganburns June 8, 2014
AGE
13
QUALITY
 
LEARNING

Impeccible, masterfully created game

I have no clue why some parents are shouting to burn it at the stake when this game is the epitome of middle school humor. I mean seriously, you don't think your kids know every part of the opposite genders body by now. For example, I was talking to my 10 year old cousin, which his parents do not allow to hear swear words of any kind other than "damn" or "hell" in video games, hell he couldn't even play call of duty splitscreen with me because of the blood and it appalled me what he knew from his little 10 and 11 year old friends. So really think about what your child knows before saying that they are "perfect little angels". as for the game, yes it has a, lets just say, very large vocabulary, the violence is NOT bad, freakin' doom 1 had gorier scenes. the storyline was masterfully designed by the people who brought you all of the other main GTA games and the beautiful Red Dead Redemption. You follow 3 main characters. Michael, the old bank robber bipolar type, Franklin the gang banger, and Trevor, oh Trevor, the white trash hillbilly, meth cooking, oddly Canadian Psychopath. off course, as you can tell they are the BAD guys, your children will also tell that these are BAD guys. As for the sex, its nothing really, You see Trevor's shamalamadingdong if you get what I'm saying. So as a rating 5/5 and recommended for 13 and up.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking

Pages